We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most memorable and relaxing stay.”
Review of Kapaa Sands

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kapaa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kapaa Sands
Ranked #6 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Unit 16 - oceanfront .. With magnificent views . There is a beach down the stairs . Very calm I the morning with lots of fishes. This is the only beach my 3 yr old entered fearlessly. Home was well furnished , kitchen well setup for a long stay. A true home away from home in PARADISE. Cleaning staff leaves the room spic and span!


Gets a four star cause laundry facility is literally a joke .

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Rajee N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Kapaa Sands
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

I recently stayed in Unit 14 - oceanfront studio - and they weren't kidding. Ocean was 30 steps from my front door. Went to sleep listening to the waves and the ocean breezes gently blowing in the window. Staff is great - grounds are lush and tropical. It is a quiet little place and was talking to some of the other guests who come back year after year. I hope to as well. Place was really clean and cute. Great internet connection and cable for when you wanted to reconnect with the world. Had a great week there!

Room Tip: I have only stayed in an oceanfront room. Only a little more but totally worth it I think.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveler60321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We are here at the lovely Kapaa Sands. I can't think of anything bad to say about this gem. We are in an ocean front second floor studio that looks like it has had an update recently.

The view from the Lanai is unbelievable! The location is perfect - walking distance to grocery stores and restaurants and right in the middle of the island.

The surf is LOUD and so amazing to fall asleep to. I may just claim imminent domain at say here forever :o)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hazelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed in a room that had just been remodeled (in fact, they had been working on it the morning until we got there!). There were a few minor problems but nothing that bothered us. But we really enjoyed our stay here for a number of reasons:

The location is great. As close to the ocean as you would ever want to be (assuming you stay in the front row of condos). Glorious sunrise almost every morning. Right across the street are a number of really good restaurants (the excellent and cheap Korean BBQ, Kintaro steak house, good Mexican, and a bakery with good gluten-free items).

The "beach" in front of it actually has some cool features -- a pair of small spouting horns, a protected pool for kids, tidepools, snorkeling, interesting artwork carved in the driftwood logs.

Other things are nearby -- Lydgate park is within walking distance across the river. Downtown Kapa'a is just a mile or so away. Waterfalls are nearby.

The people who stay there are really nice. Most come every year. As soon as we arrived the next-door neighbors knocked on our door and introduced themselves. Another invited us along with a group of them to dinner. We ended up hanging out with many of them. Good, friendly people!

A few minor nits. The bed could have been more comfortable. The laundry room hours are a bit of a joke (every other day, but only for a few hours in mid day?). We didn't interact much with the property managers as our condo (#5) was managed by the owner, who was very helpful and fixed most of the minor problems we discovered.

Room Tip: You want to be on the front row. We were on the top (second) floor, but the first floor looked good...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wmleler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We are currently staying at kapaa sands in unit 16 which is a two story unit ocean front.We are the first to stay here since it was converted back to a rental unit and man, are we feeling lucky. The grounds are perfect as is the cute beach and tide pool just off our lanai. The unit is very well attended...we can't think of a thing extra that we would need. We are loving sleeping with the sounds of the ocean. The staff are courteous and helpful. There is almost too much room for just the two of us in this unit but it would be perfect for a family as both bedrooms are big and comfortable. There is only one shower but two bathrooms...the one on the main floor being just a sink and toilet. The kitchen is well stocked with everything you could need...the coconut market is within walking distance and we visited the farmers market there and stocked up on some wonderful local produce. There are plenty of other shops within walking distance. This is a true paradise including whale watching off the lanai and is nice and central to everything on the island.There is no fitness centre but the pool is lovely.

Room Tip: Please choose ocean front if you can
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I really wanted to hate this place... We stayed in unit 4. Its kinda worn out and the Murphy bed...?? More like the lumpy bed...I didn't notice the staff (couldn't care less)...But from the first sunrise I WAS SMITTEN!!!

There are also great bakeries amazing coffee and awesome restaurants a stones throw away. There are surf spots right off of the lanai (if your good). Whales on the horizon and turtles and amazing fish on the little tide pool forming reef that is your backyard.

We were all over the the Island from a private helicopter tour too well overhead surf at Hanalei Bay, to a kayak trip on the Wailua River and snorkeling in Poipu. One of the best days we had was just walking down the beach about 1.5 miles from Kapaa Sands and then going to this funky bike rental place where you pick the most jacked up beach cruiser right off the ground drop money in a mailbox and then bike the trail about 5.5 miles. Seriously, we flew first class, did the private Helicopter Tour, had New Years dinner at Alan Wongs stayed in a lux Condo on Oahu. That day on the bikes and then surfing right out the door of unit #4 is on the list for all time top 10 days of my life. i was celebrating my 50th, and I was really ready to hate this place!!

Room Tip: Definitely do beachfront.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ccour10481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Aloha is what this place is all about!! We stayed in an Ocean Front unit and fell in love with the sight and sounds of the Ocean! Nothing beats this place! You can't get a better location with some of the best places to eat close by. Shopping right up the road and not far from the airport. The beach was so great to have a nice picnic under the little tree out front and watch the surfers that were right out front. The room was well organized and stocked with many things to make us feel right at home.
The best part of our stay was getting to see the ladies in the office. These girls are GREAT! anytime I needed anything Amy was willing to assist us with anything from opening our safe (which I kept locking myself out of) or helping us figure out how to work the dvd player. She is not only handy but very sweet. The other lady in the office also made us feel right at home by giving us history about the place. I will return here again next year as I have already reserved my spot!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.3 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.2 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
36 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#3 of 11 in Kapaa
353 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
1.0 mi away
Waipouli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapaa Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapaa Sands

Address: 380 Papaloa Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1440
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range: £67 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai's centrally located, intimate, 24-unit boutique beachfront resort. Rentals at Kapaa Sands include both studios and two-bedroom oceanfront and ocean view condominiums, all with full kitchens, allowing you to keep your vacation meal costs down by eating as many meals as you wish at the best table on Kauai, your view lanai (deck). Every condo is an end unit, meaning 3 exterior walls with windows, tropical breezes, and light. Sleep to to the sound of the surf and wake to the sunrise. Conveniently located across the street from Kinipopo Shopping Village with restaurants & specialty stores. Two supermarkets are within a mile from your door. Take advantage of nearby hiking trails (walk to Sleeping Giant), scenic waterfalls, and Wailua River kayaking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kapaa Sands Hotel Kapaa
Kapaa Sands Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing