We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ice cream heaven!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropical Dreams

Tropical Dreams
Ranked #2 of 9 Dessert in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tropical Dreams Ice Cream offers over 150 flavors of super premium ice cream, vegan ice cream, gelato and sorbet all handmade on the big island. Super premium means it's handmade with 18% butterfat, adding a rich and creamy texture you can taste. All Hawaiian ingredients are grown on environmentally friendly farms and 100% of our cream produced by Big Island dairies. The result....a true Hawaiian gourmet ice cream that is dense and very rich tasting with flavors you only dream about
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Ice cream heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stop. Do not pass this place up! The owner's enthusiasm is only surpassed by the quality of the ice cream. Ginger cream? Excellent. Lychee mango? Excellent. Vanilla malt. Excellent. Do you see a trend? I will be back for breakfast...

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    37
    16
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream in Kauai!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stopped at little ice cream place in a small center called Tropical Dreams Hawaiian gourmet Ice Cream. It was delightful! Just what we were looking for: Specialty Gourmet Ice Cream. I had a cherry ice cream with chocolate chips which was rich, creamy and absolutely delicious. The owner was there and we had a nice chat with him. I would recommend this place for wonderful ice cream!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Looking for ice cream?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We had a hard time finding many ice cream places, this one is tucked back in the Safeway shopping center in Kapaa. I got a kick out of the owner and the ice cream was quite yummy.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank tlhahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly, delicious place to get ice cream!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

After a long bike ride we were looking for somewhere to get some ice cream. We found this place on Google and stopped in. We were warmly greeted by the owner, who gave us an in-depth background on his establishment (this is one of nine). I guess the woman that makes his ice cream is one of the top in the world according to him. I would agree with him on that. The ice cream (which he keeps covered -- he asked us if we would keep our ice cream in the freezer uncovered...um no!) It was creamy, rich, and fresh. My husband had the mango cream, and the owner informed us that the mango was picked off of the tree only 72 hours before. They grow all of the ingredients for their ice cream, including the chocolate! He also treated us to a small scoop of coconut on each of our single scoops at no charge, just because he wanted us to try the coconut flavor. Thanks so much for being so friendly to us! We appreciate it, and we really liked the ice cream!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to the reviews.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

After reading the reviews for this place, I was expecting great. It was just a run of the mill ice cream parlor. The owner was VERY chatty. He also had to tell us the whole food network story- it was a little much.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank AMalakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tropical Dreams also viewed

 

Been to Tropical Dreams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing