We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in Kauai ”
Review of Kauai Shores Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kauai Shores Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel when I missed my flight back to Honolulu. Originally booked Kauai Palms hotel for overnight but could not check in since front desk was CLOSED at 9PM. Overnight Front desk staff, Mary, was my savior!! She was extremely pleasant, helpful, and was sincere about listening to my horror stories and helped me out booking a taxi for me to take the first flight out of the airport. Aqua Kauai shores management team - thank you for having a wonderful staff at your hotel such as Mary. Even though stay was only few hours, I would recommend this hotel to anyone because of her.

Hotel is extremely nice for its price. Room decor is simple yet useful, right on the beach, and had very pleasant feeling overall. Wished I could have stayed longer!!

And thank you Mary for everything!!! I was able to get back to Honolulu on time and was able to get back to work on time!!! Hope to be back in Kauai Shores soon!!

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Yohei E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for being our guest. I am glad Mary was able to help you with your stay. Yes, our employees are our best asset. With a newly renovated hotel and great employees, we are definitely blessed.

Look forward to your next visit.
Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
There are newer reviews for Kauai Shores Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

486 - 492 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

Kauai Shores Hotel is the best hotel in Kauai. You can't beat the location since its steps from the ocean and they have some really awesome rates. The staff is very friendly and go out of their way to make it a memorable experience. I travel throughout the USA for my job so I would recommend them.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Shawntrip808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Aloha and thank you for being our guest. We appreciate you taking time to complete our survey. Please visit us again and relax here when you come back to the islands.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The location was beautiful and secluded. An ancient sacred Hawaiian landmark and healing pool is nearby. The bed was very comfortable and gave a restful nights sleep. The rooms are air conditioned with walkout lanais, very clean with tropical Hawaiian décor and colors. Computers and printer are in the open air lobby and are free! Two nice pools on the property that the rooms all look out onto. A continental breakfast is offered in the A.M.. Tour companies for helicopter rides on the island, snorkeling and cave trips, surf board, snorkel rentals, restaurants, shopping, gas stations, etc. are within walking distance. The staff was wonderful and the owner was on site and more than helpful with a situation that arose from my flight predicament. This owner is very appreciated by his employees and their dedication to him and their jobs show. He has wonderful plans for this hotel but the renovation work never interfered with my the evening or day time agenda. The hotel beach area was clean and some customers had beach fires at night there. No charge for lawn chairs on the beach either! The beach can be walked for miles from there. Saw a beautiful double rainbow and sea turtle one morning too! I came to Kauai Sands now Kauai Shores hotel alone and left with many new friendships and a hotel and staff I now consider family and a second home. You can either take a taxi for $25.00 each way from the airport but renting a car is the best way as exploring the island is a must! Speed limits are slower than the mainland so the 11 miles drive to the Airport takes about 20 to 30 minutes. Some roads are windy with one lane bridges especially along the coastal areas so slow down and take in the serenity this island has to offer. So much to enjoy here and at the hotel!

Room Tip: There are two stories to choose from. Each room has an outdoor lanai. Each room faces a pool. Walkin...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank gypsy082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for being our guest. I am happy to hear that you met our owner and the staff. We do our best to treat everyone as family and friendly. Glad you enjoyed the hotel and the islands.

Look forward to your next visit here.

Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Beste und ruhigste Lage am hinteren Teil mit Meeresblick
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NS0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank glbeaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Jorge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
14.8 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
6.6 mi away
Garden Island Inn Hotel
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Shores Hotel

Address: 420 Papaloa Road, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kapaa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: £99 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kauai Shores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the accommodations at our beachfront, resort-like property situated along a secluded beach on Kauai's Royal Coconut Coast. The property features six beachfront acres of lush tropical lawns and gardens and two outdoor swimming pools. Bicycle rental amenity is included with your hospitality fee. Join us for breakfast, lunch, happy hour, and dinner at our restaurant Lava Lava Beach Club - right on the beachfront. For your convenience, our sundry is open 7 AM to 11 PM daily. Contemporary guest room accommodations feature sleek, retro-modern designs, vibrant island colors, island-style decor featuring mini-refrigerators, Keurig coffee makers, private lanais and beautiful mountain, garden, pool or ocean views. With the daily Hospitality Fee, guests enjoy amenities including in-room coffee, outdoor yoga classes, Wifi Internet access throughout the hotel, use of beach towels and chairs, local and toll-free phone calls, hot tub, luggage service (no overnight storage) and self-parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kauai Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Sands Kapaa
Kauai Sands Hotel
Hotel Kauai Sands
Kauai Shores Hotel Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing