We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apparently my kids like Kale. Best food truck ever”
Review of Kauai ONO 560

Kauai ONO 560
Ranked #14 of 47 Restaurants in Hanalei
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Apparently my kids like Kale. Best food truck ever”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Our family ate here in July 2014 and were seated with another family at our table. I thought it would be a stretch to bring my two teenage daughters but apparently they like kale. It was a roll of the dice but it worked brilliantly.

Courses were kale, then a poke style fish, another salad, pork rib and pulled pork, and then dessert. I've never had Mochi before and it was excellent and will seek it out more. The pork rib was really well done but I wish they gave more.

It's BYOB but if you forget, the Hanalei liquor store is two buildings away.

What a great premise for a restaurant. Make the best meal you can with what is locally available. Prepare it all out of a food truck to keep the expenses down and the experience a garden meal set outside. Costs are low enough that you only have to cook 2 days a week and then surf the rest of the time. Brilliant! I am sure it helps keep you excited about cooking too versus cooking multiple meals six to seven days a week.

Open Table reservations seemed to be busted. So Yelp is the way to reserve a table here it seems - try there first.

This is definitely in the top 10 of dining experiences I've had. (Ate at the French Laundry in California in 2006 and that is #1 - sorry guys, but hey, you're on the list)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    26
    13
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely Happy Wedding Party”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My wife and I decided a year ago to get married in Poipu during July 2014. Looking around for a gourmet food truck to serve 85 guests on the beach after our wedding ceremony, we discovered Kauai Ono. We let Justin pick the menu based on what was local and fresh and were not disappointed. The food was incredible!!! Our guests are still raving about the food- delicious ribs, the best ever coconut ceviche and make your own sushi rolls were just a few of the highlights. Justin and his staff were awesome, they even wore the sunglasses we provided to our guests during the evening! All our guests had a blast! Thanks again for allowing us and our guests to have such a memorable experience at our wedding.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique Dining Experience”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We enjoyed this unique opportunity to taste the local flavors of Kauai prepared by an expert chef. The favorite of our group was the butterfish, beautifully prepared with a rich and unique flavor that was highlighted by the preparation. The Mo-chi desert was a bit of a disappointment after reading the rave reviews of the chocolate lava cake, but that is what a set menu is all about.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Onthego201494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“One-of-a-Kind Dining Experience in Hanalei”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We dined at Kauai Ono in early July during a week in Hanalei. Be sure to make reservations at least a few weeks ahead of your stay, either via Yelp or Open Table, since the max seating under the tent is 32 and Kauai Ono is only 'open' two nights a week.

Location is in an open field just east of the QuikSilver store and Bali Hai Realty office on the main road in Hanalei. You'll be seated with other diners at one of four picnic tables. The opportunity to meet new people was a fun part of the experience.

The meal itself was great... all ingredients are locally sourced with an explanation of each course as its served. Butterfish was served the night we were there... it was unbelievably good.

Its a BYOB venue so bring your own refreshments. The Hanalei Liquor store is just west of the Kauai Ono tent so there is a back-up if you happen to forget. BYOBS (Bug Spray), too.

Cost was $60 per person, excluding tip. Cash is preferred and a surcharge is added to your bill if you pay with a credit card.

For those looking for a unique dining experience in Hanalei, this is it! Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AZdesertdweller1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Don't miss this eating experience!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Kauai Ono is a different dinig experience. The gourmet food is prepared in a Food Truck setting, actually a custom made stainless trailer. Meals are only twice a week, and reservations go fill fast, so keep an eye on the internet to be sure you get in.

It was a 5 course gournet meal, using only local ingrediants fwithin a 10 mile radius of Hanalei. Our main course was Princeville beef.

You eat at picnic tables under a tent, glass ware is small canning jars. It you wish wine, BYOB, and it you want you own glass, BYOG.

The chef Nick invited us in to see his kitchen, remarkable. He received his culinary training in Spain. A real down to earth person.

Don't miss then one!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Norb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kauai ONO 560 also viewed

 

Been to Kauai ONO 560? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing