We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best !!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanalei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hanalei Surfboard House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hanalei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, California
1 review
“The Best !!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

#1 - The location is fantastic with access to Hanalei beach across the street.
My wife and I stayed in the Cowgirl suite and it was incredible , Spotlessly clean and the attention to detail of interior comforts , big fridge , washing machine , music , all the beach necessities and tons more. The garden surrounding the 3 suites was as eclectic and wonderful as the suites. Simon is also the perfect host and took time to check on our comfort on a couple of occasions. We have traveled a lot over the years and can tell you we will definitely be back . Hanalei is as magical a place as you will ever visit and Simons Surfboard House is the icing on the cake. A perfect vacation at a perfect location . Simon , Thank you and see you again next year !! Tim and Joann

Room Tip: All suites are ground level and all of the 3 suites are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    7
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
264
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed in the Love Shack for 5 nights on our honeymoon, and it was everything we had hoped for. Decor, amenities, etc. were all great. Simon was an excellent host and always around to help if we had any questions or needed advice on restaurants or activities. A perfect place to stay in the most beautiful town on earth.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was by far the most wonderful vacation, we were fortunate enough for it to be our honeymoon!! The Love Shack at the Hanalei Surfboard house was beyond perfect. The vintage decor, total seclusion, and the great amenities that Simon made available to us (local soaps (which I bought plenty of before we left) and coffee) just to name a few, made our trip totally unforgettable. He truly made a lovely spot that we called home for a week where we were able to totally unplug and relax among the amazing mountains and beaches that are the North Shore of Kauai. Some of our favorite memories of the trip were listening to our favorites bands play on the killer surround sound system, sipping tropical cocktails while grilling the freshest fish available on the private lanai. We loved it all and cannot wait to return, which will be without a doubt to the Love Shack :)

Mahalo!

Room Tip: If you want to be on the North Shore of Kauai this is the place to stay!!! Look no further!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

It's hard to do justice to Simon's beautiful Surfboard House. Attention to detail. Excellent location. Outdoor gardens and spaces just for you. Everything thought of down to umbrellas, swim fins, beach mats, giant fridge, lovely linen, BBQ, movies. On and on. Simon is a lovely laid back host but you won't really need him because it's all there already. He'll help with all the local knowledge and has lots of interesting stories for you. Go. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are unique and excellent. The Love Shack is just a bit bigger maybe and free standing. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudySed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed in the Love Shack and really enjoyed the accommodations, location and proximity to the beach. The Love Shack was thoughtfully designed and beautifully built and finished. The interior décor was fun and light and a great place to come to after a day of sightseeing. Simon was a thoughtful host and there if we needed anything. I would definitely stay there again and hope to some day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Hanalei is a charming small place with a beautiful beach, several restaurants and small shops to discover. Simons Surfboard House fits perfectly there as it is a place with a unique character and has also a lot to discover. The decoration of the rooms shows a lot from Simons past business life as a music manager in the UK and he is more than happy to tell the stories behind - and those are very entertaining so make sure you ask :)
The rooms themselves are a bit dark but the terrace and the garden are lovely, the rooms are fully equipped with everything I ever wanted (including an extensive choice of music CDs of course) and I loved the cat which joined me for breakfast on the terrace. The Surfboard House is perfectly located between the beach and the center of Hanalai, hence it's calm but yet close to where you want to go (walking distance). Stay there a couple of days, enjoy the happy rhythm of life and discover the coast line and you'll come back home very relaxed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krimimimi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Our stay in Hanalei was wonderful. We chose a small venue (vs a large hotel) because it always feels more comfortable to us, rather than being warehoused. Simon's house was indeed everything we had hoped for! It was very casual, comfortable, and intriguing! The room felt like home with all the kitchen and bath amenities, a nice large bed, and 3 seating areas - 1 inside and 2 outside. The back area was very private and had a BBQ. The grounds (remember this was only a single family home converted to the Owner's place upstairs, and 3 very comfortably-sized units downstairs) were simply delightful! There was a large variety of exotic (and rare) plants and garden art, all intertwined to create a very photographable and leisurely area. And, only a short block's walk to the beach! Simon was very hospitable and overall we had a perfect time!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cowgirl room and there were two others we did not see, but presume the quality was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanalei
2.8 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
19.4 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
767 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hanalei Colony Resort
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
540 reviews
1.4 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
1.6 mi away
Makai Club
Makai Club
#1 of 1 in Princeville
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanalei Surfboard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Surfboard House

Property: Hanalei Surfboard House
Address: 5459 Weke Rd, Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Hanalei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hanalei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most sought after destinations on Kauai’s spectacular North Shore, our suites are just a few minutes from charming Hanalei town. On a beachfront road lined with stately homes and plantation cottages, we provide some of the only room-rentals in Hanalei. Hanalei Bay, the playground of surfing’s World Champions, is right across the street. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hanalei Surfboard House Hotel Hanalei
Hanalei Surfboard House Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing