We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath taking”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hale Makai Cottages
Reviewed 11 April 2010

I chose to stay at the Hale Makai cottages because of location which was just footsteps to the beach. Being a local resident on the island of Oahu, I was looking to get away from the tourist-like crowds & hotels. This was prime spot and absolutely gorgeous! The landscaping was ever so green with all the privacy one needs to feel like I was hundreds of miles away in paradise. The furnishings were of top quality. Updated kitchen, marbled shower and all the necessities needed to feel right at home. I had no problems with service either. Had concerns and questions and was given a phone call back ASAP.

The weather changed from rain to sunshine within seconds. One minute I'm out laying on the hammock enjoying some rays and minutes later it pours rain for a good whole 5 minutes. Beach currant was a bit strong to my likings during my stay in April and the tropical winds were sure to blow off my sun hat! Who's complaining though, we loved it. Definitely paradise!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melody808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2010

My wife and I went to Kaua'i for the first time, and being from a big city, we were looking for a place that was quiet, romantic, and had good access to the island's outdoor opportunities. Hale Makai met these requirements and then some. We stayed in cottage #3, which has nice beach views. Cottage #2 is also almost directly on the beach, while the others are set back a little bit but still have very easy access. Our entire stay was peaceful (constant lull of waves) and comfortable (superb bed and furniture)- everything you could want from a vacation destination. Our cottage was tastefully appointed and had everything we needed, especially in the kitchen. We like to cook and only ate out one night out of five that we were there- the town of Hanalei is a 10-15 minute drive away and we did not really feel like getting in the car and leaving the cottage, so we stocked up on groceries on our first day there. Just a 5 minute drive to the west at the end of the road is Ke'e Beach, which has excellent snorkeling and is right next to the trailhead for the Kalalau Trail, which is a must if you are a hiker. You can even walk the whole way from Hale Makai to Ke'e along the beach- we did one day and saw a monk seal. It's a bit pricey to stay here, but lots of places on the North Shore are. The North Shore is by far the nicest part of Kaua'i, and Hale Makai has the best location on the North Shore- if you are going to go all the way to Hawaii, why not make the most of it? We wish we could go back in time and have our honeymoon here!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ContinuousMapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

If you're looking for your own rental home on the beach on Kauai's northshore, Hale Makai Cottages is the place for you. My husband and I stayed in Cottage #3 for five days. Cottages 3 and 2 are oceanfront with gorgeous views. We could see the sun rising over the east-side Hanalei Bay mountains. The location is terrific, between Hanalei Bay and Tunnels Beach. (It's about a 15-minute beach walk to Tunnels.) The grounds are also immaculate with tropical plants. The location really can't be beat. It's a 15-minute drive to Hanalei and a 5-minute drive to Ke'e Beach. Amazing!

The remodeled house itself was beautiful on the inside. The only reason I didn't rate Hale Makai a five is because they took shortcuts on improving the actual structures themselves. I saw a couple of rotted window sills and cracks that let ants in. Those things were relatively minor; the renovation is very well done. But, I was surprised to see a Viking range and a rotted window sill ... just a little inconsistent.

Since all the one-bedroom cottages are the same price, I'd definitely try to get Cottage #3, as it's oceanfront. Cottage #1 also has almost unobstructed ocean views (it's a bit behind two-bedroom #2). Cottage #4 is directly behind the laundry building and Cottage #3. So, vacationers in #3 and #1 definitely get a better deal than #4. Of the two-bedrooms, Cottage #2 is oceanfont (think porch right above the sand line) and #5 is at the back of the property, though you can probably peek at the ocean, as it's an unobstructed view.

I've seen previous reviews that the management is difficult to work with, but I did not find that to be the case. Our bathroom sink stopper got jammed so that the sink wouldn't drain, and the management sent someone to fix it within a few hours. I found them responsive and easy to work with.

All in all, a beautiful, relaxing place to stay. The northshore of Kauai is a really rare place, and if you stay here, you're right in the middle of it!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LSH08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

This is a small complex of 5 cottages right on the beach at the end of a dead end road. Cottages 2 and 5 are two bedrooms and the rest are one bedrooms.

They all have views though Cottage 5 is furthest from the water and it's views are mostly blocked by other cottages and vegetation. 5 does have a nice, large deck on the back side looking out over a very large yard. It is also right next to the parking area for the cottages.

Cottage 4 has a nice deck on the view side and a yard space on the back side which also looks out on the large lawn behind #5.

#'s 3, 4 and 5 have the least privacy as there is a common yard space between all the cottages that one must walk through to get to the beach. Each of these has it's outdoor space right on this common yard and the very little foot traffic there is goes right past these.

Cottage 2 has the best views as it is closest to the beach and elevated up above the vegetation between the lawn and the beach. The deck is fairly narrow though and not conducive to laying out.

Cottage 1 where we stayed has the most privacy as it is off to the side of the others, has it's own private side yard and a clear view of the water. I have not been inside the other cabins but I imagine that they are all similar. The floors throughout are travertine tile, the furniture is comfortable, the place is very clean and the kitchen is well outfitted with a nice gas stove, blender, coffee maker, toaster and microwave. The only thing we didn't find that we needed was a spatula. There were a few ants roaming about when we arrived but if you don't leave food out it won't become a problem. Ants are everywhere on Kauai so a few here and there is actually quite good as opposed to an infestation.

Someone once complained about a lack of a closet but there is one that looks like it was recently added and it was sufficient for our needs. There are plenty of towels and beach towels and there is a storage shed on the far side of cottage #3 that has charcoal, lighter fluid, a couple of masks and snorkels, beach shoes, sunblock, chairs and a few other things. Before you rent or buy anything check out the cabinet first. There is also a BBQ outside cottage #1 that we used a lot. Check the cabinet for the charcoal that has been left behind.

Shopping in Princeville was more expensive than in Hanalei though the selection was wider. For groceries stop in Kapa'a.

There is a good strong AT&T 3g signal at the cabins though it is better outside than in. I tried the WIFI but the server kept timing out. There is a Cat 5 cable to plug a computer in to.

There is plenty of outdoor furniture to lounge in including several hammocks and each cottage has at least one outdoor table and chairs. There are also games and books including the Ultimate Kauai 5th edition guidebook. While it is not the current 7th edition it is still useful.

The beach right out in front of the cottages is nice though there is often a current running along the beach as the tide ebbs and flows. This makes snorkeling a little tough but general swimming is fine. It is not a long walk to Tunnels beach for great swimming, snorkeling and views.

At Mediterranean Gourmet almost next door they have a deal on Wednesday where all wine is 50% off. You can even just get a bottle to go but they have to open it and you have to drink some before you leave.

There were a few issues with the property that need to be fixed but nothing major. The disposal in our kitchen didn't run and the deck needs to be replaced as it is rotting and not up to snuff with the quality of the rest of the finishes. Cottage 5 has a tarp nailed to the roof but you hardly notice it. The BBQ has seen far better days as well and some of the outdoor showers are not as nice as others.

Overall it was a fabulous place to stay and you would be hard pressed to find something else like it.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank threedogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

For our 25th anniversary, we wanted to travel to the romantic beach we saw in the early 80's television miniseries "The Thorn Birds." Research revealed that the scenes were filmed on Ke'e Beach in north shore Kauai. TripAdvisor research provided a variety of places to stay nearby. We selected Hale Makai Cottages because of the high TripAdvisor rating, and the pictures and descriptions of the cottages on their website. As we would prepare all our meals, we used Chowhound's Wine and Food advice for shopping in Kauai, and the TripAdvisor Fall/Winter 2009-10 Kauai Guide for references. TripAdvisor has many valuable forums with information on Hale Makai and Kauai. We paid more attention to the most recent postings which reflect the property we visited.

We had very high expectations for this vacation, and we were not disappointed in any regard. North Shore Kauai in January is magnificent: high 70's plus, bright sun, and pounding surf (a welcome contrast to January weather at our home in western New York. ) We spent ten days in Cottage 3 which is less than 50 feet from the ocean. Each day, we walked on the beach. Twice, we walked the north shore from the cottage to Tunnels Beach (2 miles) and Ke'e Beach about another 2 miles. The 20-40 feet waves were unbelievable, and the sound of the surf is with you 24 hrs a day. We found The Ultimate Kauai Guidebook by Andrew Doughty in the cottage, and it was indispensable in many ways. Other days we visited Kilauea Lighthouse, took a Jack Harter Helicopter ride, and visited Na Aina Kai Botanical Gardens.

Upon return to the cottage, we enjoyed meals we prepared in the well-appointed kitchen at our table with a great ocean view. Groceries and fresh fish were a short drive away in Hanalei (10-15 minutes). As others have written, get the Makai card at FoodLand and save some money. The Dolphin fish market was excellent. Big Save Hanalei had excellent produce and bargains too.

All furnishings, the bath, and the kitchen in our cottage were exactly as they appeared on the website. Top notch all the way.

Arrangements for our stay were made primarily through the internet with the owners' representative. She was very prompt and thorough in her responses to our questions. We had no problems of any kind with requests for use of the laundry facility and late check out. The arrival/departure instructions were detailed, especially the directions which had a photo that helped us to find OneOne Rd.

It is obvious from the care this property receives that the owners are actively involved in the management. Our trip was a dream come true for us, and we plan to return to the north shore and Hale Makai Cottages again. We recommend this property without reservation, and with great confidence.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KudosRochesterNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Starting in 1997, I stayed at Hale Makai 6 times with my husband and two other couples, each couple renting a different cottage. Through the years we stayed in each cottage, though not #5, the two bedroom in back.

When we first visited, Hale Makai was a run down but clean, affordable and friendly place in the best of locations. When the new owners arrived some years back, they made many changes, many great and some not.

Great: the grounds. There used to be parking at each cottage, and gravel on the property. One One Road was extended pretty much right to the beach. They closed it off and fenced the property and landscaped with native plants. It is serene and private now, very lovely. New refrigerators, also great. Travertine floors instead of worn carpet. Beautiful bathrooms in a couple of the cottages. Quiet dishwashers.

Not so great: Removal of chests for clothes (luxury accomodations should not include living out of a suitcase). Removal of tatamis, beach umbrellas, basic foodstuffs (salt! sugar, ketchup, dish soap, garbage bags, etc). Outrageous charges for cleaning with requirements for you to leave the place nearly pristine. Removal of access to laundry facility, no matter length of stay. Unreasonable deposits and full payment timeline. Gardeners running leaf blowers and lawn mowers many hours during the day. Noisy overhead fans.

The first time we stayed after the new owners took possession, we were pointed to a different cottage because work was being done on the one we'd booked. Halfway through out two week stay, we were told we'd have to move again because the one we were in was booked. We had to move everything ourselves. The second time our booking had disappeared due to a change in management companies; then when we arrived the cottage hadn't been cleaned yet. These things should not happen, particularly when pricing went from affordable to luxury.

I am grateful for all the time I have spent in the past at Hale Makai. The location can't be beat. But at the price, I expect attention to detail and management working to please - instead the feeling is of owners begrudgingly sharing their private family compound.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SnorkleGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

My husband and I visited Hawaii for 2 weeks in October and he was concerned about staying in a place without air conditioning, so while on Kauai we stayed in cottage three for four nights and at a resort for five nights. The verdict was that we wished we had stayed in the Hale Makai for the entire visit. The views, privacy and location cannot be beat--especially the privacy. There was nothing between us and the beach--our own private Hawaii. The coffeeshop at the hotel next door made an excellent latte.

The only negative was that the kitchen was in great need of renovation and wares--not as well equipped as we would have liked. We understand that they are planning on renovating it in the near future.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathleenmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haena
17.9 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#3 of 11 in Kapaa
365 reviews
5.0 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
18.2 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hanalei Colony Resort
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
578 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
1,825 reviews
20.0 mi away
Waimea Plantation Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Makai Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Makai Cottages

Address: 4400 OneOne Road, Haena, Kauai, HI 96714
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Haena
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Haena
Price Range: £269 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hale Makai Cottages are an exclusive Private Beach Front Estate, on approximately 2 acres with about 250 feet of actual beachfront at Kepuhi Point at the end of OneOne Road in Haena, North Shore Kauai. The Hale Makai Beachfront cottages are unique in their setting, location and privacy in comparison to most other Kauai Vacation Rentals. All five cottages have unobstructed ocean and garden views and direct access to the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hale Makai Cottages Hotel Haena
Hale Makai Cottages Haena, HI - Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing