We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Crash Pad”
Review of 17 Palms Kauai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
17 Palms Kauai
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
1 review
“Perfect Crash Pad”
Reviewed 27 March 2010

We wanted to visit Maui to experience something new. No anniversary, honeymoon, birthday or other special occasion was necessary. The 17 Palms complex, and Meli Meli in particular were much to our liking. Don't miss the Wednesday farmer's market, or the wonderful dining opportunities in the immediate vicinity and to the north. And there was the splendid helicopter ride. Thank you, Jeff and Ross, for your hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BradSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    31
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
65
191
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2010

This is the second time we have stayed as a family at 17 Palms. The cottage is great and has everything you need from boogie boards to beach mats to books to a nicely stocked kitchen and outside BBQ. Internet access is a bonus for people who are attached to their iPhones. The location is perfect for heading up to the lush green side of the island or south to the hot, desert side. Its also close to Kapaa with its funky shops and good restaurants. And, all you have to do is duck through the garden gate, follow a little path and you're at the ocean. Our 12 year old daughter was reading on the beach close to the cottage and looked up to see an endangered baby monk seal resting at her feet. How cool is that? I love the privacy, comfort, and "realness" of this cottage. Jeff and Ross (the owners) make staying here fun.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albertatony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2010

We stayed in Hale Iki which is the smaller of the two cottages. It matched the website pictures perfectly. The grounds are lovely and the cottage itself is exactly what you expect it to be from the descriptions Ross and Jeff offer. When they say just bring your clothes, they mean it. It was stocked with everything I could have needed. We cooked several meals while we were there and I would open a cabinet to see if they had something and of course it was right there. I opened a closet to see if they had an item and it was there. This cottage is so thoughtfully planned, you would think they were reading your mind--down to the last detail.

The location is great--halfway to Hanalei and halfway to Poipu. You are walking distance to several good restaurants and a small market. The beach is just across the road and down a path. The location could not be more convenient. I will say the noise from the area resorts getting their garbage dumped each morning was a little loud but it was brief. The comfort of the bed lulled me right back to sleep to wake later with the sounds of birds. They had an air conditioner in the cottage but we never used it as the trade winds were perfect.

We were woken up by sirens going off at 6 am on our last day. We jumped out of bed and turned on the tv to be informed of a tsunami warning that was to be expected 5 hours later. Jeff called us a little later to let us know that he had contacted the local emergency agency and wanted to make sure we knew what to do and where to go. We were supposed to check out that day at 10 am and the tsunami was expected at almost noon. They had no reason to worry about what we were doing since we were to already be gone, but they were concerned and it was just another reason we plan to return to 17 Palms.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staabolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
planet earth
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Ross and Jeff have developed this neat little compound, and have done a great job. I stayed in the two bedroom cottage called Meli Meli. If you are like me and don't take to high rise hotels you are going to love this place. SUPER CLEAN-- OK so you don't have a ocean view-- walk out of the compound and down a path, bingo you are at the beach- (take a right when you reach the beach and walk till you hit a neat little cove) I had good snorkeling there-- watch the wave action though if you are inexperienced. WHY would you stay in a hotel-??? Great kitchen--The bedroom I slept in has this beautiful tree out the back window- leave the windows open and feel the trade winds blow through-- way cool

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bccsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Meli Meli is a peaceful, open feeling space. The weight of the Mainland left me right away. We always felt like we were coming home at the end of the day. I would chose this cottage over a hotel again and again.
TV upgrade would be good. (Husband)

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CtPlumeria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2010

My friend and I had a perfect stay at 17 Palsm. The cottage was simply elegant and very comfortable. And the location was ideal. Right in the heart of things, but tucked away for privacy and quiet. I've already booked next years trip and can't wait to go back. This will be a yearly trip!

Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pcd99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D.C.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2009

My husband and I spent one week in the Meli Meli cottage. We found the cottage to be absolutely spotless and beautifully appointed. Our main goal in visiting Kauai was to thoroughly explore the island - specifically the beaches (secret beach & hideaways being our favorites). Thanks to the location of 17 Palms we were easily able to visit all sides of the island.

While the cottage is within walking distance of a beach - we only visited it once to watch the sunrise. We spent most of our time on the INCREDIBLE beaches to the north and south.

It is also important to note the generous hospitality of Jeff and Ross. They were very eager to provide us with any information we needed. If you are seeking very comfortable & centrally located accomodations - this might be the spot for you. :)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TravlBugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.2 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
3.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
767 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
0.9 mi away
Waipouli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 17 Palms Kauai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 17 Palms Kauai

Property: 17 Palms Kauai
Address: 414 Wailua Kai St, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1457
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Palms Kauai is comprised of two Kauai vacation cottages in a garden setting chosen by Conde Nast Traveller Mag. As "one of the 5 perfect places to stay on Kauai" - a private oasis adjacent to Wailua Bay, one of Kauai's most popular beaches (made famous in Elvis' Blue Hawaii). Everything you need during your Kauai vacation is a short walk, located across the street from the beach path and one block from tons of restaurants and shops, rentals, live music, coffee roaster, farmer's market, etc. These are fully equipped, free-standing homes with complete amenities including complete kitchens, laundry, dishwasher, sharp knives!, Wi-Fi, and many other niceties, a true home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your 17 Palms Kauai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Palms Kauai Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing