We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome B&B experience in fantastic location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Hanalei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
73 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Awesome B&B experience in fantastic location!”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Hale Ho'o Maha is really the best place to spend your Kaua'i holidays. Kirby and Toby have created something truly fantastic. The B&B is located almost at the end of the road to the Na Pali State Park, a bit behind Hanalei. You can enter the beach 50 metres from the property and walk along the ocean all the way up to Ke'e Beach and the start of the Kalalau Trail (5 km). There is a Mediterranean restaurant a stone throw away (although a bit pricy). The B&B itself is super comfortable, with a modern kitchen and huge (but cozy) living room. Our room was very spacious, super clean and had a large, private balcony. You can also use the jacuzzi, borrow the snorkeling gear and do the laundry. Toby's breakfast are delicious and fill you up for a long time. Overall, a great choice, hard to leave but great to come back again someday!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malinowynet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauaibchbum, Owner at Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Aloha Agustina,
Mahalo for your glorious review. We are so grateful for your appreciation of every detail here. We thoroughly enjoyed your company and hope you come back again soon.
Kindess is easy when the guests are kind too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    26
    14
    15
    1
See reviews for
8
173
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed at Hale Ho'o Maha for two days in 6 & 7 November. Kirby and toby were wonderful hosts and so very welcoming. Huge rooms and bathrooms, amazing living and kitchen areas and in the perfect spot to get around.

We totally recommend to stay and enjoy Kirby and toby hospitality and don't worry you will not go hungry at breakfast as Toby has everything you every want ready for when you wake up.

Look forward to staying there again on our next visit. Thanks Kirby and Toby for looking after us and making our stay memorable.

Dan, Jeff and Matt

Room Tip: We had the Papaya room and was perfect for use three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dannie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We wanted to be close to Hanalei and northern beaches but away from most of the tourists. This spot fit the bill. My favorite part of the day here was waking up to exotic birds outside and looking out the window at the changing weather on the mountain above. This place is about 20 minutes west of Hanalei (on a winding road) and just a few miles from the end of the road at Ke'e Beach. The house is elevated, which catches the breeze, but our room (Mango) did heat up in the afternoon, as it caught the afternoon sun. There are ample fans. It's a very comfortable place, and breakfasts, while simple, are plentiful, with lots of fresh fruit. I thought our hosts were a little eccentric but mostly friendly. It's only a block from the water, and there's a pretty good (though pricey) restaurant just down the road - otherwise it's a drive back to Hanalei to eat. We loved this part of the island - so lush, with amazing beaches. Not to be missed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelguy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauaibchbum, Owner at Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thanks so much for your kind review. We appreciate all comments and allows us to evaluate our guest services. Guess we are a bit eccentric ...Living on a small island seems to do that to the population. Plan to work on becoming more 'mid-range'. Thanks again...Kirby & Toby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and it was the best B & B we have ever stayed in. We stayed in The Papaya room which had beautiful views of the mountains, the furnishings and facilities were perfect. The bed was extremely comfortable and I loved having a shower whilst looking at the mountains! Breakfast was great, the fresh fruit was delicious, especially the papaya and lime picked fresh from their garden. There was something different every day - my favourite was the pancakes. It was lovely to chat to the other guests and we all gave each other tips on what to do - special thanks go to Ethan and Carlos for recommending the tubing - fantastic fun and would definitely recommend this to others. Our hosts: unfortunately we only met Kirby briefly as she had been away but Toby was a great host; he cooked perfect breakfasts and kept us entertained with his stories about his life and also the local area. The house itself is big and beautiful, so clean and lots of fascinating stuff to look at. They had everything you could possibly need for the beach that we could borrow, also books, DVDs, CDs etc. the kitchen was very well equipped and there for the use of guests who didn't want to go out to eat - it really did feel like a home. We used the hot tub which is underneath the house (it's on stilts) which was fun - dressing gowns were provided too.

The location was superb, just across the road from a beautiful beach, only a pleasant 10-15 min drive to Hanalei which was a delightful town with plenty of good places to eat. Near to Ke'e where the sunset was awesome. Excellent snorkeling nearby at Tunnels beach.

I really can't recommend Hale Ho'o Maha enough, it was perfect in every way and we will be back one day, thank you Toby and Kirby x

Room Tip: Papaya room was beautiful and had great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SLQEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
half moon bay, CA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I chose this BandB based on reviews and on location and we totally loved it. The building itself is amazing in its architecture, comfortable (I had a torn tendon and really appreciated the elevator!), welcoming and has many useful amenities. Not the least of the amenities are the very affable hosts. Our room was very comfortable and the whole place is filled with beautiful art and object d'art. We learned a lot about the north end of the island, loved the restaurant and beach across the street and appreciated the snorkeling equipment, chairs, etc available for our use. The large, covered patio under the house was a convenient place to spend time during hard rain (hello north side of the island). We stayed in the Guava room b/c it was the only one left when I made the reservation. It faced the street, which is quiet and we had a nice balcony. The shower was very large and made of lovely stone. Breakfasts were good- waffles one day, an omelette the next. We will go back and stay longer next time. Great location, great home, great hosts.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmbfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauaibchbum, Owner at Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Mahalo for your kind words about our home and us...Wow, fun to read comments concerning both.
You two were great guests and we really enjoyed meeting and talking with you.

It started to rain a bit after you left...but you missed that - Your timing for weather here was perfect!

Sure hope you have an opportunity to visit again in future years.

Aloha nui...Kirby & Toby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I had read every review about this place (really!) before coming. I decided to split up our visit to Kauai into 2 different experiences- 4 nights in the north at the Hale Ho'o Maha, and 4 nights to the south in a hotel.We much preferred our experience in the north. Staying in a B&B (well, this one anyway) is such a special experience. My husband and I LOVED this B&B. Kirby is extremely open and inviting and we felt welcome and at home. (Toby is very nice, too, and shared lots of stories with us.)

We stayed in the Mango room and I loved lying in bed in the mornings, looking out of the sliding glass door to the mountains. Absolutely gorgeous! I also loved not having to go to a restaurant to eat breakfast- every morning we walked into the kitchen/great room and enjoyed a relaxing, delicious breakfast (different every day) and a plate of tropical fruits. I loved sitting and chatting with the other people staying there and the feeling of being welcome in someone's home. That is just not possible in a hotel.

As others have mentioned, you can do laundry free of charge, and you can borrow beach chairs and snorkeling gear. They have menus of local restaurants to browse through, and Kirby and Toby are full of suggestions for things to do and see. The B&B is almost to the end of HWY 560-very private and close to fantastic beaches and the must-do Kalalau Trail. Of the few restaurants in the area, we liked Kalypso in Hanalei best. Don't try to pet Pretty Girl. I tried for 4 days to befriend her to no avail.

Kirby and Toby, thank you for your hospitality! And a special thank you for sharing your rum punch with us, Kirby! :-)

Sandy and Charles

Room Tip: We loved the views from the Mango room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyZS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauaibchbum, Owner at Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Great to hear from you! The Mango room will always be your home...and, yes, you see more rainbows from that room. It was fun getting to know you both and hope you will return soon. We will continue to work on more amenities and plant more flowers in the garden and make more leis for our guests.

Have a magic day!!

Aloha, Kirby & Toby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This B&B is built on concrete pillars 15-20 feet above street level. (The raised structure limits damage during a tsunami.) The Pineapple Suite sits on the street / ocean side corner of the building with a view of other elevated houses in the area. There's a sliding glass door to the balcony which is on the street side. (The wooden furnature on the balcony is so uncomfortable that even if you did want to sit out there, you wouldn't.) On the other outside wall is a large sliding glass window with clear glass louvered windows below. There are curtains which can be closed to cover the glass door and the large window; but, the louvered windows offer a great view of the room from the street and the neighboring yard. I felt as if I were in a fish bowl.

The bathroom door is aligned with the door leading to the common area. During my first night's stay, the door to the common area blew open in the middle of the night. (The privacy lock had been set.) If this had happened when I was changing in the bathroom, other guests may have seen more than they bargained for.

The round bed was quite comfortable, but trying to reach the end table to turn off the alarm was challenging to say the least.

I was unable to turn on the hand held shower head. Fortunately, the wall mounted head worked fine.

On the day of my departure I decided to pay my bill before I had breakfast. When I went back to the room after breakfast to finish packing, I found that all the used towels in the bathroom had been removed. Given that I still had my stuff all over the bathroom counter, it was clear that I wasn't quite ready to leave. Technically I had another 3+ hours before the manditory checkout time.

Would I stay again? NEVER!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Kazumura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauaibchbum, Owner at Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Aloha & Mahalo (thank you), Harry for your recent review. As in all things, positive or negative, we always learn. We have checked the knob on the shower head (as did our next guests) and have found it working properly.
You were here 2 nights. Did you enjoy your breakfasts? you did not comment on that aspect of our B & B. We are pleased you found the bed comfortable! It was custom made in California...a 60's thing. There are seat cushions for the Teak lanai chairs-Sorry you were unable to locate them, they would have made you more comfortable. We have ordered 9 new frosted louvers (ie: no see).
Did you notice the ocean view?

Thank you again for all your suggestions and comments.

Aloha, Kirby & Toby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanalei
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast
Address: 7083 Alamihi Rd., Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Hanalei
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hanalei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Kauai's famous North Shore, this new home features 4 tropical suites with ocean or mountain views. Exactly 110 steps to pristine Wainiha Bay and 15 minutes to great restaurants, golf, shopping, diving & snorkeling. Full breakfasts served each morning. Hula & lei making taught weekly. All suites have full private baths and lanai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Ho`o Maha Bed And Breakfast
Hale Ho`o Maha Hotel Hanalei
Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast Hanalei, Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing