We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Paradise!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hale Makai Cottages
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simply Paradise!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

If you are looking for a large resort with lots of kids running around, blasting music at the pool and multiple bars where you can do shooters every night, this isn't the place for you. However, If you are looking for a beautiful slice of paradise, with only the noise of the surf to lull you to sleep, this is definitely the place to be.
My wife and I stayed at the Hale Makai in February for 10 days. We've always loved the north shore of Kauai due to the lack of large resorts and tourists. This is the first time we have stayed at the Hale Makai and absolutely loved it! It is hidden away from the road and just steps from the beach with great snorkeling. About a 15 minute drive past Hanalei and 3 minute drive to the end of the road where the Na Pali trail begins.

We stayed in Cottage #1 for 5 days and #3 for 5 days. The layouts of the cottages were virtually identical with Wifi, updated furnishings, high end appliances, modern showers and soaking tubs in the bathrooms (they even provide candles for a romantic setting). It was very quiet, other than the surf just steps from our cottage. During the day, yes there were some tour helicopters flying by (after all you are on one of the most dramatic coastlines in the world), but it did not bother us. Both cottages had views of the ocean through the lush tropical vegetation. #3's view as a little better, but #1 was a little more secluded. For this kind of accommodation at a prime location like this, we thought the price was very reasonable. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: In order of our preferences, we would recommend #3, #1, then #4 for the one bedrooms and #2 then #5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    15
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
13
59
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Ideal location.. Postcard perfect! Right on the beach. Very private. We stayed a week and had the most relaxing, peaceful time. The property is only a 5 minute drive from Hanalei. Cottages have everything you could possibly need. For sure we'll be back again to visit! Mahalo to our friends at Hale Makai!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank max c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed here for five nights the third week of October, 2013. I have to say we enjoyed our time immensely. Our cottage was the "Orchid" Unit 03 which I thought had the best location on the property. It was a lovely cottage with nice appointments. We slept very well each night and was welcomed with a "WOW" sunrise each morning.

We enjoyed the privacy of the local beach out front and welcomed the nice beach chairs that came with the cottage. The snorkeling was nice even that time of year. Make sure to head to the left when you get to the beach as the current is too strong near the point to swim comfortably.

The property was well maintained and we enjoyed the quiet atmosphere. There were other couples, but you still felt like you had the place to yourselves. We met a nice couple that were leaving the day we arrived and they offered all their condiments, cooking sauces and salad fixings, which were nice since the cottages don't have any of that.

We enjoyed eating at the Mediterranean Gourmet Restaurant next door on various occasions. They have a great family run Luau on Tuesday evenings which was a lot of fun. We stayed in most of time enjoying meals on the Lanai. The few dissenting votes on the Helicopter noise I think is unfounded. It is what it is. There are Helicopter tours on the Island. We did a "doors off" tour of the island, which I thought was the only really way you can get a glimpse of the hidden treasures of this special place.

I thought this place was worth the money. The place was super clean, so I thought the cleaning fee was fine also. I would certainly consider staying here again if we once more become drawn to Kauai.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TaoTaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4-nights in mid-October for the final portion of our honeymoon. We both wished we had skipped Oahu and the Big Island and just stayed here the whole time! We spent several mornings and evenings snorkeling around the beach watching the unicorn fish come in to get cleaned by the cleaner fish and the morays slither around in the coral. It was so beautiful and relaxing, we could barely bring ourselves to leave.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amasa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I searched for over a month to find the perfect spot to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary no doubt "Hale Makai Cottages" was the perfect location! This was so peaceful, relaxing & private!! We throughly enjoyed cottage #5! Breakfast on the front porch with the FANTASTIC views of the Napali Coast and the adorable relaxing furniture it offers. The back of the cottage offers views of the ocean and a few hundred feet and we were on the beach. Our favorite time was spent snuggling and naping in the hammock with the view and breeze of the ocean! My only disapointment we had not booked it for the entire stay. I can't wait to bring the kids to Hale Makai Cottages!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretNChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed at the Hale Makai cottages for 3 nights after we got married on Kauai. We chose the cottages based on excellent reviews on tripadvisor. What a mistake.

From the moment we checked in, it was very awkward. Our cottage was not ready until 4pm (check-in time is advertised as 3pm), so we sat outside the cottage for an hour while the cleaning crew finished. Once we got in the cottage, the owner asked us to leave the cottage for 5 minutes so she could do something inside. Again, we sat outside awkwardly waiting. The whole stay was uncomfortable- twice we saw the owner peering through our windows (once while my wife was in the shower), and we did not have the privacy that we were hoping for on our honeymoon. Once we came home and the front door of our cottage was unlocked and sitting halfway open- with all our valuables and belongings inside. It turns out the owners come in and out of your cottage without telling you while you’re gone. Creepy. There was also a period of several hours in which the owner and a repair man were sitting on our private beach lanai fixing something- not quite what we had planned for our honeymoon.

Then there was the straw that broke the camel’s back…3 days after leaving, we got a rather rude email from the owner saying that we had broken a glass table and he would charge us $500 for the damages. We called the owner to dispute (one would remember breaking a glass table, would they not?) but he was very rude and accusatory, and basically blamed us for the damages and would not accept anything else. So much for customer service.

We absolutely would never stay here again, and highly recommend that you don’t either.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank MooseJackMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaleMakai, Owner at Hale Makai Cottages, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
This review is essentially based on a misunderstanding. I believe the great anger of the reviewer about what he believed to be a made-up claim colored his views. Until we wrote him that we had to replace a large glass table top, his wife and he seemed to be quite happy and content at the cottages. There was, indeed, a damaged table top, but I misinterpreted the pictures sent by the Cleaning Service of the damage and identified another table to the guest. So, the guest was absolutely correct in rejecting that claim and we released the hold as soon as we found out (we were so embarrassed that we did not even follow up on the damage to the much smaller table). He was also partially correct about the late check-in (although it was only 20 minutes, because they had arrived 30 minutes early). On the other hand, his opinion on supervised workers accessing the cottage for repairs in the guests’ absence is in our view unwarranted: Most guests – as did the reviewer - expect the cottage to be clean and well-maintained, but they also do not wish to be disturbed while they are in the cottage. So when to do the necessary work? Things break unexpectedly, and although we try to be pro-active and fix broken items immediately, we cannot always complete repairs between the bookings. Before we “intrude” for repairs, however, we do and did verify the absence of the guests (the ‘peeping tom’ innuendo was certainly “below the belt” and uncalled-for).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hale Makai Cottages after reading all the wonderful reviews. The experience did not meet our expectations, and we would not return. The mattress was uncomfortable, and worse, the sheets and towels smelled musty and unclean.

Privacy and noise were also an issue, as guests walking by could easily see into our cottage.

Overall we felt that the price was not justified by the sub-par cleanliness and condition. (Ants, broken remote, etc, etc. )

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dasherDelrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaleMakai, Owner at Hale Makai Cottages, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
The L.A. reviewer (dasherDelrey) has not stayed at our cottages in April 2013, as claimed, or at any other time (our records go back to 2000, when we acquired the property). He appears to parrot what his friend/SoCal neighbor Sherri K told him to write. Particularly undeserved is his false claim of sub-standard cleanliness, because the cleaning service, an independent local family business, has done an excellent job for our guests in a very difficult tropical, coastal environment (our cottages are so close to the ocean that they require as much maintenance & cleaning as a yacht). Had they not cleaned the cottage well, we would certainly have heard about it, not in form of a review but rather immediately per email or call, but we did not receive any complaint whatsoever. We asked dasherDelrey per TripAdvisor to contact us and provide us with details of his alleged stay and experience at the cottages, but – not surprisingly – he failed to respond. Perhaps, you would get a response if you contacted him, although I doubt that very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haena
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
515 reviews
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Makai Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Makai Cottages

Property: Hale Makai Cottages
Address: 4400 OneOne Road, Haena, Kauai, HI 96714
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Haena
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Haena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hale Makai Cottages are an exclusive Private Beach Front Estate, on approximately 2 acres with about 250 feet of actual beachfront at Kepuhi Point at the end of OneOne Road in Haena, North Shore Kauai. The Hale Makai Beachfront cottages are unique in their setting, location and privacy in comparison to most other Kauai Vacation Rentals. All five cottages have unobstructed ocean and garden views and direct access to the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Makai Cottages Hotel Haena
Hale Makai Cottages Haena, HI - Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing