We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“low budget acommodation”
Review of Kalalau B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanalei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kalalau B & B
Ranked #4 of 5 Hanalei B&B and Inns
san francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“low budget acommodation”
Reviewed 15 November 2011

The Kalalau B&B stood out amongst several other accommodations we had in our week on Kauai. This truly was a budget place for anyone really needing to save approximately $40-$50/night versus other pleasant options on the north shore (that’s $110/night versus $160 elsewhere).

If you’re into saving the money (fyi, I’m talking the equivalent of eating one meal out in Hanalei with your sweetie), you may be prepared to take the slightly dingy and musty room in stride. It’ll be nostalgic, full of memories of hostels you stayed in while backpacking in your early 20’s! If you’re in the budget spirit, you’ll appreciate cooking in the dark on the communal bbq (the only cooking appliance) and the unneeded expense of covering the area with an awning or the like as the the storms pass overhead soon enough. You’ll also appreciate that in staying in the Kalalau Room, the residents are actually have you staying in a room in their home that shares a wall with their kitchen. You’ll feel like you’re at home with pots and pans clanging in the next room - this isn’t no fancy-shmancy resort! If you appreciate cutting corners on expenses, you’ll appreciate that their dogs haven’t been to any upscale obedience classes and fight and yelp like the best of them. There is one area where the Kalalau B&B didn’t skimp out and that’s the generous free Hawaiian (and random 70’s/80’s tunes) sing along concert (6pm-11pm) that they provided just on the other side of our shared wall, so that we wouldn’t miss a single word. I was told this was a rare event (only a couple a year), so don’t get your hopes up that you’ll get that special event packaged in with your stay at the B&B.

In the end, we decided that we weren’t really budget minded like the residents of Kalalau B&B at all. They kept their apologies (and our other two nights of pre-payment) to themselves and we not only generously gave them the room in their home back but generously handed over another $320 of our money to an establishment back towards town for two respectful and generous nights in a clean and quiet four star villa.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank drtrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    7
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
20
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

Mark was very welcoming and makes a good breakfast and the place is full of character. There was beach and snorkelling equipment to borrow. The Cottage is a huge room on the (UK) first floor with a kitchen area, a bathroom and a big lanai. Everything was well-used and a bit faded but it did all work. Good mosquito screening was a positive. It's surrounded by jungly vegetation which means it was cool but rather damp and dark. There was no cleaning service, just the $75 extra for a clean after you've left. Great location.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandlLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
157 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

The Jungalow is a small (12x12) room attached to a garage. It's charning, even though you are sleeping on your 12 year-old nephews giraffe print sheets and cheetah comforter.

The walls are solid on the bottom and a bamboo screen on the upper 1/2. The door is completely bamboo screen, but the weave is loose enough than anyone who walks in or out of the house can see you. Naked, sleeping, stretching or whatever. there is always the awareness that you can be seen. The rack of swim fins/coolers that guests can borrow is about 10 feet from your door. As I am writing this a few people just walked 5 feet from us to their room.
The wi-fi is advertised, but is inconsistent and weak. We kept getting dropped on three different devices..
There is minimal pr ivacy. You can shower without being seen, but the toilet is 5 feet down the wall from he owner's bedroom. As you pee, you can hear them cough or snore
.
You are sleeping 10 feet from the only north/south highway on the island. Traffic is infrequent from 9 p.m. to 4:00 a.m. but it's busy and just outside your pillow by 5 a/.m. If you are a light sleeper., bring earplugs. But really, you should be up and moving before sunrise anyway.

No linen or towel changes in the three days we stayed here. It's not like we are high maintenance, but it would have been nice to be asked.

You have no auditory privacy. You can hear anything from the main house (coughs, conversations, etc.) And they can hear anything from you (orgasms.)

I would reccomend this for the single traveler who just wants a place to crash and clean up, but not for couples.

The greek restaurant across the street is very, very good, but other than a coffee shop, there are no other businesses nearby.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ITravelMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson Heights
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

I just returned back from my trip to Hawaii. As a solo traveler, I stayed at the infamous Junglalow, which is a room attached to the garage with a bed, closet and small porch. The sink, outdoor shower and stall are attached to the main building.

PROS: Location, Location, Location. Near the beaches, trails and village. Across the street from the Hanalei Colony Resort too. Room was clean, loads of amenities (towels, frig, broiler, toaster, snorkel gear and beach chair). The price!

Cons - The room attached the garage is smack against the bushes that border the main road in Kauai. At night, when traffic is light it is not bad. Early in the morning, the car and truck "traffic" is easily heard. Regarding noise, the roof is tin so anything that touches the roof will be heard too (Rain, coconuts and Leroy the cat). Finally, there is no lock from the outside on the room. Therefore, it is your call whether you wish to leave valuables in the room when you are gone for the day.

As I said, it is not for everyone, but you cannot beat the price and location.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pauly023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights in the Cottage. This was one of three places we stayed at on the north shore while visiting the island. The proprietor Mark was friendly and helpful but compared to other places for a similar price the accommodations left a lot to be desired.

First of all was the pilled bed sheets which are extremely uncomfortable at the best of times but were even worse when sunburned. It felt like sandpaper. Would it really be so hard to spend some money on new bed sheets instead of hand me downs from someone's great aunt?

Also the ceiling fan didn't work. It had one speed, slow, and was always on. There were exposed wires. With no A/C it was the only method of cooling and unfortunately even though it cooled down late at night we had to sleep with the windows closed because of the roosters waking us up at 4am. Even with the windows closed it was hard to sleep in past dawn.

Then there was privacy or rather lack there-of. There were no curtains or blinds which would have been nice to keep out the morning light (not that it ended up matter much). The blinds that were out on the balcony sunroom were cumbersome and most didn't roll down.

The Cottage is attached to a private residence and the neighbors were noisy, blaring their TV at night and in the morning.

The remote for the tiny TV did not work. I tried changing the batteries. Still no luck. The smoke detector was open and did not have a battery. If a fire had started while asleep we probably would have died from smoke inhalation.

At least the location was good, just minutes from great beaches and the actual setting of the place was nice. Sitting outside in the open air was relaxing as long as you didn't mind being carried away by mosquitoes.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lampoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2010

This was a great stay. For the price it is well worth it. The owners are great and fun. It is located really close to the beach. It was a meberable stay!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmitcheltree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2010

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in Kauai. The accomodations in the Cottage were decent. It had a full kitchen and a really nice balcony. The highlight of the stay was definitely the cuisine provided by Mark every morning. It was very obvious he had great skill in the kitchen and the morning's selection showed it. And he also had great recommendations for dining around the island as well as things to do for the day. Overall a great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derekwinters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanalei
5.0 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
0.1 mi away
Hanalei Colony Resort
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hale Ho'o Maha Bed & Breakfast
3.1 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
3.9 mi away
Makai Club
Makai Club
#1 of 1 in Princeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalalau B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalalau B & B

Property: Kalalau B & B
Address: 4516 Uku Lii Place, Hanalei, Kauai, HI
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Hanalei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hanalei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Kalalau Bed And Breakfast
Kalalau Hotel Hanalei
Kalalau B & B Hanalei, Kauai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing