We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meli Meli was a great cottage”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of 17 Palms Kauai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
17 Palms Kauai
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Meli Meli was a great cottage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

The cottage was perfectly equipped for us to enjoy Everything the island had to offer. The beds were very comfortable and the cottage was decorated very tastefully. Location was ideal for us to easily access all parts of the island. The owners were always helpful and available.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatS27_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    31
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
64
189
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

This place was exactly what we hoped for! Super cute, super clean, great location, well-priced and great customer service. We would absolutely recommend it. Such a better way to go than a hotel. Wish we could have stayed longer. Jeff and Ross went out of their way to make sure the place was immaculate and that we had everything we needed. We'll be back for sure. Thanks again! Chris & Nicole

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgetto23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

The owners were very nice and helpful. Sweet spot walking distance to the beach! Great location close to whatever you may need. It was easy to find the grocery stores, snorkel shops, fish stores, shopping, & Bakery. We had our own yoga teacher come visit in the little yard amongst the palms, BBQ was perfect for our late night dinners after a day of exercise. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joni33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed in both cottages on the property and enjoyed them both! We were travelling with our 4 mos old daughter and some family. The property was beautiful and so well kept. The deck at Hali Iki was great and the high ceilings and fans of Meli Meli gave it a nice lofty feel. Both cottages were very well equipped with portable play pens, beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards, drying racks...you name it, they had it. Great location also. We went north, south, west multiple times. Also enjoyed Mema Thai, Korean BBQ and the Mexican restaurants nearby and having several grocery stores and beach at walking distance. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKCinYK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Charming, meticulously clean, lovely, comfortable cottage with all the amenities of home. Remarkable attention to detail without being overdone. Allows a guest to feel immediately at home. Short drive from main airport at Lihue. Within walking distance of a variety of restaurants, easy drive to grocery stores, and positioned mid island for good access to Na Pali coast and Waimea canyon. If you love sunshine, heat, and the beach, this place is better than the best!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyhiker10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metchosin, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

First you are on Kauai; what more could you ask? And then there is this gorgeous little place, right near shopping, beaches, restaurants. And it's a private cottage, all your own. And it is beautifully appointed. And if you need anything, the owners (off site) are accessible and hugely helpful. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newleaph-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This wonderful cottage strikes a perfect balance between classy beach chic and relaxed surf shack. If you're looking for a step up from funky, impersonal (but cheap) rentals, without going overboard on prices, and if you value a place that has elegance and an eye for design as well as comfort, this is the place.
The mattress is soooo comfortable (I would seriously buy one for my home!), the home comes with all the amenities you need (blender, oven, microwave, hair dryer, A/C in the bedroom, etc), the location was just perfect for exploring the whole island, and Jeff and Ross provide a ton of information (plus a well-loved copy of the Ultimate Kauai Guidebook to use while there). One thing to note: the doors between the living room and bedroom, as well as the bathroom door, are quite thin (slatted doors, basically), so sound travels through them easily, FYI. Highly recommended rental.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.2 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.1 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
3.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.9 mi away
Waipouli Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 17 Palms Kauai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 17 Palms Kauai

Property: 17 Palms Kauai
Address: 414 Wailua Kai St, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1457
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Palms Kauai is comprised of two Kauai vacation cottages in a garden setting chosen by Conde Nast Traveller Mag. As "one of the 5 perfect places to stay on Kauai" - a private oasis adjacent to Wailua Bay, one of Kauai's most popular beaches (made famous in Elvis' Blue Hawaii). Everything you need during your Kauai vacation is a short walk, located across the street from the beach path and one block from tons of restaurants and shops, rentals, etc. These are fully equipped, free-standing homes with complete amenities including complete kitchens, laundry, dishwasher, sharp knives!, Wi-Fi, and many other niceties, a true home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your 17 Palms Kauai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Palms Kauai Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing