We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet (except for the roosters!), spacious, off the beaten path”
Review of Kauai Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kapaa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kauai Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Kapaa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Longview, Washington
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Quiet (except for the roosters!), spacious, off the beaten path”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Very spacious, quirky, but also clean & comfortable; lots of room for our 1 week stay. Owners are very clear on website about limited breakfast provided, so I can't fault them on that at all; however, Costco pastries did get boring pretty quickly: Be sure to stock your kitchen with at least juice or fruit. HINTS: This is on edge of rainforest; if you want more consistant sunshine, go elsewhere. Also: the roads inland to the inn are dark, narrow, & winding; consider if this would be comfortable for your night driving.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajoyce7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hough2market, Owner at Kauai Country Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thanks for the 4 out of 5 Stars, we appreciate the rating! We’re happy to hear these guests did enjoy their stay with us though it looks they were traveling in the winter months when the weather can sometimes be a little iffy. Normally we enjoy beautiful blue skies most of the day and yes, our somewhat remote location, which is surprisingly close to Kapaa town and it’s beaches, restaurants, and shops, is quiet, relaxed and appeals to guests who prefer to travel off the beaten path. Breakfast consists of a large variety of freshly baked pastries and other items not included in the room rate - it’s FREE and offered at no additional cost for guests’ enjoyment. Hans our wonderful manager provides fresh fruit from our garden (when in season) and some of the best coffee on the island. You’ll come across dark roads all around Kauai (not just on your way to the Kauai Country Inn) but that’s just local charm and part of living on a remote Hawaiian Island. On the positive side of this, our night skies are aglitter with millions of stars that you could never see from the big city or a large hotel. Grab one of the hammocks in our garden and enjoy a few sometimes unveiling the Milky Way...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    34
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
157
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This was our first time in Hawaii and on the island of Kauai. We stayed 9 nights, 10 days. Everything was fantastic, the inn is perfectly situated in the rainforest high up but in the middle of everything. The veiws, beaches, scenery just picturesque. We never had a bad meal, try the food trucks its worth it. We also cooked as the plumeria suite has a full kitchen. We had a number of rain days but enjoyed the day regardless, most times it cleared. Waimea canyon, hiking canyon trail was amazing but more difficult then expected for novice hikers again worth experiencing. Rent a jeep and explore, best vacation ever!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

After staying at a large resort in Maui for a few nights, I wanted something different in Kauai. This place is certainly much more private (located in a residential area) and i would describe as having charm but also a bit quirky. Many reviews cover the advantages of staying here, i'll just cover a few negatives in case they're deal breakers for you. It's not a traditional B&B, we never met the owners, the breakfast is very small (we made our own in the spacious Plumeria suite). The location is farther outside town than I would have liked, you don't want to be drinking too much at dinner and have to navigate the long winding road at night. Ants are an issue, they even got into the closed cereal box despite our efforts to keep things clean. And the Inn is in the rainforest and has no air conditioning. When we were there in May, you had to leave the windows open and hence the roosters that other reviewers noted are unavoidable at 6am. Overall, we liked our stay but given the con's I mention, we would try another place next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hough2market, Owner at Kauai Country Inn, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for pointing out that the Kauai Country Inn is not a traditional bed & breakfast. Yes, breakfast is small (and FREE), we don’t have 300 rooms, just four beautiful, well appointed honeymoon suites. The owners, Mike & Martina, are involved in the day to day operations, but guests are more likely to interact with Hans who is our wonderful manager, going out of his way to be the consummate host.

If you are a typical hotel guest who enjoys resort amenities and air-conditioned rooms preferring to exclude the balmy tropical fragrance of the islands, the Kauai Country Inn may not be your best choice. For the rest of you who long for a more authentic Hawaiian experience including waking up to the sounds of the rain forest and rejoicing in the clean Hawaiian air – there is no better place than the Kauai Country Inn. We’ve been a TripAdvisor “Certificate of Excellence Winner” two years running, and have been voted Kauai’s BEST Bed & Breakfast by Hawaii Magazine readers in 2013. We invite you to come and stay with us to make up your own mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oberursel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed 8 nights in the Yellow Ginger Suite, a beautifully decorated and spacious place. Despite a lot of rain during the first 4 days we very much enjoyed our vacation and the Kauai Country Inn contributed to this. It is very well taken cared of and invites to relax in the quiet setting. Hans has done a great job in making one feel welcome and at home, we very much loved to talk to him every morning at breakfast which he had prepared very nicely.
It is truely recommendable as a wonderful place to stay, relax and start your daily exploration of the wonderful island.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susi47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The Kauai Country Inn embodies the "Aloha" atmosphere of Kauai perfectly! The Green Rose Suite is beautifully designed in the plantation style and is roomy, comfortable and personal. The location near the rain forest is idyllic and centrally located for visiting all parts of the island. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. Bottom line - we definitely plan on returning next year! Jane and Vince (Central Ca Coast)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CentralCoast_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We spent two nights at the Kauai Country Inn in the Yellow Ginger Suite. What a beautiful spot! The sights, sounds and smells of the rainforest were all around. We slept wonderfully in the comfortable kingsized bed. The suite was immaculate and just as pictured on the web site. We used the computer and the laundry room out back. The kitchen was fully stocked with utensils. Breakfast was hosted by Hans who was helpful and engaging. Many things were offered; we had bagels, yogurt and fruit that was all that we needed. It was nice to meet with 2 other couples and talk about their plans. We had a rainy day and enjoyed Mike's tour of his Beatles Museum.
Hans told us that it is often Sunny in the south when it is raining on other parts of the island. We headed south and found the sun! We fell in love with Kauai! In case it is not clear, you definitely need a car to get around. The KCI is in the hills and a pretty 10-15 minute drive from busy town area.
The only recommendation that I would make does not impact my high overall rating...The Inn offers free use of beach chairs, boogie boards etc. but the chairs need to be replaced. Thanks for a wonderful stay...check-out was simple; just a drop box for our PIN card.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mommert5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed in the Yellow Ginger Suite and it was fantastic. We found the room to be everything we were hoping for. It was away from the busy tourists areas, and the setting is beautiful. Hans was great in the morning for giving us great advise on where to go and answering all our questions about the area. If you are looking for a smaller place to stay away from everything this is the place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
8.3 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
3.4 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,244 reviews
12.1 mi away
Makai Club
Makai Club
#1 of 1 in Princeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
14.0 mi away
Marjorie's Kauai Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Country Inn

Property: Kauai Country Inn
Address: 6440 Olohena Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-8710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kauai Country Inn consists of four private, executive style vacation suites, all of which are beautifully furnished in Hawaiian style decor, with private entrance & bathroom, and full private kitchen or kitchenette. Each of our tropical B&B suites is fully equipped with all the regular amenities, but also feature flat screen TVs with DVD players, and en-suite Computers with FREE Wi-fi internet access throughout the property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kauai Country Hotel Kapaa
Country Inn Kapaa
Kapaa Country Inn
Kauai Country Inn Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing