We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Turtle House at the Coconut Coast”
other travellers have booked this property
Honu Hale Kai
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Honu Hale Kai
Side View from Street Coconut Trees Out Front
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Honu Hale Kai
Side View from Street
Coconut Trees Out Front
Beach out in front of property
Front Entrance
Upstairs Deck view to Beach
Master Bedroom Upstairs
Master Bedroom
Master Bathroom looking into Master Bedroom
Master Bathroom sink
Upstairs Kitchen & Living Area
Fully Equiped Kitchen
Living Area Upstairs
Stairway to Downstairs living area
View of Ocean front Upstairs Deck
Downstairs Living area looking into both bedrooms
Queen Size Bed downstairs
Downstairs Bedroom with 2 Twin Beds
Downstairs Kitchenette
Downstairs Bathroom
Downstairs Living Area
Outside Downstairs Oceanview
Proximity of other Home located on same property
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kapaa, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Judylyn
Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Turtle House at the Coconut Coast”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The house was absolutely beautiful and location was perfect for our family. This house is located near the beach, just behind one house. Can see the ocean and beach from the lanai. The First Floor: Large living room (TV, 2-couches, XL table, Kitchenette (small frig), Sliding Screen Door to the outside, Two Rooms (two-twins & queen), and full bathroom.
The Second Floor: Large Master Bedroom, Large Master Bathroom (jetted tub, walk-in shower, & two sinks), living room (TV, DVDs, Books, Rocking Chair, Couch, Chair, Coffee Tables & Lamps), large Full-kitchen (Large Refrigerator, dishwasher, stove, crockpot, griddle, rice cooker, pots & pans, cookie sheets, utensils, bowls), kitchen table with seven wooden chairs, breakfast island, Stackable washer & dryer (dryer sheets and basic soaps from previous stays), screen door that goes out to the lanai (table and chairs to enjoy), Baby Gate at the top of stairs, Great Internet and Wifi.
Vacation Home Owners: Linda and Tom Summers are wonderful people to rent from. Both are very trustworthy and kind. Tom is famous on the island, locals call him "Uncle Tom" and is a casting movie director. They keep to themselves but will help when needed.
Town of Kapaa: The vacation home is located on a side street behind the main road of Kapaa. There is a bit of traffic at times but quiets down around 9:30. People park on the local street from bike rentals and eateries. Our adult kids really liked walking to Kapaa for shops, eateries, and local events. You can walk to the Ono Family Restaurant or Olympic Cafe or Ono Shaved Ice during the hot part of the day. To save money, we cooked big breakfasts and packed lunches. Our favorite was Bubba's Burgers when too tired to cook.
Whats Next Door? Pono Kai Resort is right up against the property on the westside, there is a lot for private parking. On the eastside is another lovely beach home; however insight is a abandon home. On the northside is a nice home, neighbor is odd but harmless. Southside is a beautiful home and office as well as the ocean.
Tips: It is nice to have beach chairs, cooler, boogie boards, and other beach fun to borrow from the vacation property. We cooked on the grill a couple of times and ate on the picnic table. The landscape is so beautiful with a hammock opportunity. The garbage truck arrives on Thursday mornings, seem to pick up each home over and over. The reviews warned us about this so it was no big deal to us. The beach looks intimidating, however, it was fun boogie boarding with the family. There were a couple of monk seals present. Our kids rented bikes (2 for $10 hour) by the house and had a good time with the greenbelt. A few people walked up and down enjoying the area. Make sure your personal property is secure and door is locked when leaving for the day and at night (common sense). It was nice that we choose the middle of the island to take advantage of Princeville and Poi Pu, actually we put on a lot of miles exploring. You will have a great time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location to Walk
Liked least: Street Noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherilyne...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Clean, charming, very courteous owners, and close to everything we love.”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Our 4th time to Kauai and stayed at Princeville other times. Wish we had found Turtle House sooner! Our #1 pick!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven H
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
“Great location and house for family.”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Kapaa is a good location to venture out to see the whole island. This house was ideal for us with downstairs for the adult kids sleeping and their own sitting area and kitchenette and upstairs with great master bedroom suite, kitchen and family area. Only negative was poor dishwasher that didn't do a good job. Owners are really nice and helpful. House is close to sandy beach, walking path, Kapaa restaurants and shopping. All on foot. We also used the house gas grill and snorkel/boogie board beach gear often.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and amenities
Liked least: dishwasher
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vika K
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home sweet home”
Reviewed 14 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Tom and Linda are full of beautiful Aloha spirit. The house has everything! Even a closet full of beach gear making beach time fun and hassel free. The house sits steps away from the beach and the Pono Market. We loved waking up to watch the sunrise and taking a refreshing dip in the ocean to walking downtown for a refreshing Hawaiian shaved ice, various pupus and souvenior shopping. We hope to return to beautiful Kauai again and definitely stay at Honu Hale Kai. Tom and Linda took great care of us, the house itself is clean and beautiful, and it's situated in the perfect spot. This was our first family trip and the Summer's had a big part in making it wonderfully memorable.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanOC26...
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay tremendously”
Reviewed 8 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Very clean and comfortable. Steps away from the water, the bike path, and some great restaurant choices in Kapa'a. We are early risers, up with the sun and ready to get going on our excursions, and so the morning roosters and Thursday morning trash pick up did not bother us, but anyone who enjoys sleeping late may find this bothersome. Otherwise, it is a very quiet and the location can't be beat for easy access to everything Kaua'i has to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cleanliness of the place
Liked least: Thursday morning trash pick up, but nothing owners can do about that
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed T
Great Falls, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 17 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Exceptionally Clean, comfortable, spacious and well located. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and highly recommend it. Friendly, helpful hosts, easy beach access, and well furnished for cooking/eating in. Private, with some street noise, but running a fan took care of it. Highly recommended, even for just 2 people. Thanks, Linda and Tom!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattlee
Reviewed 5 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing