We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Throwback of Many Sorts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanalei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hanalei Surfboard House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hanalei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2009

I guess that I have been very lucky with my picks, but most of my reviews on TripAdvisor have been positive, and this review is no different. Like many others, we made the decision to stay at the Hanalei Surfboard House based on the other reviews on here. Enjoy the information below and enjoy your stay.

H.S.H: First, do know that although the HSH is listed under Bed & Breakfasts, but it is a vacation rental. That said, it is located on the closest road to Hanalei Bay and is literally a two minute walk to the beach. The grounds are immaculate from the plants and fountains to the funky decorations (bowling pins to surfboards) located throughout. We stayed in the LoveShack for a week and after visiting other resorts/hotels on the island, it is worth every penny and beyond.

Bascially, it is like living at home.............in paradise. In addition to being a nice-size, stand-alone building, the LoveShack has a king bed, kitchen with a full fridge/utensils/blender/etc and has so many other features such as full entertainment center with surround sound, wireless internet access and books on everything from Kauai to music. The decorations could be described as electic antiques with an island-feel thrown in. There is a small, private area outdoor with a grill and an outdoor shower. In case you're limited to what you can bring, Simon has provided beach mats, boogie boards, hats, backpacks and a number of other items for use while staying with him. It's literally almost like he has thought of everything while taking the time to entertain us with his docorations. Although we only saw Simon a few times, he was very hospitable and seemed genuinely happy to share his place with us. Smiles all around! Finally, buy the book "The Ultimate Kauai Guidebook" and enjoy. Although the HSH is not listed (thank goodness), it sets very realistic expectations and was pretty much dead-on.

Kauai (The Garden Isle): As for my island comments they go as follows: Rent a car (and possibly a jeep if you plan to go offroad) and drive from one end to the other at a minimum. Drive slower than normal as there are many types of birds that hang out by the road (besides.....the speed limit doesn't exceed 50 mph). Hanalei is like a throwback from another era (hipsters, hikers, musicians, surfers, etc.) and it makes the visit so much more interesting. Early to bed/early to rise.......therefore, restaurants close early so make sure you know what their times are before being disappointed when some place is closed by seven or eight at night. Restaurants can tend to be pricy but consider cooking a meal or two at Simon's place. Don't leave without trying Shave Ice...............it puts a snow cone to shame. Take cash as many smaller restaurants/stores don't take credit cards. Keep the island clean...........there was literally no trash to be found anywhere on the island (big "WOW" here). Spend the money and do a helicopter trip (with the doors off); you won't regret it. Most importantly, enjoy the island by hiking, kayaking, snorkeling/diving, surfing and being outdoors. Hawaiians are proud of their island and I truly understand why now. My favorite bumper sticker read........."If you love Kauai, send your friends to Maui" (by the way, this was scattered among surf stickers on a local stop sign, not on a car...........hang loose my friends).

Overall, would we visit Kauai again, absolutely, Would we stay at the HSH again, most definitely. Simon.............thank you for sharing your place with us and as Poison would say..............our stay was "Nothin' but a Good Time".

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TPA2LAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2009

All of the reviews are spot on. We stayed at the Love Shack for 4 days at the end of April and I can't wait to go back. Simon was an outstanding host. Everything was clean and updated with the latest gadgets. It was so much more than the regular bland hotel experience and the decor was funky and individualized. It was heavenly being able to walk to Hanalei Bay (Dr. Beach's new no 1 btw) in the mornings and evenings. Don't know if the reset of Hanalei was like this--but no rooster noise here and it seemed to be on the quieter side of Hanalei so not much traffic. The kitchenette was all we needed for small easy meals. Would return in a heaartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXtraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2009

Having visited Hawaii a few times, we have stayed at many hotels and vacation rentals. Our pick for overall "best accommodations" is the Hanalei Surf Board House on Kauai. A block from the beach and minutes from tropical rain forests, this location is ideal. The rates are on the higher end and you can see why, with your own private suite, included is a kitchenette, a garden area, plush bedding, state-of-the art amenities, internet access, artistic furnishings, and located in the heart of surfer heaven!
You must see this place for yourself and you won't be dissapointed.

TK

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomkeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2009

My husband and I have stayed at the Hanalei Surfboard House in Kauai. This place supposedly books fast so we were happy to get a suite in April. Our stay was pleasant in the "Love Shack", which was equipped with a fancy little kitchenette, a lovely bathroom, quaint little garden, internet connection was flawless, and the surrounding area was unforgettable, with the blue Pacific Ocean just steps away. World class golf just minutes up the road pleased my husband while I shopped at the local gift store. The selection of restaurants are limited on Kauai, so we were pleased to have an option to cook in our suite. The price was a bit high but everything about this place is well worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank jewelbrazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2009

This is a great place in a great location.

We stayed in the Love Shack; Simon has everything you need - tons of towels, body boards, mini kitchen (with a big fridge!), guidebooks, anything you can think of!! The room was large and the bed was comfortable. The direct TV made my husband very happy when it was raining outside!!

The beach is less than a 5 minutes walk, the town center a couple minute drive, and the 'end of the road' 15 minutes away.

If you're looking for a hotel with restaurants, etc this isn't the place for you. We did hear some noise (& garbage pick up) from the street. If you're looking for a place that feels like home but on Kauai - you should stay here!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahc002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2009

My husband and I arrived at this "Hanalei Surfboard house" with the warmest welcome from host Simon Potts. From the instant we set foot on the property we felt as if it were our home. We stayed in the "Cowgirl" room filled with memorabilia from the past. Nostalgic Hawaiian country meets new age. The suites were filled with every amenity you could want when away from home. This was probably the most romantic vacations of our lives, with breathtaking views of Hanalei Bay and countless waterfalls in the backyard. A literal "hop and skip" to the beach and we were in the warm Hawaiian ocean. Absolutely lovely! Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ButterflyGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2009

We just returned from Simon's amazing Surf Board House cottage rental.....and yes it was perfect! He has thought of everything you need and created a great spot in a beautiful setting just a half block from the surf. We were there for 7 days and wanted to stay another 50!

We were lucky enough to reserve the Love Shack, but all his units are great. The Love Shack is wonderfully decorated with Simon's touches everywhere and very clean and well appointed with all the amenities you would want or need on vacation...not the least of which is the out door shower....the whole stay we never showered in doors..LOL!

We halfway wanted to not write this review in hopes that Simon would not be overrun with new customers and we might never again get a reservation...LOL!...but in the spirit of doing the right thing, we have written, so that you might find out for yourself what a perfect get-away the Surfboard House is for the lucky few that are able to stay! If your vacation plans do not require a wristband and or late night parting, rather you are looking for a slow relaxing, clean, safe and wonderful place to kick your heels up and recharge, stop surfing the web and email Simon immediately... if he is booked when you would like to visit change your travel dates....LOL!

We have been lucky enough to travel all over the world and just love to find unique wonderful places like Simon has created in Hanalei. One last item we would be remiss if we left out. Upon request Simon put us in contact with a lovely woman and artist Betty Jean who prepared us the most wonderful meal and baked us the most delicious chocolate birthday cake....my wife remarked afterward that her Love Shack dinner and birthday cake was one of her happiest birthdays ever!

We know we are gushing about this place, but it is only becuase it is deserved and was earned. Simon has gone to great lengths to create this wonderful space and it was clear from our conversations with him that he has done it for us the guests as much as he has done it all for himself and becuase he loves it....what a great life and gift to all of us....Simon if you read this thank you so much and we will be back....June/July 2010!!!

Much love, Rob&Teresa

Fellow travelers, by all means please e-mail if you would like to hear more detail or if you have specific questions we can answer - (robmcdermott@earthlink.net) .

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robfmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanalei
2.7 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
19.3 mi away
Garden Island Inn Hotel
19.9 mi away
Marjorie's Kauai Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Hanalei Colony Resort
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
586 reviews
1.6 mi away
Makai Club Resort
Makai Club Resort
#1 of 1 in Princeville
308 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanalei Surfboard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Surfboard House

Address: 5459 Weke Rd, Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Hanalei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hanalei
Price Range: £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most sought after destinations on Kauai’s spectacular North Shore, our suites are just a few minutes from charming Hanalei town. On a beachfront road lined with stately homes and plantation cottages, we provide some of the only one bedroom appt-rentals in Hanalei. Hanalei Bay, the playground of surfing’s World Champions, is right across the street. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hanalei Surfboard House Hotel Hanalei
Hanalei Surfboard House Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing