We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I could only move in...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanalei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hanalei Surfboard House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hanalei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“If I could only move in...”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My (now) wife and I recent lodged at the Hanalei Surfboard house. I can safely say the stay at the Surfboard house made our trip and immediately sparked conversation of future stays. Simon is a consummate host. Upon arrival, with our names presented on a sign, Simon gave us a gift certificate to Baracuda (great tapas) that my sister-in-law had purchased for us. Apparently my sister-in-law had contacted Simon previous to our arrival and upon Simon's recommendation she arranged a dinner for us. Simon took it upon himself to obtain the gift certificate for us and even suggested some plates for us to sample. This was the first of many pleasant and warm interactions with Simon as he provided his suggestions for surf lessons, snorkeling, and many other activities.

The room we stayed in, the Elvis suite, was impeccably adorned with antiques and memorabilia. Our back patio, with a table for al fresco dining, also provided a grill which we utilized to make fish tacos. The grounds are kept in an amazing fashion, seemingly each blade of grass was positioned in its proper location.

Many amenities such as beach chairs and a boogie board, including local shampoo and conditioner, complete the experience. My wife and I are completely enamored with the house and cannot wait to visit Simon and his beautiful Surfboard house again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank occamesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    7
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
268
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We could not have asked for anything more on our honeymoon. We stayed in the Elvis suite which was amazing. It was decorated very cool and was so fun to come home to after a day of exploring. Simon was a perfect host and is constantly maintaing the gorgeous grounds. Perfect location a block from the beach and short walk to downtown. Simon's surfboard house is the perfect place to stay. Take my advice and stay at the surfboard house when you visit the North Shore of Kauai. We will be back. I could go on and on about the amenities and quality of the Surfboard house. It was without question the highlight of our vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2012

My girlfriend and I found the Surfboard House in an online search - it was our first time staying in a home-style establishment. Because of Simon's incredible hospitality, It definitely won't be our last!

Any initial trepidation vanished the moment we parked our car at the charming property. It's cute, charming, quiet, and a mere stone's throw away from beautiful Hanalei Bay.

Simon's kind, easygoing attitude permeated the Surfboard house and set the tone for the best vacation we've ever experienced. The property looks even better in person than in photographs! Attention to detail is second to none with respect to decoration, cleanliness, and amenities.

Our only regret is not booking our trip for an additional week. We're already planning our next visit back.

Room Tip: The Love Shack is the best couples room - slightly more private than the other units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DP317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Simon was a most gracious host. He went out of his way to make us feel at home. The Elvis Suite at the Surfboard House was incredible. All of our needs were met and more. It was so nice to stay in a place that reflected our surroundings: quirky, lush/tropical, quiet, and serene (as opposed to a cookie-cutter condo or hotel room). We loved walking to town and to the Farmer's Market. The beach, a stone's throw away, was great for walks/sunrise photos/reading under the trees/people watching/etc. After a long day of hiking it was so nice to return to the room for a great hot shower, a grilled meal on the private patio and a wonderful night's sleep in the uber comfortable bed. The new high-tech airconditioning system was much appreciated too. I could go on and on and repeat so much that is stated in other reviews. Instead, I'll just say "ditto" and thank you to Simon for letting stay in your slice of paradise. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigipdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2012

If you're staying in Hanalei, it's probably because you want your stay to feel like you actually live there without a care in the world; with the beach and the mountains in either direction, and a surf town a short walk down the road. If that's how you envision your vacation, it is reality when you stay at the Surfboard house. Up until our experience staying at the Surfboard House, my wife and I had vowed to go somewhere different each year for our vacation, now all we can think about is going back. Simon - make room for us! Really everything in the Surfboard House is catered to a Hawaii lifestyle in the comforts of your own home; a really cool home. The property has boogie boards, snorkel equipment, bicycles, great music (awesome classic rock collection), private back patio with table and chairs, outdoor shower, Weber grill, and a really wonderful gal, who helps Simon, who knows all of the greatest beaches and secret gems. Also, the decor is all things music including an original 50's era juke box which is fantastic.

The location of the property in relation to the beach and the small shops and restaurants, which is Hanalei, is absolutely perfect. One of our favorite memories is when a large swell came in and we walked to the beach, which is literally right across the street, and watched the local surfers drive in from all over the island and surf massive waves accompanied by a beautiful sunset over Hanalei Bay.

If you are on the fence between different hotel options, know that we extended our stay while having a free reservation at the Marriott in Lihue because the place was so amazing. Simon is a gracious host that is accommodating and has a vacationers best interest at heart. I only hope that he has availability for us next time we come - real soon. Brad & Mandy (Scottsdale, AZ)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharmandHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This is by far the best place to stay on Kauai. Hanalei is one of the most beautiful locations in the world and the Hanalei Surfboard House, as far as accommodations are concerned, did not disappoint. The rooms have an authentic, creative charm and the host, Simon, is the most attentive vacation rental owner I have ever come across. As a world traveler, I have stayed many places and very few compare.

Please stop your search for a place to stay and book immediately.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KansasHawaiiLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We were lucky enough to spend 4 nights of our Honeymoon in the Loveshack at the Surfboard House. It was quite simply, heavenly. The room itself was one of the coolest, most unique and inspiring accommodations we've ever stayed in. Spotlessly clean and fresh. The decoration and the furniture were fabulous with stunning attention to detail every where you look. Our room had a private backyard with BBQ and outdoor shower. Local coffee, shampoo and soaps were left out for us on arrival. With a 90sec walk to the beach the location couldn't have been better. Simon, the owner was an impeccable host. Friendly, approachable and full of advice and hints for your stay on the island... But leaves you alone to make yourself at home on the property. His only personality flaw is his support of Newcastle United... But we looked past that.
We can not wait to return to Hanalei and the Surfboard House in the very near future.
Kate & Ben (uk)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanalei
2.8 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
19.4 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
780 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
3.0 mi away
Hanalei Colony Resort
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
546 reviews
1.6 mi away
Makai Club
Makai Club
#1 of 1 in Princeville
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanalei Surfboard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Surfboard House

Property: Hanalei Surfboard House
Address: 5459 Weke Rd, Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Hanalei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hanalei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most sought after destinations on Kauai’s spectacular North Shore, our suites are just a few minutes from charming Hanalei town. On a beachfront road lined with stately homes and plantation cottages, we provide some of the only room-rentals in Hanalei. Hanalei Bay, the playground of surfing’s World Champions, is right across the street. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hanalei Surfboard House Hotel Hanalei
Hanalei Surfboard House Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing