We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, secluded homes on North Shore.”
Review of River Estate

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanalei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
River Estate
Ranked #3 of 5 Hanalei B&B and Inns
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful, secluded homes on North Shore.”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the River house for 10 nights with our 2 teenagers. The house has everything a family needs to enjoy a stay in Kauai. We paddled down the river to the beach almost every day, what a treat, keep in mind that this is not a great beach for swimming, just enjoying sunsets and playing in the river. The house is about 20 minutes from Hanalei, 5 minutes from Tunnels and 15 minutes from Ke'e beach, so a car is definitely needed. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COMahoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

If you do not wish to stay right in the centre of Hanalei where all the shops are, this can be a good option, just 10mins drive to the town centre.
We stayed in the guesthouse tucked at the far end which provided plenty of privacy. However, the bed in the master bedroom probably needs replacing. We woke up with sore backs and neck. Not recommended for anyone who requires or prefers good back support. The shower is somewhat dated and not the best water flow.

It was a soothing spot to stay in and relax. The house was well equipped with everything you need for cooking and staying entertained. The best thing is the service that Mark provided and his guide on activities and best time to go boating. He was great in organizing inter island flights and car hire for us. Even when my husband left his passport behind, Mark was helpful and efficient in getting it posted out to us. Otherwise, we may have had to stay back and change our flights! thank you so much for your assistance! =)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HazeLatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

There were pros and cons, but first the good. It is a nice little location, the grounds are well maintained and the property is visually very secluded. The owner, Mark, has a nice system in place for entry and exit. We stayed in the guest house as we felt it would be more quiet, and it was the right choice of the two. There are other properties in close proximity, and while you don't see them you do hear them. Our first night was very noisy but it calmed down after that. Do be prepared however for a chorus of roosters starting at 4am, along with dogs bellowing. The kitchen is very well stocked for cooking. The master bedroom is quite nice, with views of the river on one side and lots of windows. The master mattress was a bit saggy but not so bad it caused trouble. On the con side, the bathtub in the master bedroom had been bleached, but not rinsed and I went flying when I entered it for the first time. I caught myself, but I would beware of that if you go. The interior needs maintenance. Kitchen cabinet doors wouldn't stay closed and it was annoying to have the doors in your face. The interior furniture is a material that tends to hold moisture and we found ourselves needing to put a towel under us. The deck is very peaceful but there are no chaise lounge chairs to read on outside and the little table for eating isn't the most comfortable. Also, with all the vegetation it can be dark inside. One thing that I didn't like was that we had to give payment in full quite well in advance, yet you have to wait as long as 60 days to get your security deposit of $350 back. If you do go to Hanalei, go up to Princeville's Sunshine helicopter for a ride over the island -- that was fabulous!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cindi w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbeqd, Owner at River Estate, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
All in all this is a very useful review for me and quite balanced. It's interesting how it has become a project for travelers to formulate these reviews as well. Some come from the soul and some seem like they are professionally done. This one is fair and accurate in an unemotional way. Thank you. To specifically address issues. Yes it is the country here and it's alive with living things. Yes a new dog ordinance is in the works that will address the issue of unattended dogs. The mattress is scheduled to be replaced in January. All three neighbors have just agreed to let me take down the trees that block the sun. I have just installed a solar water heater in advance of the trees being all trimmed in January. For the first time in 40 years! I'm very excited. So this review was very timely in that regard. We have a list of suggestions that is left for each guest every time. On that list is a suggestion to keep the windows closed when not in the house. This is a very moist place on earth. When it rains the interior of the house tends to get moist. The couch is covered with a very good high wear material which is impervious to water. Very comfortable. If that couch has so much moisture on it that a towel was needed well......Close the windows and use the air conditioner set to 75. One of the reasons I had air conditioning installed was to be able to dehumidify the house between guests. That couch will never get mold like the bedding does when the house is left open continually. Hence the request to keep the windows closed while out so when it rains it doesn't permeate the house. The bleach in the tub....Ah yes the bleach. Well we're on the cusp of a cleaning person change here. This is not the first time but it is the first time a guest mentioned it and well, I've been nice and patient but..... I have another cleaner already lined up. Sorry about that. It was a dangerous mistake. Chaise lounge chairs coming right up. That's enough for now. This is a helpful and accurate review and thanks for confirming and bringing to my attention some good points with this review. Constructively and impartially done. Nice. There's a review of your review! First time for everything. Say there's an idea....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed from Thanksgiving to 1st week in December. Loved every moment! Ended up with back injury that had me laying flat for most of visit and this home made it possible to enjoy the time as much as possible due to the beauty of the home, the quiet of the rural area and the beauty of the views of treetops etc. this house is on stilts so you feel as if you are living in a grown ups tree house. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. Lots of privacy as bedrooms are split between two sides of the home. Kitchen well appointed. Mark has done a great job of creating a wonderful environment

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ALifesJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Peace-filled, kind, comforting. Symphony of baritone frog, strident roosters, and quiet--no sound--surround you.

The yard is very pleasant in the morning. Sit by the slow clear stream while birds feast on guava and java fruit (which sometimes plunk into the river), enjoy the flap of banana tree leaves across the road, or practice tai chi. The tall ti plants with purple leaf crowns are a constant comfort, graceful, beautiful, and strong. The leaves (luau) once wrapped goodies baked at the prime Hawaiian feast.

Clean, well maintained and elegantly presented. Kitchen is well stocked, former guests keep the cupboards unbare. We added to the offerings. So easy to feel right at home the very first day. We hung out here and felt happy, even blessed.

Some favorites:
Hint: The Ultimate Kauai Guidebook (Mark has a copy on the coffee table) is spot on and full of accurate maps.

• Farmer’s Markets in town: Tues, 9:30, as you go into town from the Riverhouse, and Sat, 9:30, at the Community Center. Try the Choc. Mousse from the couple who also make 12-layer lasagna. Yes, 12. Wonderful for fruits and vegies and crafts.

• Hawaiian Slack Key Guitar and Ukulele, McMaster’s duo (Dong and Sandy), Community Center, Fridays (4 p.m.) and Sundays (3 p.m.). Excellent!

• Tunnels Beach—a winner; Hanalei Bay—calm, protected bay for swimming. Lots of beaches to explore—see Ultimate Kauai Guidebook

• Places to Eat: Bar Acuda—very good, drinks are pricey at $15 each but oh so good. Urban feel. The roasted lentil small plate is excellent; Mediterranean Gourmet—just down the road from you, is creative and very good. Several Lebanese dishes. The lima bean stew is excellent as is the Greek salad, beef shish kabobs, hummus, best pita bread. Some standard American cuisine with less spice. Divine crème brulee. AND music on some nights with a wonderful view; Kauai Ono—locally recommended, only serve their several course dinner once/week under a tent, call 808.634.3244 for reservations or leave an email message, address available on their website; Tahiti Nui—fun crowd, music most nights, great mai tai’s, also have a luau on Wed nights (Mark highly recommends it); Hanalei Pizza—wonderful crust and reasonable prices, byob, sit out on the tables, pizza is decent; Village Snack and Bakery—good for breakfast, and apple cobbler, cinnamon rolls, large donut holes. Understated and very good. If you need breakfast on your way to the airport, try Tip Top in Lihue, local favorite, and very good. Why not buy some of their choc dipped macadamia nut cookies for the plane ride?

• Shaved Ice: get some! At Tunnels Beach, Wishing Well in Hanalei, Princeville right next to Foodland. Go ahead and try a scoop of ice cream on the bottom with shaved ice on top. Diet when you get home.

• Hikes: we took two—Kuilau Ridge Trail (see Ultimate Kauai Guidebook for details, amazing views, easy to moderate hike) and Kalalau Trail (we did the first two miles. Challenging but worth it for the views. We bought some hiking poles at a snorkel shop and they helped. We’re in our mid-60’s and one of us has had two foot surgeries and has post polio and the other lower back issues. You can do this!) You have Mark’s hottub to soak in when you return and it is just right. Oh my, loved it.

• Highlight Experiences that Float:

Kaua’i’s Hindu Monastery (before the Kalalau Trail Hike)—incredible place. Call ahead for free tour and you can take a self-guided tour as well. They have daily services, about 1 ½ hours long and we participated, our first Hindu service. Absolutely beautiful place and so welcoming. See guidebook for directions.

Limahuli Gardens—just down the road from you. A “living” Hawaiian landscape with ancient roots, indigenous and nearly extinct plants and hope for the future. They are reconstructing what the landscape might have looked liked in ancient times and also preserving what matters here. Excellent self-guided tour and also you can schedule a tour.

Snorkeling at Tunnels Beach. We had two glorious days before the high surf rolled in. Turtle-sighting and so clear, lots of fish.

Get up early and just listen on the lanai, keep the doors and windows open. Don’t busy up all your days here. Soak in Aloha time, let the humidity open your pores and the peace and soft environ open your hearts. Be here. Now.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
We shall return to Riverhouse and practice Aloha in between.

Room Tip: Two properties available. Riverhouse has the hot tub and is larger than the other house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank IdahoHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

There has been so much said about River Estate that any superlatives I might add are just added verbiage.

All I might add is this. If you do not stay here, you're doing yourself a huge disservice.

While trying to submit this review it seems I must add more characters.

Let me add, if I must.

Mark is awesome. The residence is awesome. If you stay elsewhere, you've really missed out on a special experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The property is as advertised and can be a great location depending on your activities. Hanalei is a bit expensive so you are better to pick up groceries at Walmart near the air port. We loved the beaches there and the extras that Mark left for us, beach chairs & boogie boards. The kitchen area/living area was a bit dark especially since the light over the table was out. The only thing that we were disappointed with was the list of expectations he left. It was a warning of how expensive electricity was for Kauai so don't be leaving the a/c on if you aren't there. You are asked to recycle, but we didn't have any recycle bins to separate our trash into, asked us to put in a load of laundry before we left( I believe there's a hefty cleaning fee that should take care of that) and not to put anything abnormal in the toilet, which we didn't and the toilet did overflow the day we left. It was oblivious that it overflowed before we came because there were bath rugs in the trash. There is no cell service at the house but there was for us before going through the gate to the property. Plenty of movies to watch and Internet was available.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gouk2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanalei
4.9 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
21.3 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
766 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hanalei Colony Resort
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
1,734 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast
3.0 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Estate

Property: River Estate
Address: 5-6691 Kuhio Highway, Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Hanalei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hanalei
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Estate is one of the first Kauai vacation properties on the internet and we are still here. I provide complimentary concierge services to all my guests from the moment you book. 45 years here helps in that regard. So please feel free to ask me about all Kauai has to offer and let me help you make the most of your vacation time here. There are two homes at River Estate (One 2 bedroom 2 bath called the Guest House and one 3 bedroom 2 bath called the Riverhouse) Please google River Estate to see all the details for both homes on the River Estate website. Both homes are on the estate grounds next to the river in the same proximity to the water yet far apart. The property location is centrally located in the middle of the prime North shore area. You’ll feel comfortable and relaxed the moment you arrive. Privacy and peace. On Site Staff and Owner Available 24/7 Top Quality Accommodations Affordably Priced A Completely Unique Central North Kauai Location Tastefully Furnished Homes. Quality Furniture Air Conditioning. Each Room Controlled Individually A Romantic and Spiritually Rejuvenating Experience Ultra Privacy in a Completely Unique Natural Setting Two Acres of Pristine Riverfront Botanical Gardens Comfortable Living Spaces With Many Deluxe Amenities Allergy Free Zones. No Mold or Mildew Inside or Out Very Close to World Famous Beaches and Landmarks Float to Beach and Back From the Property Easily Fully Equipped Large Kitchens With New Appliances In House Travel Agency. Multi Island Vacation Packages Complimentary Beach Gear and Quality Beach Towels Hotel Grade Bath Towels, Hand Towels, Wash Cloths Quality Bedding, Mattresses. High Thread Count Sheets Tile or Chinese Slate Floors in Kitchen and Bathrooms Quality Brazilian Cherry Hardwood Floors (Living Areas) Well Ventilated Homes Cooled By the Trade Winds Flat Panel TVs, DVD Players, Cd Players With iPod Docks Large Master Bedroom Suites with Flat Panel TV's Free Long Distance, WiFi Internet, Wireless Phones Large Collection of DVD's and CD's in each Home Washer/Dryer, Gas BBQ, Quality Lanai Furniture Selection of Kauai Guidebooks and Books on Hawaii ... more   less 
Also Known As:
River Estate Hanalei, Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing