We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Esprit De Corps Riding Academy Ride. Kauai, Hawaii May 22, 2012”

Esprit De Corps Riding Academy
Ranked #38 of 49 Outdoor Activities in Kapaa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Esprit De Corps Riding Academy offers the complete horses experience. Beginners through advanced riders learn about Kauai, horses, and themselves while enjoying the beauty of Kauai. Small group Eco-tour trail rides, lessons in a covered arena, and weddings on horseback.
Reviewed 26 May 2012

The Esprit De Corps Riding Academy Ride. Kauai, Hawaii May 22, 2012
Our guide Jamie and her friend Chris were very friendly and created a great ride for Jessica and myself. We booked the all day ride or 8 Hours Ride, and halfway into the ride
Chris had lunch ready for us. The horses were great (educated). Great horse for trail riding especially for this ride! I recommend the rider be educated also for THIS particular ride.
Definitely not for the beginners!
You will enjoyed the most SPECTACULAR and AWESOME views on this RIDE!!!
Defiantly not for the squeamish!
The fee I paid was well within reason and my TIP was very appreciative and thankful. Mahalo and Aloha Dale, Jamie and Chris

1  Thank James L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

25 - 29 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

My wife is an experienced rider but it had been a long time since I'd been on but we both wanted an experience where you aren't lined up on lifeless horses on rails that is unfortunately all to common. This is a fantastic ride. We did the 6 hour WOW ride and it was amazing. Great views, a knowledgeable and passionate guide who really knew horses and a lot about the area and lore. It exceeded our expectations all around. One bit of warning the facilities are rustic so if you are a priss about outhouses or primitive settings you might be turned off up front but if you want a great riding experience in a smaller group (for us it was just the 2 of us but max is 5) This is the tour to take. A++

4  Thank SEinOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

From the first conversation on until the time we paid our bills there was a continuous reminder about tipping and how much we should tip. that was a MEGA downturn. Its simply bad style to do that. people are old enough to know when and how to tip.
Pushing it leads to people turning away from something that would be otherwise a very nice experience.

Aside of that issue it was a great trip. Very relaxed. very nice views, relaxed horses 9only one of them had a bit of an issue that day, but thats like with people, we are also in different shapes....
Great guide very nice and helpful.

Without the tipping issue it would have been a 5 star, but the constant reminders by were a big downturn and a major issue for us. btw, not the guide pressed, the owner did.

5  Thank manyroadsuntraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ainapono, Owner at Esprit De Corps Riding Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Aloha
We mention when confirming our prices that tax and tips are additional, with tips appreciated but not required. Some folks from outside the U.S. are not aware of our customs. Like most service industries in America, our guides rely on tips.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My cousin and I went on the Fast Half Ride and it was AMAZING! I'm 16 and she's 12. We are both very experiences riders and wanted a place where we could trot and canter. To start, the guide, Lisa, was super friendly and since the place isn't huge it had more of a homey feel to it. The horses are well taken care of and very well-behaved. During our ride Lisa told us about Hawaiian legends about various mountains and valleys. The Fast part was the best, since we could gallop on the 'racetrack' and up some pathways. Most places put you on slow, unwilling horses but the ones here love their jobs.The horses enjoyed every bit of it as much as we did. We would definitely go there again!

1  Thank Caitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2012

If you are a trail rider then this is the place to go. There are rides in the mountains from 2 hours to all day. They really tried to match up horse and rider based on riding ability. They gave a short riding lesson to test skill. Groups with more advanced skill levels were allowed to move at a faster pace than a walk so it was more like a true trail ride. The guide was super nice and knowledgeable about horses and Kauai. The scenery in the mountains was spectacular. This will be a regular part of my vacation each time I visit Kauai.

4  Thank Kim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Esprit De Corps Riding Academy also viewed

 

Been to Esprit De Corps Riding Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing