We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, and great value for Kauai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plantation Hale Suites
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Montana
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Comfortable, and great value for Kauai”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed in a remodeled unit. The kitchen cupboards were not replaced as part of the remodel, but they received a new coat of paint. The shower was not replaced either. It was tired, but clean. The rest of the unit was fully remodeled, and was great. In particular, the living room furniture and dining room chairs were very comfortable.

We cooked nearly all of our meals at the unit, and we found the kitchen to be sufficient, and well enough stocked for basic cooking (it even had a toaster and blender). The bbqs on the grounds were also in good working order and convenient.

The hotel is in a convenient location. It is not on the beach, but it is a 100 yard walk through a vacant lot to get to the beach. Units on the 2nd floor should have a better view of the ocean than the ground floor units. Also, units perpendicular to the ocean on the 2nd floor should have a view of the ocean from the lanai.

The beach is a beautiful, fine sandy beach (great for beach walking). We spent lots of time walking the beach and it was nearly deserted every time. There are caution signs posted warning of currents etc. so we did not swim near the beach, but down the beach to the right is a small bay with a protected cove where we found swimming to be fine. There is also a trail on the top side of the beach the winds along the beach and through the various beach-side resorts.

The location of the hotel is convenient. It is right next to Coconut Marketplace (although Coconut Marketplace was closed the week we were there, reopening right after we left). There are also two grocery stores (Foodland and Safeway) just down the street; walking distance if needed. The hotel gave us a Foodland discount card when we checked in. Groceries are expensive at both stores, but that is true for Hawaii in general.

Our unit had two beds, both full size. They were comfortable, but if you need more room, we recommend requesting queen or king bed(s). The sofa in the living room was a pull-out, but we did not use it.

The staff were all friendly and accommodating, and the unit was clean and comfortable. It's not a fancy place, but the location is great and it was a great experience.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean on the 2nd floor will have a better ocean view than rooms on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xantippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric N, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Aloha xantippy,

I was thrilled to read all of your good comments about the property from the centralized location, fully stocked kitchens, and remodelled rooms. I was pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations.

Thanks again for posting a great comment about the Plantation hale Suites. Look forward to seeing you the next time you are on the beautiful island of Kauai. It is nice to receive such a good rating and comments from a Senior Contributor. Mahalo

Aloha!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    305
    90
    47
    15
See reviews for
219
334
38
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Our 3rd stay here and continued to meet our expectations. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful with all of our needs. We are a family of 4 with two little kids and we were able to request a crib for the youngest which worked out perfectly. We had one of the renovated suites and it was very nice. We will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: If travelling with little ones, we found a ground floor room was much better having stayed in 2nd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric N, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Aloha Steve M,

Welcome back, I see you have stayed here 3 times already. Its nice to hear that the suite you stayed in was very comfortable for your whole family. I was glad to hear that the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, I will share the postive feed back to the staff.

Thanks again for the great review. Look forward to seeing you when you return for the 4th time to Plantation Hale Suites...

Mahalo...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Plantation Hale is an excellent choice for people on a budget. I stayed in one of the older suites (there are newly renovated suites available at a higher rate) and was happy with the room. Yes, there was a musty smell upon arrival, but the AC took care of that quickly.

The suite has a separate bedroom and a full living area with a couch and dining room table. There is a kitchen with a stove, microwave and full-size refridgerator. You can save money buying groceries at the nearby Foodland or Safeway, instead of dining out all of the time.

This is not a full-service resort: there's no room service, no restaurant on site, and the nearby Coconut Plantation Marketplace is a sadly-neglected shopping center with a handful of stores and 2-3 places to eat. However, it is a quick trip to Kapaa or Lihue, with many dining and shopping choices available nearby.

The hotel staff were all very friendly, there was very little noise from other guests or the pool near our building, and overall I was very happy with this visit. I would definitely stay at Plantation Hale again.

Room Tip: Indicate any special needs when making your reservation, they will honor them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann_HI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric N, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Aloha Ann_HI,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Plantation Hale Suites. I will share the postive comments with the staff.

Thankyou for posting a good review. I look forward to seeing you the next time you are on the Garden Island.

Mahalo...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearl City, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This has been our 5th stay at the Planation Hale Suites. The staff, from the registration desk to the housekeeping department has always been friendly and responsive. The rooms are suites with fully loaded kitchen appliances and utensils. There are televisions in the bedroom and living room. Parking has never been an issue with space always available near your room. The overall value is very difficult to beat considering location, room cost and amenities. We will definitely be returning on our next trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric N, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Aloha Keith M,

Wow, welcome back... I am glad to see you have stayed at Plantation 5 times already. I am always pleased to hear all the good comments about the staff. I am glad you enjoyed the fully stocked kitchen, convinient parking, separate living room and bedroom.

Thankyou for posting a good review. Look forward to seeing you the next time you are on the Garden Island.

Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Our first time in Hawaii, and we had an Amazon local deal so didn't have a choice of hotel, but could not have picked a better place. Friendly people, check in/out simple and quick, easy access to the beach and town. The room was always clean and had everything we needed, including wifi. 5 of us stayed and it was great!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingrid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric N, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Aloha Ingrid S,

I am happy to hear you had a great time here at Plantation Hale Suites. I will share with the staff all the good comments you shared about the property; easy access to the beach, room was always clean, and friendlt staff. I was thrilled to hear that you couldn't have picked a better plcae for your first time to Hawaii.

Thank you for posting such a good review. Look forward to seeing you the next time you are on the Garden Island. It is nice to receive such a good rating and comments from a Senior Reviewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alsip, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This was our second time staying here and we wouldn't want to stay any place else. Every thing is clean and comfortable .The kitchen has everything you need if want to cook. The parking is never an issue which at some places you can't say that. The location is great because you can walk to restaurants and stores Last but not least the staff is the best. Love it.

Room Tip: Take garden or ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ken l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric N, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Aloha Ken I,

Let me start off by saying welcome back to Plantation Hale Suites. I am thrilled to hear that you loved your stay here for the second time. I am glad to hear that the room was clean and comfortable, kitchen was fully stocked, location was great, and the staff was the best. I will definitely share your comments with the staff.

Thanks again for posting a great review about the Plantation hale Suites. Look forward to seeing you the next time you are on the beautiful island of Kauai.

Mahalo....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Our first time on Kauai and Plantation Hale lived up to the spirit of Aloha! Check in was a breeze as we prepaid through Expedia. We had a very nice 1 bedroom suite with all the necessities of home. The kitchen was fully stocked with appliances, dishes, pots and pans, utensils, dish soap, etc. Our beds were clean and comfortable and the bathroom was clean and well stocked with toiletries and towels! Plantation Hale's location was so convenient! First off, they are right across the field from an amazingly beautiful beach you will want to explore! You can walk to the Coconut Marketplace or drive the eastern side of the island. We had an active vacation and the concierge, Noli, set us up with tickets for ziplining, kayaking and atving which were all on the same side of the island. Overall, we were quite pleased and will definitely stay again! Mahalo Plantation Hale!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric N, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Aloha Tammy D,

I am glad to hear you had a great time at the Plantation Hale Suites. You are correct, the property is centralized on Kauai and is located next to the Marketplace which has an array of shops and dining. I am glad you enjoyed staying in our one bedroom suites which has a separate bedroom and living room with a fully stocked kitchen. I will share with the staff the great comments about their hospitality and the cleanliness of your rooms while you were here.

I look forward to meeting with you on your next trip to Kauai. Thanks again for posting a great review for the Plantation Hale Suites.

Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.3 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.3 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
3.3 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
15.1 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Hale Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Hale Suites

Property: Plantation Hale Suites
Address: 525 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1496
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Hale Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation Hale Suites is located in the heart of Kauai on the scenic Royal Coconut Coast and steps away from Waipouli Beach. Enjoy spacious one bedroom suite accommodations (738 sq ft) with the finest amenities such as full kitchens and private lanais. Suites sleep up to six people. High speed Wi Fi,Flat Screen LCD TV's with Cable (60 preimum channels)Blu-Ray DVD, Movie library,350 DVD's. Planation Hale has three outdoor pools,(4)picnic and BBQ areas, whirlpool spas, Shuffle Board. The resort offers several restaurants, full Concierge and Activities Desk, mini market, ATM, and a SPA. Located nearby, Golf, Tennis, Horseback Riding, Wailua River and Kayaking,Opaeka'a Falls, Waimea Canyon, Hiking Trails. Kauai's best location and value. great for a romantic getaway, or a family vacation. Our dedicated staff welcomes you with the true Aloha spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plantation Hale Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hale Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Kapaa Best Western
Plantation Hale Suites Kauai, Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing