We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“made our honeymoon feel like home”
Review of Kauai Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kapaa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kauai Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Kapaa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“made our honeymoon feel like home”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Let's start at the beginning, due to an error on my part, our flight arrived a day before we were scheduled to check in. We contacted Mike and he explained that our suite was booked and would not be opened until our actual reservation date. He calmed our nerves and got right on the phone. He called another nearby hotel and got us a room for that night at a local rate. We are SO grateful for him! He was happy to help.

The following day, we arrived back at the Kauai Country Inn and were finally able to check into the Plumeria suite. We instantly felt at home. The suite is clean, well furnished, comfortable and fully stocked of toiletries, towels, kitchen supplies and lots of interesting books. The suite is very spacious, complete with full size refrigerator, lots of seating and a huge deck with more seating outside.They also supply coolers, beach towels, beach chairs and boogie boards. Perfectly quiet and serene location. Breakfast provided each morning was a nice touch. We did a couple loads of laundry while we were there, which was a great convenience.

Hurricane Sandy had other plans for us, not allowing us to land back home in Boston for an extra 3 nights, we were forced to make additional plans. We spoke to Jeff and he confirmed with Martina that no one was reserved for our suite for 3 more nights. What a relief! We were able to stay put until we could fly out.

We were terribly sad to leave this amazing paradise. Mike, Martina and Jeff made our stay so comfortable. We thank Jeff for great conversation, tips and local secrets. We cannot wait to come back to Kauai and stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerriheffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    34
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
157
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Kauai Country Inn had all we needed and more. One example is the grill, where we cooked ourselves a delicious meal. We purchased most of the food from the local farmers market. It was relaxing after a long day out to make our simple meal and be "at home". The other was the computer, which I didn't think I would use but was happy to be able to upload some photos so family could see the beauty of Hawaii that we were experiencing. A couple more small but nice conveniences were the travel mug for coffee, the kitchen supplies and the cooler. They thought of everything!

 Very beautifully located in the rain forest, yet  convenient to drive to any part of the island. We especially enjoyed the local neighborhood hike to the top of Sleeping Giant, as recommended by Jeff. Jeff was a great host to us and we appreciated his time and attention. Mahalo for a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g63fjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2012

From the moment we walked in, we knew the accommodations in the Yellow Ginger Suite were going to be great. Self check-in was a breeze. An envelope at the front door contained a code which operated the door to the Inn, our suite door and the safe in the room. The lobby was cozily decorated, welcoming and well-lit. Two well-spaced units (Green Rose and Yellow Ginger) share the main floor. Stairs lead down to two other units (Plumeria and Orchid) which have walkout access to the back and side yards. A small sitting area downstairs has a telephone with free outgoing calls capability.
First impressions of the suite.....extremely clean, comfortable and well thought out. All 4 ceiling fans were on, which kept the suite cool for our arrival. Beautiful wooden floors, nice area carpets, 6 windows, high ceilings in all 4 rooms - all providing lots of light and ventilation, . The living/sitting room is just as pictured on the website. A fairly comfortable couch faces a nice large flatscreen TV complete with premium cable (including HBO) and a well cataloged DVD movie collection. In case you did not bring any reading material, the bookshelves provide a nice collection of fiction, non-fiction and tourist books as well as professionally produced albums on 'how everything works in the Inn'. The daybed area has a roll-out for 2 (we did not try it), three reading chairs and a modern flat-screen apple computer with full instructions. Wireless internet is also accessible if you brought your own device (speed was a bit sluggish at times, but certainly adequate for a vacation!).
Just outside the kitchenette there is a small dining table and chairs for 2. Two extra stools are provided, but it would be tight. The small galley kitchen area is equipped with fridge, microwave, coffee pot/coffee, kettle, blender, toaster, George Forman grill, rice cooker. Combine this with a well lit shared gas bbq area outside and you can be quite self sufficient if you want. Tip: Ice making in the small fridge is a challenge. If you like lots of ice, buy some and store it on the very small freezer shelf or in the small cooler which is provided.
The bathroom is airy, spacious and well stocked with soap, shampoos, towels etc. Water pressure and temperature is quite adequate for a nice shower or bath. Very clean!
The bedroom has a comfortable king sized bed, overhead fan, large clothes closet and a small wall mounted a/c which can be used if it is hot or humid. I would describe the bed as medium-soft firmness with a plush mattress cover under the sheet. A good sleep.
The Ginger suite does not have an outdoor sitting area, but the large widows with lots of louvered screens, high ceilings and ceiling fans throughout make it very pleasant in morning or evening. The windows overlook the treetops of Lychee trees, providing some entertaining bird watching.

Staying at the KCI seemed to provide perfect blend of advantages. You get a roomy suite with room to move around. Although you are only 10 min or so from Kapaa, the foothills location provided a picturesque and quiet environment. (In our opinion, Kapaa was the best location on the island for mid-range eateries, general shopping and food shopping. It is also the best starting mid-point for trips to the north and south). We spent some time at several of the high-end resorts on the island and although very nice, they were quite busy and we always felt better when we returned 'home' to KCI.

Jeff (groundskeeper/breakfast) and Trish (housekeeping/breakfast) were very helpful and provided everything we needed. As previously mentioned, they keep the grounds and inside in tip top shape. Breakfast consisted of tea, coffee, bagels, muffins, assorted pastries and instant oatmeal (did not try it). A toaster and toaster oven were provided to heat things up. If you asked, you could get yoghurt, cream cheese and a super-delicious all natural strawberry jam. Keep juice and peanut butter in your room if you want some. My personal favourite was a toasted all-grain bagel with cream cheese and strawberry jam.......delicious!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
276 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I've worked in the hospitality industry for more than 20 years, so when my wife and I travel for pleasure we seek out distinctive, "fun" places with high value and great quality. The Kauai Country Inn meets the test.

We stayed in the Yellow Ginger Suite, 1,000-square-feet of good taste and comfort. It included a breakfast bar, living room, computer room, bed room, bathroom and fonton area for extra guests if one wanted them. High ceilings with room air conditioner in the bedroom - otherwise open to the tradewinds. Located in just-barely Kapaa (east center of the island), it was about a 10 minute drive into town or to the highway. The Kauai Country Inn really is in the country (or what's left of it on the island), so it's quiet all the time and really dark at night.

From the Inn, there is decent access to everything on the island (we put 726 miles on our rental car in one week on an island with one significant road!). I wish we had paid a little more and gotten a suite with a balcony (lanai in Hawaii), but that's the only negative I can say about the property. The continental breakfasts were good, but boring - the same stuff everyday. Of course, one could go elsewhere or actually use the breakfast bar (which I did one morning with some excellent leftovers from a restaurant the night before). Bottom line: a really nice place with high cost value relationship. Nice people too ...

Room Tip: There is no such thing as a bad room here. If I were to do it again, I'd spend a bit more and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Playaman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Our trip down was supposed to take approx. 8 hrs.....turned into a 26 hour adventure. Once we finaly arrived we walked into our suite at the KCI and felt like we had arrived back home. Mike and Martina are amazing hosts. The suites have everything you will need just like if you were right at home. I will try and make this short, but I could rave about this place all day long. The fresh fruit on the trees on the property are awesome. The continental breekfast, coffee, and morning conversations with the other guests are relaxing and very informative. If you truely want to enjoy the island like you are a local Please ask Jeff to give you suggestions (This guy is AWESOME !!!! And he and his girlfriend make some AMAZING fudge). The house is just minutes from Kapaa and very centrally located to get around the rest of the island. The jungle sounds at night lull you to sleep. I was quite disappointed that we missed Mikes Beattles Museum tours, but I gaurantee we will be back next year. I don't think we could have been treated like family more. Do not hesitate , book now, and soon you will be writing a review like this. The Kauai Country Inn is now our go-to place on Kauai. We can NOT wait to go back next year !!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great from what we herd from the other guests. We stayed in the Green Rose suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed four nights at the Kauai Country Inn in the double bedroom Plumeria Suite. Our stay was wonderfull. A fully equiped suite with beach towels, body boards, beach chairs, computers in all the room and wireless internet, fully equiped kitchen and a big deck looking out over a beautifull garden with banana trees and many flowers. We enjoyed our talk with Martina (German, raised close to the Dutch border), Trisha and Jeff who prepared the light breakfast (finally a 'normal' breakfast to European standards) and who gave us information on 'must do's' at the Island. Kauai is the oldest Hawaiian Island, one of the smaller onces, with a beautifull coast and tropical rainforest at the coast and inland. In the morning it was humid with rain but at the coast and in the afternoon temperature was optimal (28 celsius) with a light breeze. During our 3 1/2 wk trip along the US West National Parks and two Hawaiian Islands, this was by far the best and most original accomodation we stayed in. I highly recommend the Kauai Country Inn to anybody visiting Kauai. The only wish we have now is to go back sometime.

Room Tip: The plumeria suite can be rented with or without an additional bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MirjElb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Over many decades of business/vacation travel,this place where we were in mid July stands out at the top.THe rooms are nice size and the one we chose (green Rose suite is nearly 1400 sq feet with high ceilings ,a large common room and kitchen leading onto a covered porch and furnished with heavy rustic style furniture which I later learned had been made by the owners,Mike and Martina.The family pictures,furnishings (great kitchen-my wife loves to cook even on vacation) and general setup gives one the impression of visiting someone's guest cottage rather than staying in a commercial establishment.
Being off the beach up in the hills means quiet and with the constant breezes through the large louvered windows a constant breeze.The night it rained was a simply amazing experience of sound and sensation.

Room Tip: I visited the room beneath the green rose suite which are very pleasant and offer plenty of room but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
8.3 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
3.4 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
12.1 mi away
Makai Club
Makai Club
#1 of 1 in Princeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
14.0 mi away
Marjorie's Kauai Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Country Inn

Property: Kauai Country Inn
Address: 6440 Olohena Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-8710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kauai Country Inn consists of four private, executive style vacation suites, all of which are beautifully furnished in Hawaiian style decor, with private entrance & bathroom, and full private kitchen or kitchenette. Each of our tropical B&B suites is fully equipped with all the regular amenities, but also feature flat screen TVs with DVD players, and en-suite Computers with FREE Wi-fi internet access throughout the property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kauai Country Hotel Kapaa
Country Inn Kapaa
Kapaa Country Inn
Kauai Country Inn Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing