We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We were quite happy staying here.”
other travellers have booked this property
Ohia Kai Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ohia Kai Cottage
Cottage bedroom view 2 Breakfast room view 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Ohia Kai Cottage
Cottage bedroom view 2
Breakfast room view 1
Breakfast room view 2
Ohia Kai bedroom view 3
Cottage view from living room to other rooms
Cottage bedroom view 1
Cottage living room view 3
Cottage Living Room View 2
Cottage Living Room View 1
Breakfast room view 3
cottage bathroom
Back room with storage and refrigerator
Cottage view from rear
View into garden from Ohia Kai Hale
Keep Kauai beautiful - We encourage recycling!
Nearby sunshine market every Wednesday
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kapaa, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
562marcf
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We were quite happy staying here.”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We were able to spend 2 1/2 weeks on Kawai with a side trip to the Big Island. We were at Anini Beach with the grandchildren and then spent the last week in Kappa. We spent a lot of time driving around and found Kappa to be centrally located. The WiFi was 17M down and 1.1M up and a lot cheaper than the $30.00/nite we spent at the Marriott on the Big Island for internet service. Also appreciated was the Air Conditioning, Laundry facilities, Kitchen, and walking access to the town. At $95.00/nite this was a great deal. The Marriott was nice, but I think our stay here was nicer.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walter F
Ogden, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 11 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
6
people found this review helpful

An out of the way location that also works out nicely. The spot the cottage is located is out of the way rendering it quiet. For a group of two to three people this is an ideal setup. Access to the highway is easy. Walking to places to eat or shop is quick and easy. Of course, you have to remember that walking from end to end in Kapaa is only going to take 40 minutes.
But, I recommend this place if you are looking for someplace out side of the norm of the cookie cutter hotels in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 12 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We felt right at home. Fresh fruits were brought to us. Location was perfect and secluded but close to the beach and shopping. Bob and his wife were wonderful hosts. Gave us advise on what to see and do

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close to the beach, spacious, and affordable
Liked least: It was perfect, couldn't have wished for better!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vanessa F
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great rate,clean and quiet.”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We were very pleased with the cottage. Convenient to beach,stores,restaurants. Certainly better than a one room hotel. Quiet dead end street. Met Bob and his dog and Donna was there to greet us on arrival and also brought a beautiful flower arrangement.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cozy cottage
Liked least: only able to use one appliance at a time otherwise trips circuit
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lijia6098...
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful weekend”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
3
people found this review helpful

My family took a weekend (6/14-6/17) in Kauai and stayed at Ohia Kai cottage for 4 days 3 nights. It was a wonderful and unique weekend I had ever experienced.
The cottage was surrounded by a very nice environment, with many beautiful tropical flowers and plants blooming everywhere. The interior of the cottage was decorated in a tropical style using very unique ornaments. The entire cottage was very neat and clean and contained everything you would need when staying for a short vacation. The owners, Bob & Marianne, were also very friendly and gave me all the information that I needed for me to familiarize the area and plan activities during my stay there. I really appreciate all the help that they provided for me.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful tropical flowers and plants
Liked least: the Sofa is kind of old.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2013
Mahalo. We hope to see you again next year. aloha bob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Reviewed 20 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013
6
people found this review helpful

Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing