We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Solid Pork Near the Beach”
Review of The Green Pig

The Green Pig
Ranked #51 of 125 Restaurants in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pretty Solid Pork Near the Beach”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Went to Green Pig for a late lunch. Had the porkaholic sandwich (pork cutlet, pulled pork and bacon) and pig tails (shoestring curly fries). Wife had pulled pork sandwich with coleslaw on the side. Son had chicken fried chicken sandwich. The porkaholic sandwich is BIG and delicious. The house (truck) made bacon is incredible. The fries were yucky. Really greasy. Pulled Pork sandwich got good reviews. Tried a bite of the slaw. I usually run away from coleslaw, but this was awesome. Made with vinaigrette instead of dripping with mayo. Highly recommended, but would avoid the fries and get the fried mac 'n' cheese next time instead. With drinks, we spent about $45 for three. Food is expensive in Kauai, so not a bad deal for a good amount of food. We paid cash, but sign said they take Visa and MC (not Amex). Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boss_Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    26
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Get Porked!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Checked out the green pig after reading some reviews. Had porkaholic sandwich and fried Mac n cheese. Omg...this is fantastic food. I wish I had more time and better metabolism as I would go again in a heartbeat.

Definitely recommend this green pig. Check on open times though.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Rabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fried Mac 'n' Cheese!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We discovered The Green Pig at the Taste of Hawaii event. The fried mac 'n' cheese was amazing! We enjoyed the open face pork sliders as well, but went back more than once for the mac 'n' cheese. Wish we could have made it back to their truck to try more of their menu.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank weezee92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Yummy pork sandwich just north of Kapa'a”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We really liked it! Our first visit to the Green Pig and the great write-ups brought us there. Skip had the Pig-aHolic sandwich with pork tenderloin, pulled pork and Jake's bacon (aka, Jacon). He was in Seventh Heaven and I'll confess that having read about the fried Mac n' Cheese, we couldn't resist. I had the Pork tenderloin SW and it was delicious. It was pouring with rain but we were nice and dry under the tents....Good thing we aren't staying closer or Skip would be there every day!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trvel4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kealia, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“And that settles it...”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I'm adding an important fact to my last review: After much field research and comparison, the Green Pig makes, by far, the best burger on the Island too. BOOM.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canaan-Jason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Pig also viewed

 

Been to The Green Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing