We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic spot”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
250 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Kapaa, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 250 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Ineedahol...
Melbourne
1 review
“Fantastic spot”
Reviewed 1 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We had a fantastic stay at the Islander on the Beach. The facilities and location are great and I would recommend this place to anyone coming to Kauai. The onsite bar, restaurant and shops were handy for those nights out without having to drive anywhere. Waking up to a beautiful sunrise over the beach was amazing and we even spotted a few turtles out in the water. I will definitely stay here again if I'm in Kauai.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location overlooking the beach
Liked least: Being advised to clean in the instructions and then also paying a hefty cleaning cost.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalieve...
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Affordable but dated.”
Reviewed 22 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Comfortable and affordable. Nice lication right by the beach. Good pool and hot tub. Facility is a bit dated and has a "The Shining" feeling about it. Used to be a grand place but is now a little sad and empty. Would stay there again if trying to save money.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2014
This review was for another property. Wasn't home to deny it as the Islander on the Beach complex has just completed a multi-million dollar renovation from top to bottom, as there are new roofs, lanais, walkways, stairways, all new paint, etc. As I type the pool was just redone and the spa will be filled with water this week, so this particular review is for another property. The reviewer didn't put a name down so am not sure who it is?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlickandT...
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 6 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed in unit 239, and really enjoyed it. The unit is obviously a few years old, but well furnished and clean. The view is great. The grounds of the resort are beautifully kept, the pool and spa and barbeque area are also lovely. The staff we encountered were also really helpful and friendly. Being located close to the coconut market place shopping centre is a bonus, there is a small general store selling all sorts of things food and drink wise. The beach and walking tracks are also a bonus. Would stay here again for sure. We booked through Krellers Getaway and Brad was very helpful and easy to deal with. Really good value for money. During our week stay, we had family and friends staying in 6 other resort complexes along the Kapaa strip, and think this was as one of the better valued resorts.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anonymous...
California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent Ocean Front Location”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We were very happy with the location and amenities of this unit. We chose the 3rd floor because we wanted the best view and felt it would be more secure to leave the patio door open for the ocean breeze and sound. We were ok with the fact there are no elevators. It was nice to have 2 small fridges because we have food allergies and prefer to bring some of our own food. It was nice to have coffee and breakfast on the balcony to start our day. One tip: we wish there was a ceiling fan or counter top fan as the room got a little stuffy for our liking, even with the sliding door open (no through breeze without the front door being open). Kmart only had a few options, very expensive! Walmart only had a few options, better price but turned out to be noisy! Next time I will pack a small office model from home. There is also not much place to hang wet clothes after a day of swimming. But having laundry facilities on site was very nice. The front desk will give you change and sell laundry soap. The beach was not the best for swimming, especially for inexperienced swimmers, but had many shade trees and was nice for lounging.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: ocean front location
Liked least: not a swimming friendly beach
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2014
Appreciate you leaving a review! Please note, many of our other units have ceiling fans, which are hard to find at our complex. Please ask us if this is important. Also, this particular unit (#351) may be getting one installed soon. Our Board is also looking into uniform drying racks so that we can purchase. Because it is a resort, we aren't able to buy any rack we want to and put out on lanai. So, those will be coming as well, but Board is currently in the process of approving one so that we can purchase.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George M
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Paradise at Kreller's Getaway #320”
Reviewed 24 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This was our second trip to the Island of Kauai and our second time at the Islander on the Beach. This time we booked through Kreller's Getaway instead of through the hotel itself (save some money!). The Krellers are excellent hosts. We stayed in room 320 which has a good ocean view. It is on the backside of the complex facing a garden area, so it is less noisy and more private. You are steps away from the beach and there are usually lounge chairs available for your use. You have access to all the amenities that the hotel guests have with the exception of the DVD kiosk, but you don't have to pay the hotel's daily fee. However, there are Redbox kiosks available - we used the one at Safeway. No Wi-Fi in this room, but have Ethernet available (tip: check in the nightstand for the yellow cable and it hooks in the back of the TV cable box.) At the time of our stay, there was a cooler, body-board, umbrella, and float noodle available for use by currant tenants. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to make it back again. Thanks Krellers!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Centrally located on the island and close beach access.
Liked least: Parking can be an issue but manageable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2014
Glad you had a nice time! Please know if you are staying in #320, it has ethernet cord, but I can also provide you a WiFi code as well. Just ask and will send it to you! Again, appreciate the review and look forward to accommodating again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockley, Texas
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: not a thing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Helena L
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We found everything we need and more”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at #319. The unit was small, like a hotel room, but it has everything we need. The Krellers' units are actually inside a hotel so they have extra facilities, like pools, beaches, parking, wifi and a bunch of good restaurants. Unit was extra clean and very well maintained.Location is quite convenient as well. We found safeway, longs' drugs, gas stations and good restaurants all within 8 mins of drive.

Regarding the service, Brad was quite helpful just as other reviews mentioned. Also the units reflect that they know exactly what a traveller need. All in all, I can recommend this place to all kinds of friends and family without worrying about whether they will have a good experience or not. It is just that good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: air conditioner
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing