We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise Revisited!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanalei Surfboard House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanalei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hanalei Surfboard House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hanalei B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise Revisited!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2009

I returned to the Surfboard House having dreamt of it often since my first visit a year ago. This time I stayed in the "Elvis Room" and loved it, previously I had stayed in the marvellous "Love Shack". Lovingly decorated with fabulous detail, the room is an homage to Elvis's movie "Blue Hawaii", including the orginal bedstead from the set. The bed was comfy, the amenities great, I loved the bathroom and amazing shower. Simon the owner provides all the essentials for making the most of wonderous Hanalei Beach - seconds away - chairs,umbrellas,boogie boards etc.A couple of days it rained, not a problem as the room was stocked with cool DVDs and great music. Location is amazing, everything on your doorstep. My favourite coffee shop in the world Java Kai, is a short stroll, give my love to Mark and the girls if you go.
Thanks again to owner Simon for creating this unique oasis in paradise. I'm already planning my 3rd visit!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisondonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    7
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
256
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, AL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

If you are looking to stay in Hanalei you obviously know how unique and beautiful Kauai is. For our honeymoon we chose the Love Shack as our reward after 3 nights on the Kalalau trail, and it was spectacular! The unique touches and Simon's own handiwork (the bathroom tile and shower were particularly impressive), not to mention the more than ample kitchen and theatre setup (including a great collection of music) - it was really an unparalleled experience. Little touches that you would expect in a home but never get in a hotel (like a blender and weber grill); it really feels like we are now part of a club.
After a few months of reflection, after seeing the entire Kalalau trail, camping 3 nights in Waimea Canyon, hiking the Awawapuhi/Nu'alolo, the Alakai Swamp trail to the lookout, the NaPali coast kayak tour, and staying in a beautiful brand new hotel in Poipu, this was the absolute highlight for both of us.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robbywhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2009

What a fantastic place! My mate and I stayed in the Elvis Room featuring various Elvis photos and record company "gold singles". Attention to detail, design and quality are evident throughout the cottages and landscape. I loved the strong hot shower, fantastic after a swim in the ocean. The Surf Board House location is unbeatable-1 minute walk to the beach. We used the dynamite kitchenette to make mango shakes; coffee in the morning out in the Lanai and had the opportunity to BBQ from our own gorgeous outdoor grill. This place has it all and hits the mark with all lifestyles! Well placed clever decor adds whimsy and cool charm. We made friends with the guy in the Love Shack (not just for Mooners) this cottage offered a different yet equally cool aesthetic. Great location, great design, great quality and impeccably clean. Next time, the CowGirl room!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripWhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

Simon lost our reservation and moved us to the appartment of a friend. This place was disappointing - not totally clean, very dark, rather blunt furniture - we did not feel that price was in any way justified.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank farfaraway99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanaleimax, owner and manager at Hanalei Surfboard House, responded to this review, 18 August 2009
This is an extreamly unfair review,i'm guilty of double booking,yes but my efforts to rehouse the quests which were seemingly appreciated at the time and the beachfront appt i introduced them to on Hanalei Bay was entirely their choice to stay in.I personally took them there and they said it was just fine.If they had a change of mind at any time they could have called me or spoken to the owners and cancelled their stay. They stayed in the appt for 5 days and i never heard of any objection prior to reading this review. Now 6 months later a horrendous review has been submitted which unfairly suggests an association with the appt reviewed and the hanalei surfboard house . I'm sorry my efforts to rehouse these quests went unappreciated and they could'nt get to stay at the surfboard house.I cry foul. yours simon potts (owner and manager]
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

We stayed in the Love Shack for the final three nights of our honeymoon, and lamented to ourselves why we didn't "shack up" sooner. (Although the nightly fee for the Shack probably would have restricted that decision in hindsight.) The cozy building set on a quiet street right off Hanalei Bay was the perfect hideaway -- with an outdoor shower on a private patio complete with small table and chairs to enjoy a few drinks. It was the first place we stayed with full stereo surround sound and LCD flatscreen TV, which came in handy since Hanalei shuts down after dark. The location could not be beat, and we were delighted to find that our "host" was just the right balance of cordial and respectful: with stories and recommendations yet enough instruction that we could figure things out on our own. Biggest tip I can give future guests: Simon calls his place a "Bed and Directions," as breakfast is not part of the package. =)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sleeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2009

After reading great reviews on Trip Advisor, I booked the "Love Shack" for our Honeymoon. Kuaui was our 3rd island of the trip after Oahu and Maui. As everyone has mentioned, Simon has done an amazing job at setting this place up, no detail has been overlooked. Any thing you could want or need has been taken care of. Across the street from a great beach in Hanalei Bay, and a 20 minute drive to Ke'e Beach where the Napali Coast hike starts, this was just an awesome location. Walking distance to town where there were many great eateries and shops to take advantage of. Thank you Simon, we absolutely loved the Surfboard House and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank finstre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2009

Everything you could ask for in the best town on the north shore of kauai. great decor, fridge, outdoor shower, direct TV, surround sound, 50 yds from the beach, and a private patio. our favorite place in all of the islands. the owner, simon just provides a very laid back atmosphere, perfect to relax in. we've been in resorts, bnbs, hotels, etc all over hawaii and this place is #1.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank csmolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanalei
2.7 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
22.3 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
19.3 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hanalei Colony Resort
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
1.4 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanalei Surfboard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Surfboard House

Property: Hanalei Surfboard House
Address: 5459 Weke Rd, Hanalei, Kauai, HI 96714
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Hanalei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hanalei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most sought after destinations on Kauai’s spectacular North Shore, our suites are just a few minutes from charming Hanalei town. On a beachfront road lined with stately homes and plantation cottages, we provide some of the only room-rentals in Hanalei. Hanalei Bay, the playground of surfing’s World Champions, is right across the street. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hanalei Surfboard House Hotel Hanalei
Hanalei Surfboard House Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing