We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Vacation Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Monrovia, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vacation Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

This resort is wonderful. We have been coming to the Big Island for years and we always look forward to staying at this location. The grounds are immaculate and the accommodations are well appointed. The front desk staff are very welcoming and friendly. The few concerns we have had were resolved immediately.

We definitely recommend this resort.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vlindsey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    295
    73
    21
    9
See reviews for
578
233
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

The rooms were beautiful and very spacious with very comfy beds. The pool is small but you have access to the pools at the Waikoloa Village so this was not a big issue. Everything was fantastic except for when we checked out. At 15 minutes to noon (late check out), two different times they knocked on our door and called us twice to tell us to leave even though we were supposed to have until noon. That was very disappointing as the rest of our stay was perfect. Definitely a good place to take the family especially children as the Waikoloa Village Resort was spectacular. Would stay there instead if they had actual suites like this resort.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Hilton Grand Vacation Club Waikoloa Village

On the face of it you might think this is a good offer but you have to look closer to see what you're really getting for the money and you'll soon find out it's not a good deal at all.

Let's start with the "Bonus Points" you are promised if you sign there and then on the day without taking the time to do the calculations. We were told if we buy 1 one bedroom condo deed week in prime time period every other year (4,800 points) it would cost us $16,400 and we would get 10,000 HGVC points as a bonus. So what is 10,000 points worth? Well you can convert the HGVC points into hilton honors points and you will get 250,000 HHP. If you have booked a stay at the Hilton hotel in Waikoloa you will know that the lowest class of room costs 50,000 points per night, equivalent in cash $240. So your bonus is actually worth 5 days in the Hilton Waikoloa Hotel (equivalent to $1,200). Not looking very good! Let's look into this deal further...
This deed gives only 4,800 HGVC points every other year, convert those points to HHP and you get 2.4 nights at the hotel (dollar value $576)

We were also told of the $1,300 maintenance fee per week every other year plus the club fee $136 on the years you are not paying the maintenance fee. Based on ownership for 20 years of enjoyment of this deal would cost you $16,400 down + $13,000 maintenance + $1,360 club fee = $30,760 spent and you will have received 10 weeks vacation accommodation, this makes each vacation stay $3,076 just for a place to stay. If you book a room in the Hilton Waikoloa hotel, it will only cost you $1,680 for the week.

Let's just look at what a rip off the maintenance fee is. HGVC is charging each person $1,300 per week, they sell 50 deeds per condo per year = $65,000 income for hilton just from maintenance. There is no way they spend even 50% of this per year on the upkeep of a 1 bed condo.

Now I hear you say, "but you can sell the deed", well it's not index linked so how much do you think your $16k is worth in 20 years time, maybe you can buy a garden shed with it.

Anyway, needless to say we didn't take up the offer. Once you do the calculations, you will see that the Hilton Team of professional timeshare sellers are simply that, professional con men and women who work on commission and YOU ARE TODAYS TARGET ! DON'T BUY ONE

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
161 Thank goodindiansearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Mahalo nui loa(Thank you very much) for your feedback and insight with purchasing a time share with Hilton. Timeshare has been a successful business for us, and while not the vacation choice for everyone our customers have purchased from us because they love the flexibility that ownership provides them when planning their vacations at locations around the world and others buy to insure a consistently high quality vacation experience year after year. The decision to purchase a timeshare is not an investment that will make you money, it is a prepayment of your future vacation experience. Again, we greatly appreciate your feedback and insight.

Glenn Okamoto
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We visited Hawaii over the Thanksgiving holiday and stayed here for a week. The condos are beautifully furnished ( we had a 2 bedrm premium suite) and ours sat right on the golf course, so the views were great. The beds were very comfortable. Ours had a queen in the master suite with a killer bath and the other had two twins with a nice bath (not attached). The pool(s) are nice and they have happy hour and music most nights at the main pool. You also have access to the nearby Hilton hotel which has a fabulous pool area and some nice restaurants. Upon entering the Waikoloa Beach area there are many shops at the entrance including a nice grocery store at Queens Landing. It stocks everything you will need during your stay and there are many restaurants to choose from when you want to eat out but don't want to drive far. You can also drive into Kona where they have several large grocery stores like Safeway and the prices are better than you would pay at the resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DCraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buford, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

The Road Less Travel Is The BEST . This location is on the Kona side of the Island. Alot of private beach Resorts and a heart beat from the 4 seasons. I Enjoyed my trip here because it was more quiet than Honolulu . Less Tourist and Great Beaches. A rental car is a must to see all of the Big Island

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
3 Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenonah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
156 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We booked a 2 bedroom premium suite on the 3rd floor. Room was very clean, in perfect condition. Large master suite and bath, balcony overlooking golf course, extra bedroom with 2 double beds, and additional bath room, kitchen, dining area and living room with pull out sofa bed. Beautiful golf course views. Quiet, relaxing atmosphere. It is not near beach, which was the only negative. Wish it was closer, you need to drive there, about 5 mins. There is however, a small pool within walking distance. Very nice clean, with bar for snacks and drinks.
Staff was not very knowledgeable, we were trying to find a morning coffee get together and the directions were not even close and we missed the gathering.
You can use all the facilities at the hilton waikoloa, but it is a short drive. Was an excellent vacation.

Room Tip: Top floor is very quiet, golf course views are a must, some rooms face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank designdane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walla Walla, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Very nice place to stay although we had a few issues with kitchen appliances not working properly and also did not like the smell of the room. We would stay there again. Staff all very friendly. Wish it was a little closer to the beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
4 Thank David Lloyd T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you very much for the positive comments regarding our resort staff and accommodations on your recent stay with us. Both the Housekeeping and Maintenance departments have been advised of your comments and have already taken action to ensure we are presenting clean, comfortable, fresh accommodations with properly working amenities. I truly appreciate your endorsement of returning to our resort and look forward to meeting you and your ohana the next time.

Cheryl L.F. Amsbary
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
0.8 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
6.7 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
No photo provided
0.6 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
2.2 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations

Property: Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations
Address: 69-550 Waikoloa Beach Dr, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5707
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated adjacent to championship golf courses, the premier location of Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations provides an unsurpassed vacation setting. Hotel guests have access and charging privileges to the abundant facilities and amenities of the nearby Hilton Waikoloa Village hotel, including an enticing array of restaurants, boutiques, beaches and water recreation. Complimentary shuttle service is available between Hilton Grand Vacations, the Hilton Waikoloa Village, and area shops. Hawaii visitors staying at Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations will enjoy spacious two bedroom suites which incorporate a casually elegant tropical style, and feature a superb variety of upscale amenities and furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Waikoloa Beach Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Hotel Waikoloa Beach
Hilton Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing