We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanalei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hanalei Surfboard House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hanalei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Everything you could ask for in the best town on the north shore of kauai. great decor, fridge, outdoor shower, direct TV, surround sound, 50 yds from the beach, and a private patio. our favorite place in all of the islands. the owner, simon just provides a very laid back atmosphere, perfect to relax in. we've been in resorts, bnbs, hotels, etc all over hawaii and this place is #1.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csmolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    7
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
262
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2009

My favorite place I have ever stayed. We stayed at "The Love Shack" for our honeymoon.....you do not need to be newlyweds to appreciate all it has. It appears to be an old garage converted into what would be your own personal studio apartment. Everything you need is here...kitchen, large fridge, soaking tub/shower, private patio, outdoor shower with hot water!, flat screen, excellent stereo, private entry and the coolest interior design. I don't think you can find a better place to stay on Kaua'i. Bonus for music lovers is probably at least a thousand old LP's shelved in alphabetical order around the ceiling....60's to the 90's rare and obscure stuff!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deejaySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2009

My wife and I stayed in the cowgirl suite may 17-29. the reviews are true - this is a great spot.

Simon was cool - came down and had a beer with us on our first afternoon in town and shared some stories and tips. Forget something? Pretty much anything you can imagine is already in your room. Boogie boards, beach umbrella, condoms by the bed, bug spray... just a great, comfortable spot - not fancy, just cool.

I would normally never even write a review on trip advisor but this place is worth it. And if you are staying in the cowgirl suite, there is an unreal marvin gaye cd called 'trouble man' in there which I had never heard of before... throw it in when it's raining and you won't be disappointed.

Have fun, thanks Simon.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stradlater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmetto, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

I guess that I have been very lucky with my picks, but most of my reviews on TripAdvisor have been positive, and this review is no different. Like many others, we made the decision to stay at the Hanalei Surfboard House based on the other reviews on here. Enjoy the information below and enjoy your stay.

H.S.H: First, do know that although the HSH is listed under Bed & Breakfasts, but it is a vacation rental. That said, it is located on the closest road to Hanalei Bay and is literally a two minute walk to the beach. The grounds are immaculate from the plants and fountains to the funky decorations (bowling pins to surfboards) located throughout. We stayed in the LoveShack for a week and after visiting other resorts/hotels on the island, it is worth every penny and beyond.

Bascially, it is like living at home.............in paradise. In addition to being a nice-size, stand-alone building, the LoveShack has a king bed, kitchen with a full fridge/utensils/blender/etc and has so many other features such as full entertainment center with surround sound, wireless internet access and books on everything from Kauai to music. The decorations could be described as electic antiques with an island-feel thrown in. There is a small, private area outdoor with a grill and an outdoor shower. In case you're limited to what you can bring, Simon has provided beach mats, boogie boards, hats, backpacks and a number of other items for use while staying with him. It's literally almost like he has thought of everything while taking the time to entertain us with his docorations. Although we only saw Simon a few times, he was very hospitable and seemed genuinely happy to share his place with us. Smiles all around! Finally, buy the book "The Ultimate Kauai Guidebook" and enjoy. Although the HSH is not listed (thank goodness), it sets very realistic expectations and was pretty much dead-on.

Kauai (The Garden Isle): As for my island comments they go as follows: Rent a car (and possibly a jeep if you plan to go offroad) and drive from one end to the other at a minimum. Drive slower than normal as there are many types of birds that hang out by the road (besides.....the speed limit doesn't exceed 50 mph). Hanalei is like a throwback from another era (hipsters, hikers, musicians, surfers, etc.) and it makes the visit so much more interesting. Early to bed/early to rise.......therefore, restaurants close early so make sure you know what their times are before being disappointed when some place is closed by seven or eight at night. Restaurants can tend to be pricy but consider cooking a meal or two at Simon's place. Don't leave without trying Shave Ice...............it puts a snow cone to shame. Take cash as many smaller restaurants/stores don't take credit cards. Keep the island clean...........there was literally no trash to be found anywhere on the island (big "WOW" here). Spend the money and do a helicopter trip (with the doors off); you won't regret it. Most importantly, enjoy the island by hiking, kayaking, snorkeling/diving, surfing and being outdoors. Hawaiians are proud of their island and I truly understand why now. My favorite bumper sticker read........."If you love Kauai, send your friends to Maui" (by the way, this was scattered among surf stickers on a local stop sign, not on a car...........hang loose my friends).

Overall, would we visit Kauai again, absolutely, Would we stay at the HSH again, most definitely. Simon.............thank you for sharing your place with us and as Poison would say..............our stay was "Nothin' but a Good Time".

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPA2LAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

All of the reviews are spot on. We stayed at the Love Shack for 4 days at the end of April and I can't wait to go back. Simon was an outstanding host. Everything was clean and updated with the latest gadgets. It was so much more than the regular bland hotel experience and the decor was funky and individualized. It was heavenly being able to walk to Hanalei Bay (Dr. Beach's new no 1 btw) in the mornings and evenings. Don't know if the reset of Hanalei was like this--but no rooster noise here and it seemed to be on the quieter side of Hanalei so not much traffic. The kitchenette was all we needed for small easy meals. Would return in a heaartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXtraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomkeler
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2009

Having visited Hawaii a few times, we have stayed at many hotels and vacation rentals. Our pick for overall "best accommodations" is the Hanalei Surf Board House on Kauai. A block from the beach and minutes from tropical rain forests, this location is ideal. The rates are on the higher end and you can see why, with your own private suite, included is a kitchenette, a garden area, plush bedding, state-of-the art amenities, internet access, artistic furnishings, and located in the heart of surfer heaven!
You must see this place for yourself and you won't be dissapointed.

TK

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomkeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2009

My husband and I have stayed at the Hanalei Surfboard House in Kauai. This place supposedly books fast so we were happy to get a suite in April. Our stay was pleasant in the "Love Shack", which was equipped with a fancy little kitchenette, a lovely bathroom, quaint little garden, internet connection was flawless, and the surrounding area was unforgettable, with the blue Pacific Ocean just steps away. World class golf just minutes up the road pleased my husband while I shopped at the local gift store. The selection of restaurants are limited on Kauai, so we were pleased to have an option to cook in our suite. The price was a bit high but everything about this place is well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jewelbrazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanalei
2.8 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
19.4 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
17.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hanalei Colony Resort
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
1.4 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanalei Surfboard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Surfboard House

Property: Hanalei Surfboard House
Address: 5459 Weke Rd, Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Hanalei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hanalei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most sought after destinations on Kauai’s spectacular North Shore, our suites are just a few minutes from charming Hanalei town. On a beachfront road lined with stately homes and plantation cottages, we provide some of the only room-rentals in Hanalei. Hanalei Bay, the playground of surfing’s World Champions, is right across the street. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hanalei Surfboard House Hotel Hanalei
Hanalei Surfboard House Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing