We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice get away, local style, clean, airy, cozy”
Review of Kalaheo Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalaheo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kalaheo Inn
Kilauea
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice get away, local style, clean, airy, cozy”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We are from Kauai north shore and needed a weekend stay to attend a workshop in Kekaha. Our shower was nice and hot. The bed was comfy. The place smelled and felt clean. Our only complaint was the KING OF KALAHEO crowing from the roof at 6:00 a.m. Not bad for Kaua'i. Our north shore roosters start at 5:00 a.m. The only bummer was an alarm clock in the vacant neighboring room which went off at 1:00 a.m. The staff was quick to respond, however. This is a single-wall building (ole kine style) so not much sound insulation.
We will definitely stay here again if we don't want to drive back to the north shore.
Check out the Kalaheo Café for good food. The Kalaheo Steak and Ribs was mediocre meat and potatoes with no locally grown anything on their menu. SHAME ON THEM.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    10
    5
    1
    6
See reviews for
12
14
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

the inviting garden, the fully equipped kitchen and the spacious room made our stay relaxed and comfortable. The place is conveniently located for various day trips. the apartment is clean. When we had a technical problem with the TV it was solved immediately.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViennaAndreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We needed to find a place to stay for work near Port Allen, and from our first booking up until now, all the staff at Kalaheo Inn was so friendly, efficient and always so accomodating. Its so nice to go to a place where we feel like family. Thanks Kalaheo Inn!! You have been the place of choice for us to stay for the past months.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Kalaheo Inn is an affordable place to stay on Kauai. Considering that it is not a full-service resort with restaurant, fitness center, pool, etc., it is an affordable, convenient place to stay. We stay at the Inn for our business needs at Port Allen Harbor - to which it is conveniently located. The 2 bedroom unit we stay in is roomy and the kitchen is stocked with the basics (coffee maker/filters, stove, micro, fridge, etc.). The rooms are decent - beds are bit soft and lumpy and not air-conditioned. It is usually quiet at the Inn, except that it is located adjacent to the Community Center, which hosts classes, including Zumba, which can be very noisy! Cell phone reception is bad/non-existent in the area. Also, wi-fii is a charge, which is pretty inconvenient.
Overall, the Inn is a comfortable stay with all necessities. And we have returned monthly for business travel.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom units on the East side are roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank skilarski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbank, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Kalaheo Inn is a great place to stay. I recently stayed with a couple friends and found the inn to be quite comfortable. The rooms are spacious. The beds are comfortable.The rooms are always very clean. It had all the necessities of the perfect vacation and more. It is like a home away from home. I also liked how close the inn was to some beaches. I would recommend staying here to anyone looking for a place to stay in Kauai.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Gian-Mari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panorama City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I knew that the inn would be anything but a resort or anything like that but I was pleasantly surprised by how clean and comfortable it was. The room we stayed in had many commodities and other things we needed such as microwave, an oven/stove, and even plates/silverware. All things considered, I would recommend this place for anyone staying in Kauai on a budget because it definitely felt like home.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We chose the Kalaheo Inn because of their friendly prices and its central location between the Poipu/Koloa area and the Western side of the island where we wanted to do some hiking at Kokee State Park. We knew it would be a smaller inn but when we arrived we were surprised by the number of units they had and how well kept it was. They even had a three bedroom house as part of the grounds, something we will definitely consider when planning our family vacation with my parents.
The receptionist was quick, sweet, and informative. She helped us get to our room and gave us lots of information on what was in the immediate area (Kalaheo is a cute small town). It was a great location within the town because we were able to walk over to the Kalaheo Cafe for breakfast and the Brick Oven Pizza for dinner. There's also a steak house that we tried for dinner right next to the Inn which was great too.
Also I liked that the Inn wasn't on the main road so we didn't have to deal with noise from the traffic or passerby's.
Anyways the rooms, I loved our room it felt like our little hawaiian vacation pad and even came with a kitchenette. It was nice to come back to such a homey spot after a long day at the beach or a long day of hiking. Just a note: our showers were NOT ICE COLD, instead they were quite pleasant, but that's probably because we read the signage in the bathroom and followed directions. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our experience at this little inn and have recommended it to all our friends back home. I can't wait till my next visit to Kauai because I know I'll have a little home away from home at the Kalaheo Inn.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Almond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalaheo
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
793 reviews
The Kauai Inn
#6 of 11 in Lihue
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalaheo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalaheo Inn

Property: Kalaheo Inn
Address: 4444 Papalina Rd, PO Box 584, Kalaheo, Kauai, HI 96741-8506
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kalaheo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Kalaheo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CURRENT RATES and NO RESORT FEES: $82 for studio with kitchenette $92 for 1 bedroom suite with kitchenette $103 for 1 bedroom suite with kitchenette and lanai's $125 for 2 bedroom suite with kitchenette and lanai $156 for a 3 bedroom & 2 bath house with full kitchen Each Studio and Bedroom sleeps 2 people. Additional persons are $20.00/Person. Corporate and Malahini Rates available, based upon Season & Occupancy. All RESERVATIONS of Guest Suites rates are subject to: State of Hawaii taxes of 13.45% And an applicable "new cleaning fees" of $20.00 To $145.00, Depending on the Guest Suite type and number of persons. Interim "housekeeping service" is available. We require a $100 nonrefundable deposit plus a $75.00 Refundable security deposit at the time of reservation, and the balance in full 30 days before arrival. $Ave More When You Stay Longer: Discount above rates 5% for a 1 week stay Discount above rates 10% for a 2 week stay Discount above rates 15% for a 3 week stay Discount above rates 20% for a month or more. ALOHA SPECIAL: Reserve a Week's Visit and receive the 7th night FREE! Offer good for visits during: April, May, September and October! May not be used in conjunction with any other discount programs or special offers. Mahalo! AMENITIES INCLUDE: FREE WIFI, NO RESORT FEES, Overhead fans in living and bedrooms, TV, DVD player, full kitchen or kitchenettes, coffee maker, microwave, electric skillet, blender, toaster, pots and pans, dishes and cutlery, hair dryer. ON THE PROPERTY: coin operated laundry and the Kalaheo Steak and Ribs restaurant. Guest are also given the FREE USE OF: BBQ grills, beach towels, beach chairs, snorkels and fins, coolers, golf clubs, beach mats, games, books, and often bananas grown on the property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kalaheo Inn Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing