We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kauai Photo Tours

Kauai Photo Tours
Ranked #2 of 49 Tours in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We take you to Kauai's most spectacular and beautiful photo locations! See and photograph Kauai's BEST with a local, professional photographer. We'll visit numerous off the beaten path gorgeous settings to see and experience the natural beauty that is Kauai! One amazing photo location right after another the entire time. An incredibly satisfying and rewarding Kauai island experience. We have several different Photo Tours you can choose from (Walking, Hiking, Portraits our Private tours), and digital SLR camera rentals -with polarizers- also available. All of our photo tours are smaller for a more intimate, personal, quality & enjoyable experience. Most tours start between 9:30-10:30 am and return 5.5 hours later, though times can be often adjusted when needed. Designed for beginners, to advanced, to professional photographers and just sightseers alike. Kauai is a true photographer's paradise! Take our tour early-on and have time to revisit the places you enjoyed the most during the rest of your stay. Snacks and drinks Included on all tours! Visit our website for a complete list of information, pricing and photos. (Group tours are $119 per person and Private Tours are $439 and *include* two people and $75 for each additional over two.) Mahalo!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Long Island NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Christian was our guide, very low key, pleasant and knowledgeable. Learned a lot about taking good photos, but more importantly got to see things on Kauai we would have missed.

Helpful?
Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    840
    56
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pearl City, Hawaii
Level Contributor
135 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Kauai Photo Tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

After 3 days of running around in our rental car, we scheduled the Kauai Photo tour. Best day of our visit! Relaxed in a van driven by Levi to 8 or 9 great locations that we would have never found in our travels. Seemed like only minutes between stops and Levi kept us entertained with "talk story" and expert camera advice between stops. Highly recommend to visitors who are serious camera buffs or those just wanting some nice pics from your visit to Kauai.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilsonville, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“South Side Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

As a repeat customer, I wanted to experience the South Side of Kauai and expand my knowledge and use of a new DSLR. Michele organised a great tour with her photography pro, Levi, when other repeat customers showed an interest. We got great instruction at sites east of Poipu, where we hiked along the cliffs and got suggestions for setting up various kinds of shots. I learned to appreciate the effectiveness of a graduated neutral density filter, and that alone was worth the cost of the tour. My favorite location was a cave-like setting looking into the roiling surf which we reached by an easy rock scramble. I never would have found this setting on my own. The bonus on both tours I have done with Kauai Photo Tours is the very friendly approach the staff take. They make customers feel like family, including an ample supply of drinks and snacks during the tour as well as stops at local food venues and picnic-like atmosphere for lunch breaks. I had a great experience and highly recommend it to folks with any level of photography interest. You'll see Kauai in fresh, new way and take home some great photos in the bargain!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copley, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great way to see "off the beaten path" sites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We took the hiking tour just 3 days after we arrived in Kauai. It was a great way to get a feel for the island. We saw some of the most amazing waterfalls and beautiful settings for great photos. Our guide, Christian, was such a nice young man and was so helpful with our photography, as well as sharing the history of the island and insider tips about great places to eat, where to see the best sunset, where the best beaches were, etc. We can't say enough positives about the whole experience. The folks back at the office were great, too. We actually went back there to purchase a few items for our camera.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsNeptune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“An excellent way to see a beautiful island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

This is a great way to see a very beautiful island - including some out-of-the way places that you would not find on your own. It is not just for photography buffs. The office staff, Christine and AJ, were very professional and helpful and the tour leader Matt had lots of interesting information on the plants and history of Kauai, as well as photo tips. This is a memorable experience that is not to be missed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kauai Photo Tours also viewed

 

Been to Kauai Photo Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing