We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting hiking adventure!”
Review of Kayak Wailua

Kayak Wailua
Ranked #1 of 50 Tours in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our kayaking/hiking guided tour adventure is one of the few activities which can be enjoyed by all members of your family including grandma and grandpa. We invite you to read our 2000+ reviews; then check availability and reserve space at our website linked here on Trip Advisor.
1 review
“Exciting hiking adventure!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

If you are looking for an exciting adventure involving kayaking on the Wailua River and hiking through the forest to the Wailua Waterfall - this is it! Be ready to "embrace mud" as our fantastic guide Lisa thought us, and you will be awarded by an awesome view of the Wailua Waterfall and swim under the 107ft of its falling water.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dragan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,993
    230
    45
    19
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mud, slide, slip”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

A friend recommended this experience as a 'must do' in kauai. We googled the providers and chose Wailea Kayak as best price and convenient departure times for our group trying to avoid sparrow fart starts. The kayaking was pleasant and easy paced on the way there as we found our paddling skills. The trek involved mud up to the ankles squelching in borrowed shoes, thank goodness, gave way to knee deep muddy water which left us with fashionable brown bermuda sox for the photos. Impressive waterfall at the end rewarded the trekkers. Our guide Kawaki was a knowledgeable skilled Hawaiian guy catering for all ages and capabilities. Our only suggestion is for the website and better placed information on what to bring and what to wear. We overlooked the need to confirm by telephoning prior and just accepted the short email as confirmation, we turned up 15 mins late and badly shod! Fortunately they had a supply if old trainers for the mud slide slip.

Helpful?
1 Thank 333MichelleW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forestville, California
1 review
“Great Fun”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

An interesting trip. Our guide Lisa Lucas was fun and knowledgeable and was always looking to keep us safe and happy and comfortable. Even the rain didn't slow us down.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MMW246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extremely Fun (& muddy!)”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A friend of ours who visited Kauai recommended this company, so we went based on her experience. The check-in was easy, and they provide shoes if you don't want to destroy yours (which you will.. it is so muddy!). The kayaking was pretty easy, though we are experienced. The trail had us fooled. We were told it was only a mile or so, but hiking through muddy ground, no matter the ease of the grade and what not, made it a very long hike. My husband and I loved every minute of it, though! (Even when I fell in the mud - twice! - when we were only about 5 minutes from the kayaks, haha.) The waterfall was super powerful and extremely fun to swim in and around. Make sure to bring lots of water, and we were so happy mosquitos weren't a problem. Definitely recommend this trip to anyone who likes a little adventure. Thanks for the experience!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 151amberp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family Fun kayak trip”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was a blast for my entire family, 5 hours of kayaking and hiking to a beautiful waterfall. Our guide was Kyle, who was very knowledgeable and talked about the area and all the various foliage. Kyle, thanks for the awesome trip and encouraging us to "embrace the mud"!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PHlovevaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kayak Wailua also viewed

 

Been to Kayak Wailua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing