We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location”

The Mediterranean Gourmet
Reserve with OpenTable
The Mediterranean Gourmet is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 47 Restaurants in Hanalei
Price range: US$14 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hanalei Colony Resort
Description: Savor cuisine from across the world without leaving Kauai. A unique, oceanfront dining experience awaits you at Mediterranean Gourmet. Situated at Hanalei Colony Resort, Mediterranean Gourmet has become a North Shore favorite among Kauai residents and worldwide travelers since opening in 2006. Inspired by the cuisine and culture of his native Lebanon, Chef Imad Beydoun and his wife Yarrow have created a relaxed atmosphere and amazing menu selections featuring Lebanese, French, Spanish, Italian and Greek influences. Whether you are looking for a relaxed lunch or a candlelit dinner, Mediterranean Gourmet is the perfect Kauai restaurant for you. Considered by many the be one of the Best restaurants in Hawaii. Visitor's from around the world are invited to make this Kauai restaurant thier favorite Kauai restaurant too.
California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice location”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We ate dinner at this restaurant and enjoyed it. The rack of lamb had great flavors and the fish was prepared well. Ginger margarita was very good. Our family of six enjoyed it very much and came back another night for the luau...that was a different experience. We thought the luau would be held outside on their lawn with a great oceanfront view, but sadly it was held inside in their smallish dining room. There were about 80 people in the room and it was so noisy. It felt very cafeteria to me. There was no pig ceremony, just line up at the buffet and eat. Drink service was very slow. Hula dancing was so-so but the audience was so noisy it ruined it and I felt was very rude to the hula dancers. The fire dancer was great but it seemed dangerous for him to be performing in the dining room instead of outside. This restaurant is very far in the north shore, almost to the end of the road, so unless you are staying in princeville or hanalei you probably shouldn't venture out here for dinner and if you do, skip the luau and come another night for dinner only.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donjia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    231
    146
    55
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
119 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Food; Beautiful Ocean View”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The food here is wonderful, the view of the ocean from the restaurant is lovely, and the desserts are particularly outstanding (especially the coconut baklava and the mango cheese cake). The service was very good, too. So why four stars instead of five? The portions for the entrees are on the small side. I am not a big eater, but I was hungry after finishing my entrée and it was not inexpensive ($36 for half a rack of lamb). One more thing to note: The restaurant in not actually in Hanalei; it's in Ha'ena near the end of the highway. The road between Hanalei and Ha'ena is narrow and crosses several one-way bridges. The views along this route are outstanding, but you should know that you're in for a bit of a driving adventure to get to the Mediterranean Gourmet. That said, we would definitely recommend a meal here!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QBzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
249 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We visit the Mediterranean Gourmet whenever we are up in Princeville. The food is outstanding, the views spectacular, and the service is wonderful. If you happen to be in the area on a Tuesday night, they have a beautiful Hawaiian Luau. It is small and very intimate and the food is outstanding. You do have to make a reservatin as seating is limited.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank lrovere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great gyro”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We enjoyed this lovely spot for our last night on the island. Dishes were well prepared and featured locally fresh ingredients. The gyro was awesome! Great wine selection and romantic environment right on the ocean. We wish we would have gone to the luau.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LFassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good food but in need of an extreme makeover”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I'll admit I was hesitant to try this restaurant because of my lack of enthusiasm to try new regional cuisines but can't say that this place proved that I should. Ok, the food and service were good. Although spiced olives and hummus will never go down as my favorite foods, if that's your thing, you may love it. My major problem with this restaurant was the complete lack of decor. This place is in dire need of an interior designer consultation. I just didn't get it. It appeared as if someone were throwing a Mediterranean theme party on a very limited budget. Hanging some fabric and a few lanterns didn't distract from the 1970's speakers sitting in plain view, etc. The aesthetic citations are numerous.But my biggest problem was looking through the rural dairy shed style replacement windows that someone decided would frame the georgeous Pacific ocean views adequately. They don't and what a shame. If this restaurant wants to market itself as an upscale, gourmet establishment, it needs to take it's ambiance a little more seriously.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mediterranean Gourmet also viewed

 

Been to The Mediterranean Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing