We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The truth and nothing but the truth”
Review of Kauai Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kauai Beach House
Ranked #4 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The truth and nothing but the truth”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Two of us stayed in the mixed dorm downstairs sharing the double bed. We stayed on July 8th and July 9th 2013. I have no clue why this place is getting bad reviews regarding the state of the hostel. I feel these bad reviewers are nit picky people who don’t know how to be grateful for such a beautiful place.

The owner Brian is very friendly, Will was very nice, Aaron was also very nice. There was a young woman there can’t remember her name but she has a little girl name Niyah, she was very welcoming too and showed concern for us and our wellbeing.

I don’t know what the reviewers who complain about uncleanliness at this place are talking about. Jason is constantly cleaning, mopping the floors and blowing leaves cleaning the outside areas. My girlfriend and I were watching him work so very hard to keep the place clean. He is doing an awesome job. No complaints here about the cleanliness of this hostel.

I can’t believe people complain about the roosters! What does this hostel has to do with roosters crowing? Roosters are all over the island. They are everywhere even on the beach far up at the northern end of the island. We slept up there and they were roosters crowing there too. They are a part of Kauai!

This hostel keeps good rules to make everyone feel at peace. They do have a very good lockdown time of 9:30 PM. However, there is a nice island décor front area set up for those who want to stay up later with minimum noise.

It is a peaceful place and for the money it’s awesome. Hello! It’s right on the beach! I dare you to find something better for the money. It $30 for single bed one person and $45 for double bed for two people sharing the double bed.

The kitchen is big and airy and has plenty of space for everyone.

To address the person who complained about lack of air conditioning. They do not need air conditioning the sea breeze is awesome the rooms are facing the beachfront. Actually we got a little chilly and had to put on a blanket at night. There were no mosquitoes biting us though the windows were open. This is real island living. It is tropical paradise. You are on an Hawaiian Island beach front property staying for $30 per night! As for me I spent $22.50 my share because I shared the double bed with my friend. Hello!!..What a deal! If you want to experience island living stay here. Do not listen to the lying reviews. We were thankful for this awesome place.

Oh! The bus stop is right in front of this hostel and there is a food store right in front too. Location is perfect to get to everywhere.

We did stay one night at the only other hostel on the island, we didn’t like it and were very thankful to find this one.

Room Tip: i liked the downstairs mixed dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    50
    18
    22
    34
See reviews for
9
35
111
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I come to Kaua'i at least once a year and I always look forward to my stay at the Kaua'i Beach House. What a great deal to stay right on the beach in the quaint town of Kapa'a with so many beautiful beaches nearby. I love waking up to the sunrise over the ocean and then heading out to explore the beautiful island. Located half way between the North shore and the South shore, it's an ideal spot. The staff is super friendly and full of great advice on what to see and do. There are usually great people staying there looking to join up for hikes, beach trips, snorkeling, surfing or some other amazing adventure. And at the end of the day I can fall asleep to the sound of the waves crashing on the shore. I highly recommend the Kaua'i Beach House for enjoying the majestic island.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenLandin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Having stayed at quite a few hostels all over the world, I can honestly say that this hostel has a lot of potential to be great, but is not quite there yet.

When checking in, we were told that only 1 of the 2 private rooms we booked were reserved for us, however there was one available so it wasn't a problem. The staff member checking us in seemed really disorganized and confused but the other staff (Ross) were very friendly and helpful. The beds are lined with plastic, which makes for a noisy and hot sleep. (I have only ever once before experienced a hostel with the plastic coverings in Amsterdam - for obvious reasons). The private rooms that we booked were covered in sand and seemed to not have been cleaned for a very long time as there were many insect wings on all selves and sticky drink spilled down the blinds. Despite the cleanliness issues, we stayed for 4 nights and the overall vibe was relaxed and peaceful by the beach and the breeze at night was very nice.

Be warned if you book the private room with the bunk beds - in order to get access to the bathrooms after 9:30pm to 8:00am you will have to walk around the back of the building through 2 parking lots to the front entrance to get to them...not very secure.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 186338Jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This hostel is open and airy, and right on the beach. Too bad it's an unswimmable beach (4 foot high rock wall.) But still, great scenery! The layout is good. There are lots of eating establishments nearby, and an ABC grocery store is 5 mins. away. Just bring earplugs, because the roosters (moa) are everywhere, and start crowing at 3am. And keep crowing. Every 3-5 minutes.
The bathrooms are clean, but really need updating. No towels, so make sure to bring your own. Remember, people snore, sometimes loudly , all night, in a dorm type setting. Again, bring earplugs.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs and ambien and a towel (Hitchhikers guide to the galaxy, y'all) and you should b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmp717200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The staff were generally nice however very nosy about your personal business.The kitchen was so disgusting.I loved waking up to the beach.The hostel was a bit crowded with some weird characters.
Like I said I felt that the staff asked me too many questions-maybe they were being friendly but I almost felt I was being investigated.
I felt some of the staff went out of their way to make me feel comfortable.
People staying at the hostel as well as staff members did not clean up after themselves.

Room Tip: Stay in the room below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artistfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
117 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

El albergue es una casa de dos plantas que mira al mar con dormitorios para chicos, chicas y chicas y parejas. Yo estuve en la habitación para chicas y parejas, las camas son dobles y muy cómodas. Además tienen mucha privacidad porque se cierran con cortinas.
No es el sitio más limpio del mundo, pero está suficientemente limpio y la gente fue muy agradable.
Hay mucho sitio para aparcar detrás del albergue y muchos sitios cerca para comprar/cenar.

This hostel is a two-floor building that faces to the sea. There are rooms for boys, girls and girls and couples. Y slept in a girls and couples room, the beds are queen-size and very comfy. And it's quite private since you can close it with a curtain.
It is not the cleanest place in the world, but is clean enough, also, people was really nice.

There is plenty of parking space behind the hostel and many places to shop/diner nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amparo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Pierre Gaudreault from Montreal
At this hostel from March 5th 2013 to March 19th 2013

Great place. This vibe is really what Kauai is all about. Great people, great location (right on the beach) and great staff. Wake up watching sunrise from your bed every morning.

This place is relentlessly cleaned throughout the day.

This is not a party all-night hostel. If you plan to drink till 2am and sleep off your hangover till noon, you wont like it there. A lot of fun in the evenings, but at 9h30 it's lights out in most part of the hostel and at 7am, almost everyone is up and getting busy. Mostly due to an open-air construction in a rooster dominated environment... This feels perfectly right for this amazing island.

And at 30$ a night for the dorms and with a kitchen, it will leave you spare money to bring back souvenirs.

Well, as you can see, I loved my stay at Kauai Beach House!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pierre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#6 of 11 in Kapaa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
2.1 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,244 reviews
8.7 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
1.8 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach House

Property: Kauai Beach House
Address: 1552 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Kapa'a BeachHouse)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Kauai Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach House Hotel Kapaa
Kauai Beach House Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing