We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As always wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“As always wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Took my parents to Kaui they are 80 yo and have not been back for over ten years ( we have lived in Honolulu for over 30 yrs now live in Seattle) my parents love the place said it is what they remember of old Hawaii the plants the furniture and the view! They have no negative comments except from my dad concerning the toilet "toilet too low" If that's all my dad can complain about this resort the resort should get a standing ovation!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank virginia a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna L, Administration at Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Aloha Virginia! Mahalo for your response. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your vacation on our beautiful Kauai. Our landscaping is always a favorite for our new and returning guests. We will be sure to voice your dad's concern about the toilet. Again, thank you so much for being a guest at the Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    200
    56
    15
    14
See reviews for
171
348
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

It was nice to have a kitchen and bedroom setup. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained and the washer/dryer in room was a great help after travelling for a while. The location made it fairly easy to access various locations on the island. A bonus was seeing the ocean from our lanai.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna L, Administration at Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Aloha! Ray C. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will definately share this with our staff. Our beautiful landscaping is always a favorite for our guests. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I spent a week at this resort. It is a great location centrally located to many points of interest. We were disappointed to not have an ocean front unit. There aren't very many. I was a little worried that "garden view" would really mean "parking lot view", but there actually was beautiful landscaping to look at. And, if you looked to the right through the trees, you could see the ocean. We were facing the pool and pool bar area, but did not find it to be noisy at all. The grounds were beautifully maintained. There are some fire pits with outdoor sofas stationed around them, but, unfortunately, they were covered in ants! The pool is pretty small. We did not use it at all. Most of the time if was full of kids. This would be fine in a larger pool, but too loud and not very relaxing in a small one. There are plenty of chairs you can bring over on the lawn to look out at the ocean. As many people have mentioned, there is no beach. You can walk up a little ways to find a good lounging beach. There are nice Weber grills to use so to make dinner at the resort.
The units are clean, but a little worn and definitely could use some updating. There is plenty of free parking.
The staff was friendly. The concierge, Nani (I may have that wrong) was excellent.
We went to the restaurant only once and just ordered soup and appetizers. What we did have was very good and the service was great.
My husband and I used the spa for a couples massage. Though expensive (typical for resort spas), it was very good.
One added thing I liked: they have a box at the front desk to donate to local food bank.

Room Tip: if you don't mind stairs, ask for a top floor room
See more room tips
Green Features: they have solar panels to save money and encourage recycling
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twina1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna L, Administration at Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Aloha! Teina 1968- Thank you for your response. We appreciate your feedback and will share this with our staff. We are glad to hear that your Garden View Room worked out for you. We also sincerly apologize for your experience with ants. This will be addressed to our appropriate department. Having an onsite Spa and Restaurant on property is always a favorite. We are gald you were able to enjoy them.Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We have stayed at this resort about 5 times over the past 20 years and can tell you that it is one of our favorite places to stay on Kauai. The location is perfect for a base camp to do other things. I love to sit out by the ocean and read and relax. The grounds are pretty, the resort is in good shape and it is pretty quiet. If you just want a great place to relax or have a relaxing base camp to travel from this is the place to be.

Room Tip: We like to stay on the second floor in the middle of the complex. This makes it a quieter place to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 007agentcalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna L, Administration at Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you, 007 AgentCalifornia for the kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are glad that your enjoyed your reading byt the ocean. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evening Shade, Arkansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

My first summertime visit but I have stayed here multiple times. The grounds remain well groomed. The restaurant is now serving (one trip it was closed) and food is good. But I am concerned to recommend it to friends who want to stay there.
.
The grounds workers and cleaning staff do not have the demeanor of happy people found working there in the past. Their response is friendly, but harried and there were language difficulties in my interactions. I wonder if they are Hawaiians.

The resort never had a swimming beach. But in the past we could walk to the ocean and proceed up the beach. Now erosion has left large sections of tree roots hanging and it is difficult to approach the beach at all. This looks unkempt and even dangerous. Room decor hasn't changed since my first visit about 10 years ago. Bathrooms and kitchen appliances look tired and worn. Not energy efficient.

In the plus column - Front desk people are very helpful, the rooms and hallways are quiet. This is not a party resort so appropriate for families. Or easy to relax and sleep late.

Room Tip: Ground floor units no or little ocean view
See more room tips
Green Features: Little change in the energy efficiency since my first visit.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irate g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna L, Adminisration at Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for this great feedback Irate G. This will allow us to continue to enhance the vacation experience at our resort. Please let us know if there are opportunities to make your stay better in the future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had our wedding on the grounds of the resort, under a beautiful tree above the sand. Our reception was at the Hukilau Lanai (the restaurant at the Beachboy) and it was incredible! As soon as we arrived we were told that we had been upgraded to an ocean front 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom suite (we had booked a one-bed garden view) and we were THRILLED! the room was right on the water and we could listen to the waves each night and sit on the Lanai watching the sunrise - amazing! the bed in the master bedroom was extremely comfortable and the suite itself was massive!

We had 18 family members also staying at the beachboy and they were all equally impressed with their rooms, the gorgeous grounds and beautiful pool. We all enjoyed mai tai's by the pool and everyone loved there time at the Beachboy.

The location was amazing for accessing the rest of the island. we did move to Hanaeli after the wedding and although beautiful, it was a very long drive to Wailea Canyon or even just Poipu. I would recommend the Beachboy to anyone travelling to Kauai for its central location, amazing grounds, food and overall atmosphere

Room Tip: ocean view rooms are perfect for watching the sunrise, take advantage of happy hour by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swalshy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna L, Administration at Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Aloha! Snewts123, We are excited to hear that you had a great time during your stay. We appreciate you for choosing the Kauai Coast Resort as your wedding choice of preference. The Hukilau Restaurant is a favorite for everyone! We are glad to hear that you had a great experience. We will definately share this with our staff. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hue, Vietnam
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I often visit Kapaa Hawaii for both business and pleasure. I have stayed at several hotels, most of them disappointing, if not really bad!
It is hard to find value for your dollar on Kauai! the Beach Boy is an exception. The grounds are lovely, the pool superb (even had a tiny water fall), the "rooms' are huge...we were up graded to a 2 bedroom suit on the 3rd floor. One couldn't want any better!

Room Tip: Try for an "upgrade"...if they have one available, they will do it.
See more room tips
Green Features: Re-cycling! So many pleases in Kauai ignore this important environmental awareness.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawaii-Ina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna L, Administration at Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Aloha! Hawaii-Ina, We are glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us.We will definately share your comments with our staff. The beautiful landscaping always adds a personal touch to our visitors stay. Mahalo! for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.1 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
3.1 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
0.7 mi away
Waipouli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy

Property: Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy
Address: 520 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1452
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst swaying coconut palms, plumeria blossoms and tropical landscaped grounds, Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy is a beachfront resort perfect for relaxing and soaking up the sun. Step outside and take a dip in the new swimming pool with natural rock formation waterscapes and oceanside Jacuzzi. Pamper yourself with a massage at the full service spa on site. Enjoy fresh Seafood, prime rib and Pacific Rim cuisine at Hukilau Lanai restaurant overlooking the Pacific Ocean. When you stay with us you’ll find studios, and spacious one and two bedroom accommodations with private lanais, your favorite watersports, lush flora and fauna, and some of the most dramatically beautiful scenery in the South Pacific. Looking for your perfect Hawaiian getaway? Discover Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Coast Resort At The Beachboy Hotel Kapaa
Kauai Coast Hotel
Kauai Coast Resort Beachboy
Beachboy Resort
Kauai Coast Resort Beach Boy
Kauai Beachboy
Kauai Coast Resort At The Beachboy Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing