We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly noisy and awful beds”
Review of Kapaa Shores

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kapaa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kapaa Shores
Ranked #10 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Reviewed 14 October 2011

For the most part our unit was decent. Really nice view, right on the water and the chairs on the lawn were great to have. Furniture isn't new, but is reasonably nice. Kitchen has what you need, bathroom was slightly upgraded. Did find hair in our towels and the 2 beach towels in the hot water closet were old and stained from use. There are a mix of units here, with units managed by Vacation International, WorldMark and residents. Ours was with VI so not sure if other units are in different shape. It did have flat screen TVs in the living room and bedroom, and the pool/beach area was nice and even had a hot tub.

Can't swim in the water off of the hotel because it is rocky and strong currents, but that is similar to most places near there at this time of year (October). There are several beaches nearby though with lifeguards.

However, the incredible amount of noise from the pool and the parking lot, along with the terrible beds, ruined our stay. Since there is no AC, you have to have the windows open on either the parking lot side, or the pool side, at the very least. Even with just 2 people in the pool talking, you can hear everything. The barbeque area was right outside the rooms and with large groups of people congregating for dinner, it was like they were in our unit with us. Finally, you can hear the TV through the walls, and it's like a heard of elephants with even just 1 person walking (or moving furniture) in the unit above you. We wanted to go to bed early and get up early, but the noise kept us from doing that. The pool is open till 10pm and often people were using it (with and without kids) that late. The queen bed and the murphy bed in the 1-bedroom were small and incredibly uncomfortable, so don't expect any quality sleep here. The bedroom is on the front hallway facing the parking lot, so anyone returning home and walking from their car can be heard (with the windows closed). There is an information sheet in the unit detailing that the walls and ceiling are thin and asking that people please walk quietly, but that sure didn't help.

If you just expect a basic place to leave your stuff while you explore the island then this place is ok. If you are expecting a luxury hotel with lots of amenities for your vacation, you'll be very disappointed. We expected the former, but not being able to sleep at night kept us from enjoying our activities the next day. We won't be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Scubagal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2011

We spent two weeks at Kapaa Shores. It was fantastic but please do not expect the Marriott.

Our unit was a one bedroom on the second floor with a murphy bed in the living room. We were in Bldg A on the second floor so we had a nice side view of the ocean. There is NO A/C in these units. So if you are not comfortable sleeping with all the windows open and fans going it will be very hot to sleep at night. The temp does drop, but it is still warm. My wife and I slept in only a sheet most the entire time. The worst part about the unit was the beds. They were old and sagged in the middle. Now we are young (our 30's) but even we woke up with our backs hurting. My parents would not be able to hack a week in these beds. The do desperately need to upgrade these!!

There is also no internet here unless you pay for it. A little pricey but heck your on vacation and your smartphone does everything your laptop can so turn of the technology and relax :)

The pool, hot tub, grounds, and staff are all great. Very slow paced and relaxed. It was not noisy, and most everyone friendly and were interested in just enjoying themselves. The BBQ area is awesome for making up your own meals. The shore area is fantastic to look at but do not think about getting in. Between the rip tide, the sharp rocks, and the waves it is a mixture for getting hurt quickly. There are plenty of beaches within minutes to go swimming in. But for just relaxing next to, you could not be closer to the water!!

I loved our proximity to Costco and Walmart both 10 minutes away in Lihue. Safeway, Longs Drugs, and Foodland are across the street. Great sushi down in downtown Kapaa, as well as some other restaurants. We were centrally located on the island so both of the farthest ends were only 1.5 hours away. I cannot tell you how many people we met staying in Poipu that hated going 2+ hours up to the Napoli Coast or those in Princeville going down to Port Allen to catching a boat excursion.

We were very pleased and absolutely enjoyed our stay, even without A/C and the beds being old!! It made the island experience all the more fun.

Room Tip: The B Bldg has the best views and get 2nd floor or Higher to get the breeze!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hart3856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We are owners of a timeshare with Vacation Internationale. We had not stayed at Kapaa Shore in over 20 years. We were pleased with the refurbishments in the unit and the exterior of the buildings. We had a first floor end unit which was convenient to the pool and barbeque grills. World Mark is managing the units, and are doing a good job. If we had any problem or needed clean towels, they took care of it immediately. Just be prepared for a little road noise from Kuhio Hwy. We stayed 16 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. Try Bobby V's down the road - reasonable prices and good pizza and pasta.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank starwatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We just returned from a trip to Kauai, HI yesterday. We stayed at the Kapaa Shore resort in Kapaa. The resort, a combination of 2 timeshare companies (Worldmark and HSI) and rentals, was very clean and conveniently located about 10 - 15 minutes from the Lihue airport. Shopping and groceries, drug stores, and food are all within a block (walking distance). Each unit is a suite - complete with fridge, microwave, oven, dish washer, and enough dishes for 6 or 8 people along with several pieces of cookware and storage dishes, 2 flatscreen TVs. The property is on the beach but there is no swimming because of the reef. The waves were too intense anyway. There are plenty of good beaches within 15 to 30 minute drive. The property has laundry rooms and prices are reasonable ($1.25 to wash, $1.50 to dry (one hour)). There is also a tennis court, swimming pool, and hot tub. All units are full ocean view. On certain days of the week (Monday in our case) there is an informative meeting in room 119 where the locals provide information on island activities, tours, and answer general questions. It turned out to be good advice and was only about 30 minutes.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mcw28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

We are enjoying our time at Kapaa Shores. It is centrally located with easy access to stores, restaurants and sights to see.
I was concerned about the review that said they had a break in. That need not be a major concern to anyone even on the ground floor where we spent our first night. Never leave windows open when they allow easy access to the room. The condo provides a bar that allows you to leave the sliding glass door open. It is an opening of about 4-6 inches which no one can climb through. Believe me, no one can get the door open farther.
Front desk was very helpful in getting us an upper room with a wonderful view, but, I would not have been concerned to stay on the ground level.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MLTMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

On our last night (am on 7/16/2010) someone removed the screen from the living room window, placed patio chair to the window and climbed in while we were sleeping. They also covered the motion sensor light on the patio. They took our laptop from the breakfast bar with wifi plug, and my purse which was under the night stand beside me. They did not take the credit cards or ID, thank God. The police said they had been in this unit before. The desk clerk said it had been robbed in April. So why no security warning or bars on the window? This was building C-room 127, on the end on the ground floor next to the ocean. I have found several more break in reports on the internet for this timeshare. There is nothing more scary than knowing someone came in during the night while you slept even though you locked both doors and put the wooden stick in the slider.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank alohasuzieq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2008

Kapaa Shores is at a great location on the Island of Kauai. It is located on the east side of the island halfway between the north and south side making it easy to travel to anywhere on the island.

Kapaa Town where it is located is a great town in itself. It offers plenty of shopping and lots of restaurants to choose from, along with some great swimming locations. Kealia beach is wonderful, it is a big clean beach with plenty to watch but not overly busy. The water can be a little rough so be sure to watch water conditions.

As for the Hotel itself, the unit I stayed in was a one bedroom, one bath, full kitchen, living area and a small eating area. My lanai was facing the ocean which was wonderful. The rooms where very clean and the people who worked there where very nice and helpful. The hotel provided grills which was great after a long day of adventure you can just hang out on your own lanai eating burgers, watching the waves come in. The pool and the hotel grounds where kept very nice. The pool was a little small but who needs that with the big wide ocean right outside the door.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pockets33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
1 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#9 of 11 in Kapaa
96 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,421 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
0.7 mi away
Pono Kai Resort
Pono Kai Resort
#6 of 11 in Kapaa
769 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapaa Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapaa Shores

Address: 900 Kuhio Highway, Between mile markers 7 and 8, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range: £69 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kapaa Shores 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Also Known As:
Kapaa Shores Hotel Kapaa
Kapaa Shores Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing