We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place in Kauai”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kauai Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kapaa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kauai Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Kapaa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Awesome place in Kauai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2006

The Kauai Country Inn is a great place to stay while you're on Kauai. The rooms are done nicely done with great finishing touches. Location is quiet and located convenient to sites on the north shore. The island is quite small, though, so even attractions in the south or west are easily accessible. The hosts are very friendly with tons of recommendations for things to do. They also have a huge DVD library and can make some great suggestions if you want a night in. I would absolutely stay there again and recommend it to friends/family.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    33
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
154
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2006

This was our first trip to Hawaii, we really had no idea what to expect. We chose Kauai after a quick perusal of Frommer's Hawaii 2006 guidebook, my wife actually picked our lodging - based mainly on price, I think - plus the good review in Frommer's. We booked directly on the Internet using the user-friendly website (----) which allowed us to view and chose our accommodations and to immediately check availability.

We sure were happy with what we found! The Kauai Country Inn really doesn't look like an Inn at all. It looks, and feels, like an old friend's country house which just happens to be nestled in a tropical rainforest near the end of a country road. There's little to suggest an Inn when you drive up - I don't think there's even a sign. Basically, you look for number 6440 as you drive up into the hills on the Olohena Road (Rte 581) - which you've hopefully located using the excellent directions provided by hosts Mike and Martina Hough (pronounced "How"). It's a 20-minute drive over from the airport in Lihue. We found their location near the town of Kapa'a to be nicely centered between the attractions on the north and south sides of the island.

On Jan 4, 2006 - after an 18-hr trip from New Hampshire - we arrived well after dark. The Christmas lights were ablaze, and we found a welcoming envelope on our door with complete instructions - a most painless way to "check in" after a long day. We happily slid into bed ten minutes later!

The next day we met the Houghs, their dog Annie, and their son Johannes (whom we easily recognized because of the numerous photos of his childhood around our suite). Did I mention, this place really felt like home?

No point in going into a long description of the rooms, you can see them on the website. Suffice it to say, we stayed in the Yellow Ginger Suite and we loved it. The kitchen was small but it had everything we needed. The living room/dining room was lovely and had views across the forest to the mountains. The birds sang - much as they do on the KCI website! The bed was king sized and comfortable. The place was spotless and had an ample supply of everything we needed. We never needed to ask for a thing - except for some local knowledge on food and sights which Mike and Martina were most happy to provide. We should also mention the "blue bible" which we took with us everywhere: The Ultimate Kaua'i Guidebook (by Doughty & Friedman), a truly excellent guide - their recommendations were spot on!

Our week in Kauai passed all too quickly. What with exploring and sightseeing - by foot, by car, by boat and by helicopter (try to get Chuck at Air Kauai, he's awesome!) we hardly had time for the beach. Even though it rained for a few minutes almost every day, it didn't affect our fun in the least. The temperature was so perfect we never needed any heat or AC, the windows remained open all week. We came home tanned, rested and happy. It's a long way from New Hampshire, but certainly worth the trip. We will surely go back, and we will definitely go back to the Kauai Country Inn!

PS: I've just put a few of our many photos on a personal website which you're welcome to view. I'm not sure if I can post the whole URL here, but you can piece it together by adding my screen-name: "HClews" right after my server name: "hometown.aol.com/". When you get to the Index page, click on Kauai 2004 Photo Journal - you'll find three pages with many click-able links. Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank HClews2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2005

Gobsmacked by the size and beauty of the Green Rose Suite in the Kauai Country Inn. The photos on the web site do not do the place justice. We opened the door and felt like jumping up and down it was so lovely. The owners Mike and Martina could not have been more helpful. They have thought of everything to make your stay feel special, chocolates, suncream, snorkel kits etc. You can not fail to feel relaxed when staying here - only problem from reading the guest log is that nobody allowed enough time to relax and see all of the Island which is gorgeous. Try and stay as long as you can and enjoy a wonderful holiday in a fantastic Inn. Ask Mike to show his beatles collection - it is very interesting.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TTbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2005

The Kauai Country Inn was simply wonderful. I proposed to my fiancé while staying there and the owners helped make the event perfect. I know of no other place that went so out of their way to make everything work. I have not one complaint. Everything on their website, [-----------------------] is accurate as well.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane Wa.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2005

What a wonderful experience we had during our stay at Kauai Country Inn. The accommodations were everything we were told it was, and more. We spent a week with our son, his wife and 2 children. The house was so fitted for us. Each family had their own seperate sleeping area away from each other which affored each of us privacy. Their was plenty of room and clean beauriful surroundings. We had everything we needed as though it was our own home. The washer and dryer was perfect with two small children. What a beautiful setting it was. We will long remember our first stay in Hawaii.
Dick and Sammy White

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank largerw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
8.3 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
3.4 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,226 reviews
12.1 mi away
Makai Club
Makai Club
#1 of 1 in Princeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
14.0 mi away
Marjorie's Kauai Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Country Inn

Property: Kauai Country Inn
Address: 6440 Olohena Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-8710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kauai Country Inn consists of four private, executive style vacation suites, all of which are beautifully furnished in Hawaiian style decor, with private entrance & bathroom, and full private kitchen or kitchenette. Each of our tropical B&B suites is fully equipped with all the regular amenities, but also feature flat screen TVs with DVD players, and en-suite Computers with FREE Wi-fi internet access throughout the property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kauai Country Hotel Kapaa
Country Inn Kapaa
Kapaa Country Inn
Kauai Country Inn Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing