We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“look elsewhere” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanalei Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanalei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hanalei Inn
Seguin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“look elsewhere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

No, not so good. Teeny tiny room with teeny tiny lanai. No air flow, and AC was so high up we had to climb the counters to turn it on and off. Photos are not what it looks like-must be wide angle camera lens. Sheets were itchy, bed was soggy, pillows were done. Cockroaches were in all our stuff. There were cats and chickens all over, which I did not mind, but when I sought back relief and sprawled out on an unused picnic table, the owner came immediately and told me, "You can not lay there. " I almost laughed. Chickens, cats, and cockroaches can, but not me...

Advertised price was 85.99 but when we arrived, it was 149. Wow. Great location, though.

Room Tip: There are five rooms. #1 in close to road, five is in the back by manager and neighbors. REally re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    24
    8
    9
    8
See reviews for
3
42
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

I stayed for a week in the 'beach house', which is a great location and has a lanai to chill out on. The room was clean but the bed and pillows really are terrible! Not the end of the world for me but if you had back problems it very may well be!
They have laundry facilities which is handy and also wi-fi which is hard to come by in Hanalei.
I returned to Hanalei a few weeks after and stayed at another place which was nice but also joined onto someones house so not as private. Hanalei Inn is good value and prob the only place that will let you stay for a single night for a reasonable price. Maybe just test out the bed first if you stay at the beach house;)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank palmtreesandbikinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

I stayed here because of the location. I wasn't expecting much due to a few negative reviews. I was pleasantly surprised with what I got. The room was clean, bed was comfortable, fridge kept the beer cold, clean bathroom, nice little deck in front. The location was perfect for me as I was on foot and was able to walk everywhere. Bill, the caretaker was very friendly and answered all my questions, always stopped by to chat if I was sitting on the deck. The price was reasonable, $149 a night. Other guests seemed pretty happy as well. When I return next year this is the place I will stay at. If you have any questions feel free to message me, I'll be happy to aswer them. Don't be put off with the bad reviews, just go with a positive attitude.

Room Tip: I stayed in #3 which is located right in the middle, it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank volvogirl2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

This is what you get for leaving your accommodations to the last minute! There doesn't appear to be a lot of reasonably priced places (under $300/night) on the North Shore of Kauai, so we ended up here. Sooooo disappointing! The bed was the worst I've ever slept in, the softest foam imaginable, a foam roll on the floor would have been preferable. Everything seemed damp, and verging on dirty. I'm not a snob, but I wouldn't recommend this to anyone! The location is very good, and the price not bad, which is the only reason I can imagine people staying here. But if you have any other options, which are even remotely comparable price-wise, I would recommend taking it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wannabesurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed in the deceivingly named "beach house" (unit 8) for around $159 a night. From what we could tell the house was portioned up into no less than 4 units. Ours shared a lanai which was nice and you could see a sliver of the ocean. The room itself was very small and uncomfortable especially for the price (we live on island so have much experience on pricing around). The main complaint is with the very uncomfortable bed that sags greatly in the middle and feels like sleeping in a hammock- we woke up very few minutes with back pain or numb arms/legs. Again, for the price it is a good location but below average rooms and very below avg bed that made for bad sleep :-(.
We have stayed at the other units (cottages w/kitchenette) on the hwy which are cheaper and they are worth it but steer clear of unit 5 in the "beach house".

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nessy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We got here yesterday and I was apprehensive because of bad reviews on this site and thanks to the fact it was the only place in town still with vacancy.

We came to the conclusion that the people complaining either stayed in unit 5 or would have been better suited to a resort hotel where they could sit in air conditioning all day.

First of all we are 1 block from "Pinetrees" which is the best Intermediate/beginner surf break in Hanalei. The unit is clean, cute, comfortable and so is the bathroom and kitchen. The appliances are not brand new but on what reality do you pay $150 a night in Hanalei for a block from the beach & get state of the art appliances. Unrealistic expectations much?

Highlights include a flat screen with HBO, wireless internet, personal front porch & well maintained yard. We like the room & it is quiet. Previously I have stayed at the Hanalei Vacation House which backs on to noisy Tahiti Nui,

The people complaining about screens and air conditioning should remember that most people who live on the island don't use them... they open windows at night to get a cool ocean breeze. This place is good for active people I guess - who go out and go things all day and then come back to crash and watch TV at night. 5-10 minute walk to Hanalei town.

Room Tip: Ask for not #5
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalieisveryclever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Wow for staying at an amazing location. THIS PLACE WAS DISGUSTING! don't' stay here, we asked for a refund they said no. no how water! SOOOOOO GROSS!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craig h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanalei
2.8 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
1.5 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hanalei Colony Resort
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
1.7 mi away
Makai Club
Makai Club
#1 of 1 in Princeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanalei Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Inn

Property: Hanalei Inn
Address: 5-5468 Kuhio Hwy, Hanalei Bay, Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Hanalei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Hanalei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hanalei Inn is located on the North Shore of Kauai, Hawaii, in the town of Hanalei. Offering studio accommodations, rooms have a full kitchen, queen bed, air conditioning, free wireless, HBO™ and other move channels, coffee, free parking and more. Nestled in a quiet Hawaiian tropical country setting, the inn is just one block from Hanalei Bay. With breathtaking mountain views and waterfalls, it is the perfect place for relaxing. Including an outdoor covered lanai, there is a barbecue, picnic benches, hammocks, and even a pay phone. There is no better place to start the day. You can enjoy a cup of Kauai coffee surrounded with beautiful Hawaiian tropical gardens and fruit trees. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hanalei Hotel Hanalei
Hanalei Inn Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing