We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waipouli Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We have been to Hawaii 5 times and this is my favorite resort. This was our 2nd time to stay in this resort and we still loved it. Hotel is a very central location on the island. Condo's and rooms are super clean and all staff are very nice and helpful. A monk seal visited their beach every day we stayed here both this trip and 3 years ago which is way cool and interesting. I love that they provide a hospitality room on checkout also. They let us have a late checkout at 1 then since our plane didn't leave until 10 pm, we were able to lay by the pool and beach all day, then they allowed us an hour in their hospitality suite to shower and get cleaned up for the airport. That is awesome and makes for a terrific ending to a vacation. The only negative I have is that the pool restaurant that is on property doesnt serve food or drinks until 4:00 now (last time they did all day) and that they are separate from the hotel so you can't charge to the room. Once we knew this we just brought a credit card and set up an account for charging at the bar/restaurant. They also let us go across the street and buy food and drinks and bring them into the pool,/beach area which was actually cheaper in the long run. Hotel is very kid friendly but since this trip was a couples only trip, we still felt there is plenty of room to spread out and have quiet time if you want to. We will definetely be back again.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom condos are huge! 4 could stay here easy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bottoms0551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

971 - 977 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2011

This particular resort lives up to the online pictures you have probably seen. The units were reasonably spacious and the decor was up to date. (Side note: The ottoman in front of the sofa was prematurely worn out - made of cheap leatherette material - which seemed odd since the unit as a whole was appointed with quality goods.) As advertised, the appliances were top of the line including the full size washer and dryer. Also, the air conditioning worked well. BTW - tradewinds or not - you DO WANT air conditioning when visiting Kauai and don't believe anyone that tells you otherwise. Beyond the unit we found the grounds were immaculate and the POOL - WOW - the pool was great for adults and kids alike. Beautiful and fun (waterfall, lazy river, slides). There was a restaurant on premises called the Oasis. Honestly it wasn't for me; it was all about "organic" and "local products" and I'm more of a big 'ole steak kinda person. HOWEVER - to be fair - it seemed I was in the minority as I heard good things from others. Also - it was reasonably priced. The Outrigger staff at the front desk was very accommodating; always outgoing and helpful. Plus, the housekeeping staff did a very good job during our stay. We were promised "light" cleaning service, but it seemed pretty thorough to us. HOWEVER, the concierge was condesending and only interested in helping with commission related activities. For example, if you wanted help booking a helicopter tour - no problem; but a restaurant recommendation? or a good beach? Good luck. Final thoughts - ask about a "hospitality room" if you have a late flight on your departure date. The service is not guaranteed, and you won't find out if it is available until your departure date - but if it is, they will try to give you a place to shower and change in the afternoon. Also - if you have kids - be sure to stop by the Koi pond at 9:00 am as they let the kids feed the fish. (I assume it is every day - not sure though)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dubyac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We booked through Costco...early..... They did a nice job. We read the reviews.
Since we booked a garden suite 2 bedroom i found it very private.. even though it was about 50 feet from the parking lot. It was quiet and easy getting to and from the car. The Pool area is clean and not too crowded . If you want a romantic getaway for your honeymoon... I would question it...for a family of any size you are not going to do better. If you like the tennis court crowd try Princeville which is not for me. I would return and will. It's really nice...The Lobby is nicer than the St.Regis!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lewis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We stayed in the Penthouse suite, G201. The view of the ocean from our linai was just incredible. On our first night we captured an amazing sunrise. The ocean was beautiful, the room was magnificent and the pool area was incredibly clean. Can not say enough good things about this resort and the room we stayed in. The only thing that needs to change is the "daily happy hour from 4-6" sign. We at at the outdoor restaurant, our waiter, Richard, was a wealth of information and friendliness. Happy Hour? They open at 4, serve drinks all day and no discount on anything that is usually associated with a happy hour. However, food was amazing and the drinks were good, very impressed with Richard. Thanks for having us!

Room Tip: Try to stay on the second floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ninjaritto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We stayed in late June 2010 for our honeymoon and it was a great unit. Very new and well kept. View of ocean to the right of the lanai. The unit was very clean, only minor complaint is that there was no fitted sheet on the bed. Very small issue for a great place.

The only thing you might want to consider is that it is very quiet at night and the beach is not great for swimming. There are rocks to walk out on but its doable. The pool area is great and there is a spot for grilling etc.

Unit G307 was super nice and the owners were good with communication beforehand. Very updated bathroom and beautiful kitchen. The supermarket is a two minute walk from the outrigger complex and it is very handy. The restaurants within walking distance weren't fantastic but it was a great home base for a beautiful island.

Would definitely recommend it!!

Would suggest renting a car to explore the rest of the island

Room Tip: Don't book through the hotel! Use VRBO!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank f1yerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

This place was fantastic, great views! The 2 Bedroom Condo was very spacious, and was updated with granite and tile. This is the most beautiful place I have ever stayed in, we somehow got upgraded to an ocean view room so we could see everything! The swimming pool just goes on and on, the kids loved the slides! You have grocery stores, restaurants, and shopping just right across the street! There is a restaurant next to the pool, but we did not eat there, it does look right at the ocean though. I wish we would have planned on staying there longer!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrs_smith536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Just had the most enjoyable 7 days at the Beach Resort, the condo was perfect. We are a retired couple and stayed here with our eldest son in a 2-bed condo. Both bedrooms had excellent on suite bathrooms plus there was an extra toilet. The unit 402 was very well equipped and there was daily housekeeping with beds made daily and towels changed on regular basis. Beach towels were available from the pool area. Hotel staff very friendly. Shopping facilities are right opposite the condo with plenty of places to eat. The Oceanside cafe at the condo was very expensive and only serve Tapas style food. The pool was great. Gardens were well kept. The only complaint we would have was the weather, it rained most days but as we had a car we just travelled to other parts of the island, found fantastic beaches. Recommend taking a helicopter tour, well worth the money. Would certainly recommend this place to others. Great memories.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laid_back_ruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipouli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipouli Beach Resort

Address: 4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1588
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: £182 - £412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waipouli Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Waipouli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort And Spa
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Waipouli Beach Resort Kauai, Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing