We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Hanalei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
179 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A great place to stay ...”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We spent five nights in Kauai - all at this B&B. Our room, the Pineapple Room, was quite large. There was a great closet and a cabinet with some narrow shelves; we suggested they add some kind of dresser though for those that like to unpack but that is certainly not a 'ding'. The kitchen/family area was spacious and you were made to feel very welcome helping yourself to the kitchen for your own cooking if you wanted. Breakfast was excellent; Toby is a great cook. We always had fresh fruit along with either eggs, pancakes and sometimes sweet bread. Both Toby and Kirby were knowledgeable of the area and things to do; they were very helpful if you needed it. The other guests were from a variety of areas, including Switzerland, that made breakfast conversation truly interesting. Each morning we compared notes which was very helpful. When Toby suggested a dinner location, he did not let us down.

Room Tip: Just to note that rooms are not cleaned each day but there are plenty of towels and clean sheets sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauaibchbum, Owner at Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Aloha Deb,
We are delighted you enjoyed our place. Toby especially loves guests who appreciate his breakfast AND his recommendations. We have been so fortunate to have guests from all over the world..and that DOES make it fun.

As we are a Bed and Breakfast we do not offer daily maid service however we would happily offer this with a request placed in advance.... With only four rooms we would need to know ahead of time.

A hui hou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    26
    14
    15
    1
See reviews for
8
173
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We just returned from our first trip to Kauai and stayed for several days with Toby and Kirby. Altogether, we had a great time at Hale Ho'o Maha B&B and would gladly stay here again. The location is fantastic if you're looking to get away but stay close to some great beaches, hiking, and snorkeling spots, this place is perfect. I completely disagree with the reviews regarding Toby and Kirby. If you need to be fawned over while you're on vacation, then I suggest staying at a resort. Toby cooks a mean breakfast and I got a kick out of his dry sense of humor. Kirby popped in on occasion to say hello, but she and Toby both were off doing there own thing most of the day and we had the run of the place. It was great. We came to the north shore to relax and get away and this was the perfect B&B for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauaibchbum, Owner at Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Mahalo for your kind words. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and hope you will return in the not too distant future. Glad to hear you enjoyed the breakfasts - we are working on a few additional recipes for your next visit. Again, thank you. Kirby & Toby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denville, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had a wonderful time, again, with Toby and Kirby. We discovered this bed and breakfast last time we were in Hanalei and fell in love with the location, the breakfast, and the comfortable rooms. We were again pleased with our stay. Toby and Kirby are generous hosts and provided us with a lot of laughs. The funniest thing that happened was that "Pretty Girl", their bird, fell in love with my husband. She was so infatuated that she even followed him up the stairs. We will be sure to stay there again when we go back to Hawaii.
Thanks,
John and Kim

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank KimberlyHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauaibchbum, Owner at Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Mahalo for your kind words. Pretty Girl misses you both!! She has not followed anyone else to their car. You were wonderful guests and we hope you can return in a few years and renew your friendship with our Parrot (and us).

Aloha from our hearts!! Kirby & Toby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammamish, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I think that all the reviews that I have read were accurate. The rooms are like home, the location is close to the Na Pali Coast and hike, but the personalities of the owners clashed with our expectation of a Bed and Breakfast. For the price that they were charging for a room at least act like you like people. Toby is what I would consider to be a person that likes to be left alone and is perfectly happy to stay out of your way. Unfortunately, when you share your house with strangers daily, greet people, and cook them breakfast for money, you are not really able to avoid people. It seemed like you really had to walk on eggshells when we stayed there. Kirby is the personality of the house, it is a shame she does not take over what I would consider to be difference between a hotel and a bed and breakfast. I would highly recommend looking for a condo over staying here but if you are just looking for a place to stay and not much else, this B&B would work.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank defenbaughb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauaibchbum, Owner at Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for enjoying the accommodations. You were here for only 2 nights and, during that time we had 6 other guests for breakfast and, although we try to accommodate all questions and requests during (especially) the breakfast hours, we sometimes get a bit pre-occupied. We do apologize if you felt left out of the conversations. Do condos serve breakfast?

Aloha and thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The B&B is conveniently located close to the Kalalau trail. We cannot agree with the reviews that suggest that the rooms and breakfast/common area are 'very clean'. Our room was ok (but certainly not “impeccably clean”) with a spacious shower. The common/breakfast area and kitchen were “superficially” clean and the Maple Syrup had some special ingredients (ants). When one of the other guests noted this, Toby gave us a “fresh” bottle that also contained the additional protein treat. Kirby is very friendly but this would not be a sufficient reason to recommend or come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlosKorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauaibchbum, Owner at Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Mahalo (thank you) for your review. It is wonderful to live in our tropical climate but it can have its drawbacks...ants are one of them. Sorry you had trouble with the little beasts during your stay. Our home is sprayed monthly by a professional pest control company.....but the ants do win some of the battles.

Glad you liked the location!

Aloha...Kirby & Toby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
73 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Hale Ho'o Maha is really the best place to spend your Kaua'i holidays. Kirby and Toby have created something truly fantastic. The B&B is located almost at the end of the road to the Na Pali State Park, a bit behind Hanalei. You can enter the beach 50 metres from the property and walk along the ocean all the way up to Ke'e Beach and the start of the Kalalau Trail (5 km). There is a Mediterranean restaurant a stone throw away (although a bit pricy). The B&B itself is super comfortable, with a modern kitchen and huge (but cozy) living room. Our room was very spacious, super clean and had a large, private balcony. You can also use the jacuzzi, borrow the snorkeling gear and do the laundry. Toby's breakfast are delicious and fill you up for a long time. Overall, a great choice, hard to leave but great to come back again someday!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malinowynet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauaibchbum, Owner at Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Aloha Agustina,
Mahalo for your glorious review. We are so grateful for your appreciation of every detail here. We thoroughly enjoyed your company and hope you come back again soon.
Kindess is easy when the guests are kind too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed at Hale Ho'o Maha for two days in 6 & 7 November. Kirby and toby were wonderful hosts and so very welcoming. Huge rooms and bathrooms, amazing living and kitchen areas and in the perfect spot to get around.

We totally recommend to stay and enjoy Kirby and toby hospitality and don't worry you will not go hungry at breakfast as Toby has everything you every want ready for when you wake up.

Look forward to staying there again on our next visit. Thanks Kirby and Toby for looking after us and making our stay memorable.

Dan, Jeff and Matt

Room Tip: We had the Papaya room and was perfect for use three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dannie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanalei
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast
Address: 7083 Alamihi Rd., Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Hanalei
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hanalei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Kauai's famous North Shore, this new home features 4 tropical suites with ocean or mountain views. Exactly 110 steps to pristine Wainiha Bay and 15 minutes to great restaurants, golf, shopping, diving & snorkeling. Full breakfasts served each morning. Hula & lei making taught weekly. All suites have full private baths and lanai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Ho`o Maha Bed And Breakfast
Hale Ho`o Maha Hotel Hanalei
Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast Hanalei, Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing