We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pedal n Paddle Excellent Store”

Ching Young Village Shopping Center
Ranked #2 of 16 Shopping in Hanalei
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pedal n Paddle Excellent Store”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The staff at the Pedal n Paddle were super friendly. They give excellent deals on snorkeling equipment: $10/week mask & snorkel, $20w/ fins. Good quality. We rented for an extra 4 days and we were given a super good deal. In addition, when you rent from them they make a copy of your credit card, and anything you purchase at the store is put on a tab. It works as a benefit for the store, and for us: people probably purchase more and choose to rent for longer while they just put it on the tab. Easy for customers cause we don't have to continuously take out the credit card for additional purchases. They'd be my number one store to shop at for any outdoor products in the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank IHenninger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    27
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Trinket Shops At Best”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Drove all the way to Hanalei because we heard about this cute shopping town. After we drove PAST it, we both said "that can't be it, can it"? It was.... Not what we were hoping for. A lot of low end T-shirt and puka shell shops with an occasional nice art gallery thrown in. If you're in the area, it's worth a perusal. Otherwise, it's a skip. There's better quality tourist shops in Old Koloa Town if you're on the south end of the island.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 10sChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Love This Place”
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

If you're expecting malls and grand shopping centers on Kauai, you will be disappointed. But if you like quirky, fun, and unique island shops, this is a great stop. Hanalei is my favorite part of the island and this shopping center is definitely the "heartbeat" of Hanalei. Lots of great shops, food, and close to Hanalei Bay.

The shops mostly consist of typical "island" shopping - some clothing, outrigger wear, gifts, instruments, and some art. But for Kauai, I have found a number of shops here that are unlike anything else on the island. Prices vary, from inexpensive to extraordinary, but there is just about something for everyone here. Stroll around across the street and don't miss the shops that are on the main road, just south of the Ching Young Center.

Great place to stop and shop and good for several hours. My favorite shopping stop in Kauai!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, UT
Level 6 Contributor
548 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 470 helpful votes
“Shopping centers on Kauai are small and mostly disappointing”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We were expecting something larger. There were only a few touristy gift shops, 3 or 4 places to "grab a bite" and a couple of surf shops and equipment rental places. We were planning on stopping there for lunch, but none of the eating places looked like what we wanted. There was a "Big Save" grocery store at one end, so we went in there hopping they might have something we could buy for lunch. Turn to the left as you enter. They DO have pre-made sandwiches for sale, but they also have a sandwich shop, sort of like Subway. All their sandwiches are $5.99. You get your choice of 2 meats, bread, cheese, and toppings. We chose a sort of hogie bun, which was good sized, so we decided to split it. They had sodas also, but we opted to buy cans of coconut-pineapple nectar for $1 each. There were a few tables in the center of the shopping center with umbrellas, so we sat there and enjoyed and really good and very inexpensive lunch. There is ample parking and they also have restrooms.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Saxeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, CO
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Nice Shopping Center with lots of Variety”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Shopping is not something we carve out alot of time for while vacationing, so this little shopping center fit the bill for us. A good variety of shops with good quality items. We were on the island for two weeks and did most of our souvenir shopping here in one visit. I found the prices very reasonable, as well.

We rented snorkel gear from Peddle and Paddle. Their equipment was excellent and they had prescription goggles available; the price was very reasonable as well. Tucked in the back is a nut roasting shop, Kauai Nut Roasters. Delicious and large variety of roasted nuts - they have tasting jars open so you can sample before you buy. A nice treat to bring home to family and friends....if the nuts make it that far... you will most likely find them to good to resist and they won't make it into your suitcase (Check out Yelp for a well-worth-it coupon as well).

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank STurner1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ching Young Village Shopping Center also viewed

 

Been to Ching Young Village Shopping Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing