We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kountry Kitchen

Kountry Kitchen
Ranked #15 of 124 Restaurants in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Poipu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

The food and service was excellent. The pancakes are so big, my daughters and wife had them for leftover breakfast the next day. The ham and cheese omelette was huge, no need for lunch. We go there for breakfast every time we visit Kauai. We love this place! Best breakfast on Kauai.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    581
    373
    117
    37
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have been coming here for years and it stays the same. Good food and good service. Pancakes are HUGE. Can be crowded at peak hours.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Boss_Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
128 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Loved the decor and service. Food was average.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I was looking for a old fashioned hole in the wall serving tasty home cooking. Kountry Kitchen, with it's rooster decor had that feel, and with a long line of customers awaiting a table, looked promising. Although there were over 20 persons waiting for a table, the turnover was quick. We waited perhaps 15 minutes. The cashier and servers were all very friendly and efficient. I was, however, a bit disappointed in the food. I opted for a half veggie eggs benedict with mushrooms, tomatoes, and spinach while my friend had an omelet. My entire dish was bland, the sauce tasteless. The omelet was quite flat and unappetizing in appearance. I also had the cornbread which was very dry and I couldn't eat more than a bite. Many tables nearby had ordered pancakes, which were huge and appeared to be a house favorite. While the food was edible, it was pricey and looked better than it tasted. Perhaps a less extensive menu with better focus on taste?

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummiest breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We had breakfast here after a helicopter tour with Sunshine Tours (which I would also highly recommend). It's right on the road across from the beach and if you're looking for a local diner with no fuss and big portions this is it. The pancakes are literally the size of a plate, even covering the edges with coconut flakes, macadamia, banana or chocolate chips. Food was delic and staff pleasant.

Helpful?
1 Thank stephmivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackinaw City, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Crowded and so-so food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Don't try to go before nine unless you want to wait at least 1/2 hour. Pankakes and french toast are the better choices. As noted in a previous review, the cheese is the processed kind and does not add to the flavor one bit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jelemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kountry Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing