We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waipouli Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Plantation Hale Suites(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
US$255
US$237
Official Website
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$354
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$364
US$331
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$772
US$622
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,474)
Filter reviews
1,474 results
Traveller rating
883
387
106
62
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
883
387
106
62
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater slideslazy riveracross the streetpool areahigh end appliancestop of the linesandy bottomoasis restaurantthe kitchenpool staffmountain viewkauai exclusive managementwasher and dryerocean frontthrough vrboparking lotkauai calls
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
982 - 987 of 1,474 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed in #G-107. The unit was ok, but was showing it's age. Interior walls could use paint touch up. Poor instructions from the owner regarding check in caused us to miss the use of the pool on the first day. He had not notified management of our arrival. Emailed the owner 4 weeks after returning home regarding our refund of $200 security deposit and have not had a reply. It has been another 4 weeks. The resort is great, but we paid a lot of money and don't deserve this kind of treatment. I would recommend staying there, but not in this unit.

Room Tip: Any one but G107.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank guest7892013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My husband & I stayed in C406 for 2 weeks & it was GREAT! We started out in D105, which was partial garden view, well that really turned out to be a row of bushes in front of you & huge walls on both sides, giving you the feel of being inside a cave. There was no way we could have stayed in that condo for 2 wks, so we headed to the front desk the next a.m. & managed to get upgraded for more money, but was well worth it. The grounds are very well manicured & each day they came in with fresh towels, made our bed, emptied trash, etc., which was nice. All the staff were very friendly & accommodating. The condo was very clean & new looking, we had no complaints there. It was also very quiet, we never even heard it rain at night. We also liked the location, there was a Safeway right across the street & also ABC Store & Long Drugs so everything you needed was there. It could be a little difficult crossing the road at times, but there is a light so you just need to be patient, hey you are on vacation, slow down!! When we checked in we were given a shopping bag to carry groceries in, which was helpful. The pool area is absolutely beautiful even though we didn't spend that much time there, we preferred the beach. It was a bit more secluded, in fact some days I pretty much had it to myself! The pool area is really pretty at night when the tiki torches are burning. We never tried the on site restaurant or bar, but it looked nice from the outside looking in. There is a NEAT walking/biking/jogging trail just down from the condo. The first a.m. we tried walking & we were in front of condo on main street which was pretty risky at times, so then we checked with front desk & they told us about the trail. It ran right along the ocean so made for a very refreshing walk each morning. We had a 10:30 PM flight out so on our last day we checked out at noon, put luggage in our car & went to the beach until 3, when we were given an hour in their hospitality suite which was REALLY nice! Overall we were extremely pleased & would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: If possible get ocean front, ocean view or at least partial ocean view & also go for 3rd or 4th floor
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Our family recently visited here for our sons grad. we were able to stay 2wks. Great location, central to the North Shore and South. The condo was just like being at home. we had Starbucks across the street, Safeway also and CVS. plus many other stores and restaurants . When we visited it stormed for the 1st. week. We were grateful for the space and the 2 bd. rooms, not to mention the 3 TVs. these kept everyone very happy. The kitchen was fully stocked with pots, pans, plates bowls everything you may need. We cooked twice a day. Yes there is a double dishwasher. The hot tubs are wonderful with a sand lined bottom. The pool was great, we just wished that the slides were in use after 6. The view was fantastic. Can not swim in the ocean however, we tried and got our feet cutup. Many other beaches right down the road. There is also a wonderful path just a block away that leads to a great beach that has surfing. Great for all ages. Would stay here in a heart beat, just another time of year. To much rain check forecast before coming..

Room Tip: top floor facing the ocean higher sealing and a fantastic view.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 20th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

I cannot complain about this facility, The room (H201) is more than likely the premiere condo on the island and for sure the best at Waipouli Beach Resort. Having rented at other similar facilities we did understand the issue of cleaning and lack of room service.
The view was phenomenal with a breathe taking sunrise every morning.. The unit could accommodate six easily with two queens and a pull out in the living room. The furnishings were upgraded and the kitchen stocked with plenty of the necessities,
Yet, we opted to eat out and sample the great foods available in Kauai. There is plenty close by and with Safeway, Longs and Big Save close, you can bring in your food or beer if desired.
Yes the beach in front doesn't have life guards or plenty of sand but the beach front view is unsurpassed. There are plenty of sandy beaches nearby, and most kids will enjoy the pool. .
You can stay at older condo's with a better beach, but you'll be hard pressed to find a nicer, more modern facility on the island.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We stayed at the Waipouli Beach Resort for the second time this June. We rented through Outrigger. I am giving this unit 5 stars, but I really want to give it 4 stars or even 3 stars. This is one of the nicest condos on the entire island of Kauai, so I am going to give the resort 5 stars. We had some issues, but Outrigger addressed every one of our concerns.

I would suggest you do your homework before you rent. Condo units are different from hotels. The services are usually very limited. I think it is very unfair to give a condo one star just because they don't furnish room service. Also, usually you do not get daily cleanings with condos. Outrigger did send someone in every day to refresh towels and make beds. This is unusual. With most condos, you do not get any cleaning.

My major problem with the Outrigger Waipouli Beach is that they are very stingy with their views. I disagree with what they call ocean view or even ocean front. If you look at an aerial view of the complex, at least half of the units face a parking lot or another building. Most views are not great. However, the beach and pool are both gorgeous, so if you don't care what you see from your room, the rest of the property is very nice.

The property is very well located. It is easy to get north and south. Kapaa has some fun places to eat and shop. Lihue is very close. I liked having two grocery stores, an ABC Store, and a Long Drugs across the street. Once you are in the Waipouli Beach property, you are not aware of the busy road.

I am still struggling with my star rating. I love the location in Waipouli. There are no other condos as nice as the Waipouli Beach Resort in the area. The condo is very close to shopping , the north side, and the south side of the island. It was easy for us to get around.

Things I liked:

The beach – True, you cannot swim, but it was nice to walk. We saw seals a few times. It was almost kind of wild. Typical Hawaiian beach.

The pool – there are many private areas to sit and talk while in the pool. Very cool design.

The kitchen – very new and luxurious.

Sweet Marie’s Bakery – It is gluten-free, but you would never know. Their macaroons are simply wonderful. This tiny bakery is located right next to the complex.

Kapaa – Fun to say. Lots of little, funky stores and restaurants. Also they have chain restaurants. We have kids, so we had to eat at a fast food restaurant at least once.

Things I did not like as much:

The beds – Evidently, there a very few, if any, condos that have two beds in the second bedroom. With teenagers, this would be very nice. Both times that we have stayed here, we were told that there were not many units with two beds in the second bedroom.

The Views – The Waipouli Beach Resort should be ashamed of themselves. I have been to Hawaii several times. The views they assign to the rooms are just wrong. We stayed in the hospitality room a few hours before our plane left. You could see a sliver of the ocean over the condos next door if you stood outside on the balcony. My fourteen year old shouted: “Oceanfront”.

Room Tip: I would suggest you book a room for as much as you can afford. If the view does not match what you paid for, make the management fix it!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews