We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HGV Waikoloa Beach - Kohala Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“HGV Waikoloa Beach - Kohala Suites”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A nice little intimate place. Not giant with a lot of amenities, but adequate and close to shopping, dining, and the Hilton Waikoloa Village hotel where Kohala Suites guests have visitor privileges. We had some minor issues with the concierge's knowledge of the Kona area, but overall we enjoyed our stay and will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank 278markek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    317
    79
    24
    10
See reviews for
633
244
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This time, I visited there for the conference. I was so relaxed to stay at HGVClua @ Waicoloa. I would like to recommend all of you to stay here. It is located within 15 walk from Hilton Waicoloa Village. You can use all facilities in the hotel free of charge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
2 Thank kazutoshik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Islip, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This property is the size of a small city; very spread out. You need a shuttle or your car to get to the beach, grocery store, gift shops, etc. If you don't want to pay resort prices for groceries, it's a good half-hour or more to any local Target, Walmart, Costco or to Kona for shopping. Since my husband has knee problems, we even had to drive to the resort's pools (which were lovely, especially the adult only pool).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
1 Thank JTB929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Mahalo for your helpful feedback, yes I most certainly agree that our resort sits within such a vast complex better known as Waikoloa Beach Resort. We do feature an exclusive shuttle service for our registered guests to get around the resort area; the current shuttle route and schedule is quite convenient and also complimentary.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we wish you well on your future travels!


Cheryl Amsbary
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Easy to get to and access to Kings Land and hotel facilities was excellent. The staff made our 10-day stay outstanding. Special thanks to Devon at the desk, Blossom at concierge, Anela in recreation, Aeila in housekeeping, and Heidi at the bar.

Room Tip: Pick 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have absolutely no complaints. The hotel even offered a room where we could shower after check-out! We left items in the room, called, and they are being shipped to us. Full kitchens, dining area, quiet, outdoor BBQ grills (hotel provides cooking utensils) and free movies. Entire family had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Frances Peralta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed as an RCI exchange guest in May 2014 in a 2 bed, 2 bath – and having swapped our own beautiful UK gold crown we were very excited to have swapped to this lovely resort. As others have said the apartments are of excellent quality, fabulous bathrooms, with huge bathtub and walk in glass shower, and everything top notch – inc excellent air con. There are 3 grades: standard – no golf course view, plus – golf course view (RCI level) and premium(Hilton owners only and premium payable). All units are the same size, but premium have slightly better décor, are on the top floor ( less noise) and have better bathrooms. All have small high quality kitchens but equipped with most things. Excellent linens and furnishings and the whole place is immaculate, both In terms of housekeeping, but also in terms of the grounds in a beautiful setting. The units are plush but compact, so for 2 lovely and spacious, for 4 ok but snug, and for 6 – well you would have to be very good friends as it would be very small.

The staff really go out of their way to help, and special mention must be given to David, the assistant manager, who did everything in his power to assist us, when we had a problem. Location is really good, on the Kohala coast(the best weather – away from rainy Hilo and Kona) , access to good beaches, however everything is a drive so be prepared to drive everywhere – even within the resort. This resort (unlike the others in the same complex) has full access to the Hilton pools, hotel and parking – which if that is something you want or you have kids then it is worth quite a lot of money. The Hilton pools are famous and include a water park, salt water lagoon and other pools.

Personally, we visited the Hilton hotel complex once, and whilst it's massively opulent it was not for us– mind bogglingly huge, full of people and the dolphin quest pools (where you swim with dolphins) were so small for the number of dolphins it was really upsetting for us. Most folk rationalise the dolphin conditions as the need to swim with them overrides everything else and the dolphins look heathy – but it's not good- watch them for any length of time and you will see them swimming around the edges of the pool, testing the boundaries. However if you love Disney type places and large resorts and the buzz from lots of people then you may probably like it! It's also really expensive so be prepared to part with mega bucks.

So all of this good stuff, and yet we had the worst last week of a 3 week Hawaii holiday. We are seasoned international travellers used to all sorts of accommodation across the world including lots of US timeshare but as lovely as this was, it was a total nightmare for us as 2 quiet loving adults. We have been frequent visitors to the big island (and all Hawaiian Islands – see other timeshare reviews) and stayed in most of the gold crowns and whilst we found this one to be the best quality, we actually had the worst experience of them all. The units are in blocks and have 3 levels - we ended up moving rooms 3 times (finally to a top floor premier room) in the week as the floors and walls were so thin we could hear everything from our neighbours – snoring, kids screaming, couples being romantic you name it – impossible to sleep with people stomping about above and families having ‘fun’ underneath us – unfortunately due to the construction of the units sound really travels. As this is a family resort, the units tend to be filled to capacity and as such maximum occupancy means maximise noise. For some this would not bother them , but for us it absolutely wrecked our final week as we could not relax with the noise from our neighbours and enjoy the lovely unit, and we got no sleep at all for the 1st 4 nights. David the assistant manager was wonderful and did his very best to help, but he struggled to find us a quiet space as this resort runs to pretty much full occupancy all of the time, and the basic problem was the fabric of the building – why they spend so much money on the beautiful units and then scrimp on the wall and floor thickness is puzzling.

In summary, lovely unit, really high quality but if you are noise sensitive or looking for peace you might want to try elsewhere. Looking at the reviews from other guests I suspect we are in the minority in seeking quiet but we previously visited Panilio Greens and the Wyndham Royal Kona – both of which offered a far superior experience in terms of R&R for us and noise was not an issue.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vicki1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you so very much for your detailed feedback on your recent stay with us and also on the various amenities you had experienced at the nearby Hilton Waikoloa Village Hotel and Resort. Please be advised that your comments regarding the noise between floors is quite helpful as we continue to work on resolving this issue in particular suites post construction. Glad to hear David tried his best to find you an alternate suite, I do sincerely apologize for the delay in getting you relocated to the 3rd floor (premier category) as you are correct, our resort does receive great occupancy from many families enjoying our spacious all 2-bedroom accommodations. Thank you for choosing to stay with us here in Waikoloa and we hope you will visit again in the future.

Cheryl Amsbary
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The room was spacious with W/D, dishwasher, full kitchen and even a PS3. Nice view and many extra ammenities. There was a bit of noise from the upstairs guests walking about and a lack of privacy from no curtains in the master bedroom/bathroom and the living room. Still very lush accomodations.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
1 Thank brettls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikoloa
0.8 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
6.2 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
6.7 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
2.2 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations

Property: Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations
Address: 69-550 Waikoloa Beach Dr, Waikoloa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738-5707
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Waikoloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Waikoloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly situated adjacent to championship golf courses, the premier location of Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations provides an unsurpassed vacation setting. Hotel guests have access and charging privileges to the abundant facilities and amenities of the nearby Hilton Waikoloa Village hotel, including an enticing array of restaurants, boutiques, beaches and water recreation. Complimentary shuttle service is available between Hilton Grand Vacations, the Hilton Waikoloa Village, and area shops. Hawaii visitors staying at Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations will enjoy spacious two bedroom suites which incorporate a casually elegant tropical style, and feature a superb variety of upscale amenities and furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kohala Suites by Hilton Grand Vacations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Waikoloa Beach Hotel Waikoloa
Hilton Hotel Waikoloa Beach
Hilton Waikoloa
Waikoloa Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing