We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OMG!!”
Review of Tropical Dreams

Tropical Dreams
Ranked #2 of 9 Dessert in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tropical Dreams Ice Cream offers over 150 flavors of super premium ice cream, vegan ice cream, gelato and sorbet all handmade on the big island. Super premium means it's handmade with 18% butterfat, adding a rich and creamy texture you can taste. All Hawaiian ingredients are grown on environmentally friendly farms and 100% of our cream produced by Big Island dairies. The result....a true Hawaiian gourmet ice cream that is dense and very rich tasting with flavors you only dream about
Denver
Level Contributor
181 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“OMG!!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

If you're a fan of super premium ice cream, this is the scoop shop at the end of the rainbow. Fantastic flavors include fresh tropical fruit combinations and all the usual ones too. If they have it that day, try the coconut banana. Yum! Just beware, this super premium ice cream comes with a super premium price - nearly $5 a scoop! And no half-scoops allowed, so you're obligated to two scoops if you want two flavors. But it's so rich and heavy that two scoops the other day nearly killed me. It's better, and safer, to share single scoops with a friend who gets a different flavor. Whatever you decide to do, just forget the price and enjoy it!

Helpful?
1 Thank coloradojeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    40
    17
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
374 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“YUUUM!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The 4 of us tried a variety of flavors. All fresh, all great Yes it's expensive but you'll get flavors here you won't find elsewhere. Also, this is rich ice cream so only get 2 scoops if you're really, really hungry. The salted caramel was to die for. The fruit flavors were delish! Look for this place near the Safeway. You won't see it from the street. You'll be glad you found it, though.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lsc_Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Be ready for sticker shock”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The reviews are correct in saying that this is fabulous ice cream and the owner is super nice but be warned, For 4 single scoop cones it cost us nearly $25.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream, Period.”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My wife and I first had the opportunity to taste Tropical Dreams ice cream when we honeymooned in Kauai, back in 2009. At that time the parlor/video rental was kind of out of the way, on a road to the Kilauea Lighthouse and we discovered it a day before we left the island. There was scant opportunity for seconds that time around. Even having just tried it once, the ice cream left a lasting impression. So, early last month, when my family and I were fortunate to revisit Kauai again, I was excited to reacquaint myself! The new location is much more convenient, off Kuhio Hwy in a plaza with a Safeway grocery store. The location (and our determination) made it possible for us to stop by four of the seven evenings we had on the island. The ice cream and gelato here has the addiction potential of any Level 1 Substance, and I got my entire family hooked. The menu has diversified a bit, and we tried several different combinations. All of the flavors were a hit. My personal favorite was the toasted coconut topped with chocolate gelato. My wife and sister swore by the mango and lychee flavors. My brother-in-law fell in love with their strawberry cheesecake. Point being, everything was fantastic. Dan, and his wife, are as charming as ever and we will miss them and their potent treats.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tai786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream on the Island or Anywhere!”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is the best Ice cream I have ever had. It is a bran new facility and the owner was working it. Rumor has it Oprah Winfrey orders her Ice cream from this Chain and has it sent to Chicago. One taste and you will know why!!! It doesn't get any better than this! They need to invent a new word for this Ice Cream because it is truly a dream!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Molly3259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tropical Dreams also viewed

 

Been to Tropical Dreams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing