We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceeded All Expectations!”
Hale Reed Hanalei
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hale Reed Hanalei
Location Hanalei Bay Deck- Upstairs to beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Hale Reed Hanalei
Location Hanalei Bay
Deck- Upstairs to beach
Upstairs Living Room
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom Sitting area
Back Queen Bedroom
Third Bedroom
Loft
Loft
Kitchen upstairs
Garden towards beach
Garden Downstairs living room
Garden Downstairs Dining Area
Garden downstairs living room
Garden downstairs living room
Garden downstairs twin bedroom
Garden downstairs twin bedroom
Garden in  back downstairs
View of Hanalei from highway overlook
Floor Plan
Sally Sellar Reed arriving in Lihue
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Hanalei, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
elyseb938
Saratoga, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded All Expectations!”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Hello Sally-
Just a note to say "thank you" for sharing your home with our family.
We had an incredibly wonderful time on Kauai & your home played a significant role! We all were amazed at the spaciousness, beautiful furnishings, amenities, view, and proximity to town and ocean. The home not only lived up to the description - it significantly exceeded our expectations!
It was a trip of a lifetime for all eight of us. We look forward to returning on a regular basis.
Again, mahalo for sharing your aloha with us!
Warmly,
E.B.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness, furnishings, & access to town and sights.
Liked least: Can't think of anything!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRettCA
CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hanalei Beach Home”
Reviewed 31 December 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We booked Hale Reed for one week for a family vacation. There were eight of us total - the newlyweds stayed in the downstairs apartment while the rest of us stayed upstairs. We enjoyed having so many different spaces to spread into - the loft was lovely in the early morning and late evening, front porch was a place where we could all hang out, back porch was great for catching a breeze when t was warm. We spent little time in the living room but made full use of both kitchens as we all like to cook. We appreciated the proximity to the beach with just a one minute walk to the water. We walked to town every day, walked to the river to rent kayaks, did lots of paddle boarding, had fun at the farmer's market. It was extremely wet this visit, much more so than previous visits to Hanalei, so we enjoyed the open air design of the house while staying inside to stay dry - again, the loft was perfect during rainy times. Sally, the owner, was easy to work with and was gracious about allowing us to add an eighth person at the last minute - he was quite comfortable sleeping in the loft. We love the laid-back atmosphere of Hanalei and this house was the perfect place for a gathering of our growing family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location is fantastic.
Liked least: We loved it all.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2016
I am so glad that you & your family had such a nice time at my home. It excels for families such as yours & it's rewarding to have so many appreciative guests enjoying their stays. It was very enjoyable communicating with you & hope that you will all be able to return one day soon. Many thanks, Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandrajoh...
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Home!”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
9
people found this review helpful

Three couples recently spent nine days at Hale Reed in the second floor suite. It was ideal for us. The home is very roomy and full of Hawaiian character with lots of wood and charming décor. There is a large wrap-around lanai, with loads of room including lounge chairs and a dining area. We particularly liked the separated sitting areas in two of the bedrooms. Perfect for morning coffee or a little privacy anytime. There was loads of closet space too. The second floor loft provided lots of extra room and a convenient place to set up the computer. There were many books and games available and a comfy recliner for reading. Hanalei Beach is less than a minute across the street and you can walk to the shops and restaurants in under 10 minutes.

The owner, Sally, was very friendly and accommodating through several emails prior to our stay and she was extremely accommodating in allowing us to check in early and check out late as it didn't interfere with other guests.

We loved Hanalei and Hale Reed and look forward to a return trip some time in the near future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreale...
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“great place and a perfect beach.”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
13
people found this review helpful

greetings,

family of four from Montreal stayed at hale reed appartment in hanalei in early June.

first the location is perfect. you are litterally 3 minutes (if you walk slowly...) from one of the most awesome beach we have very seen in the hawaiian islands - hanalei beach pavillion -.

despite it`s close location to the beach on a small street, it is extermely peaceful and very quiet, so no hassle of noise, people everywhere, etc..

you are as well walking distance from shops and restaurants on the main street of hanalei - probably 10 minutes of walk (slow...) -.

The house itself is a gem. We were on the ground level appartement. It has a large master bedroom, one large living room, one large additional room where you have two twin beds that you can combine as one kind bed - my two grown-up kids used the twin beds configuration. One small kitchen (small but well provisioned with everything needed to cook your own meals). One small bathroom as well.

The beds were very comfy and we slept very well. As guests of the ground level appartment, we have access to two patios, one with nice table and chairs so we could take our breakfast and dinners outside, the back small patio gives you access to the surrounding garden area, and a small charcoal BBQ.

The living room is nice with TV with DVD, stereo system (nice to listen to some hawaiian music in the evening !), large sofa, large chairs, large round table and chairs, just perfect for us.

No issues with the check-in process, sally sends you all the procedures and needed codes to access keys and alarm system before your arrival. From the airport of lihue it`s a one hour drive. If you can it`s probably better to stock up on food and groceries in lihue or kapaa, if not you can restock at the food land in princeville or the big save in hanalei.

The owner gives you access as well to a clothes washing machine and dryer (located outside next to the car port), you have access as well to an outdoor shower - really cool !

You get access as well to a number of beach items, chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, etc.. so very convenient instead of running around everywhere to rent that stuff.

We were visiting in June, so Hanalei bay was really calm and perfect for swimming, some days ok for boogie board and we saw some people get some surf lessons.

In winter it is appartenly a completely different story, where this beach becomes much rougher and becomes a surfer`s mecca, so just be aware of this if you visit during the winter time.

Hanalei beach pavillion is lifeguared, so in doubt, check with those folks, they will guide you on what to do (and not do...).

The house itself was super clean. But yes it is the tropics... so sometimes you may see an ant or two here and there...don`t panic...this is normal ! Some nice friendly geckos as well sometimes - they are good...they eat the pests.

From there, you can easily venture on the main north shore sites, the do-not-miss are the ke e beach (and the hike on kalalau trail - unique, go as far as you can, it is an incredible experience) and tunnels beach for the snorkeling. If you go to kee beach...leave really early, it gets packed (parking lot) really fast. Take a Na Pali boat expedition - we went with captain sundown which was a great experience, Their boat leaves from hanalei bay...so a few minutes walk from the house...be aware that if you are prone to sea sickness, this is not a walk in the park, the ride gets really bumpy especially on the way back.

There is no A/C in the house, but for us it was fine, the June weather was not too hot nor humid so you do get good sleep quality, some breeze from the trade winds as well helps out, all the windows in the house we leave normally open to maximize the air intake and it was fine (all windows are equipped with screens, etc.. so no issue with mosquitoes..), on the weather side you do get a shower here and there which explains the lush vegetation everywhere on the north shore, but nothing to impact your plans or activities (at least, for us it was no impact, just get wet once in while... and then you dry out when the sun come s back.

overall one of our best ever experience in the hawaiian islands, can;t wait to get back there. Hanalei is awesome and hale reed is parf of it !

MAhalo
Montrealer2

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Reviewed 12 April 2014 for a stay in February 2014
6
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto
Reviewed 18 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chippewa Falls
Reviewed 25 January 2014 for a stay in December 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing