We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Kaua'i Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waipouli Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great Kaua'i Location”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

My husband and I found this place through Costco Travel. We changed our original reservation for a 3-star place to this location because we liked the idea of a condo. We had spent 5 days prior on Maui for a work event and had had about enough of big dinners and eating out, so having a condo so we could make our own food and have our own food around was great. Upon checking in we were supplied with a reusable grocery bag and told of the local stores we could shop at. Having basics like fruit, cereal, milk, cold-cuts for sandwiches, and even picking up a roasted chicken was just what we wanted. Had we stayed at a hotel we would not neccessarily have the option to keep food around like that.

The condo kitchen was a lovely granite topped, all stainless steel appliance, cherry wood room that opened into a living space with small eating table, couch, love seat, and a flat screen. We had 2 full size bathrooms, one with a huge tub next to the walk in shower. There were 2 balconies. My other favorite part was the full size/stacked front loading washer/dryer. Especially having been on maui for a week, it was great to wash certain items. We just brought the washer detergent drops and dryer sheets and we were good to go.

Pro's: location on the island is great for exploring and driving, you aren't completely on one side of the island. The town of Kapa'a is right there and full of shops and restaurants.

Cons: if you want to swim, the beach is non-swimmable due to rocks and the currents. They do have a lovely pool area to accomodate for that. I wouldn't say this place is nestled in a overly scenic area of the island, so if you are seeking that I would look elsewhere.

Our room faced the parking lot but we weren't there a lot so it wasn't a big deal. Not sure how noisy it would have been towards the pool. A few rooms face out to the beach.

Overall we were very happy here and didn't have any complaints. It was great for wanting more than a hotel, but not needing something overly fancy with a view.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool may be noisier. Rooms facing parking lot were fine, however some rooms we saw f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Crazynello01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    371
    97
    57
    29
See reviews for
714
474
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

For our second week in beautiful Kauai we stayed in the Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort and Spa. The very spacious two bedroom, three bath had more than enough room for the family of 4. The kids had their own bathrooms! Two walk in showers and two oversided bath tubs, one was huge and the kids could almost swim in it! Two many fantastic things in the rooms to write about. The wife fell in love with the kitchen! But we all came for the pool. Complete with two water slides. Three hot tubs and a lazy river (except no current) which wound around the complex with several waterfalls and a grotto to explore. We will be sure to return and spread the word to our friends. The pictures do no justice, as you have to come see for yourselves.

The Storms Family
Keizer, Oregon

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithinkeizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The resort is very nice and centrally located. The road in front is a busy highway and you feel as though you are living in the city and not Hawaii. The rooms are great and very well appointed and the staff seems nice. Our 8 year old loved the pool and slides. The beach out front was disappointing as it was not a swimmers beach. The restaurant on site was very good but not affiliated with the hotel. Overall it was a good value. At the coconut marketplace there was a little BBQ place called Harley's. Fantastic food for a great price. The "Tubing the Ditch" tour was one of the coolest things ever.

Room Tip: Paid for ocean front room but its really not necessary. Save your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dustin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Booked room through VRBO. Owner was very helpful and prompt.
Had originally wanted a one bedroom ocean view, but due to booking issues, ended up getting two bedroom mountain view (view of Safeway across the street). We were a little concerned as the main road/highway is between hotel and Safeway, but there were no issues with noise.

The two bedroom unit was spacious, clean and well appointed. Very nice kitchen with excellent appliances (ie: Sub-zero fridge, and Wolf cook top). The two bedroom unit also has 2.5 bathrooms. Master Bedroom has ensuite bathroom, which only has a tub, the 1/2 bathroom that is just through a doorway from master bathroom has the shower and another toilet. A bit of an odd layout, but since it was only the two of us, it wasn't an issue. Unit had full size washer and dryer. The unit is also Air Conditioned, which helped to limit road noise inside unit. The lanai (aka: balcony) is fairly small, although a small table and 4 chairs have been stuffed onto it. 4 people on the lanai would be very cozy.

The only drawback to the unit is that it was close to the elevator, and the noise from the operation of the elevator could be clearly heard in unit.

The location is ideal for getting groceries and for quick trips to quite a few restaurants in the area. Trips to go north to Princeville and Hanalei are easy as well as to Lihue and Poipu.

Since this was a VRBO rental, there was no dealing with the Outrigger front desk, so I have no comments on their service. Basically I/we had no interaction with the hotel operations.

We did utilize the pool, and even though the pool is really cool with its meandering stream-like effect, the seating around the pool is a bit odd. Due to the buildings, trees/bushes and shape of pool, there are plenty of shaded areas. My only complaint about the pool area is that the Oasis bar and restaurant would only serve food until 3p. No appetizers or meals would be served until after 6p when the restaurant opened again, at which point I'm no longer going to be at the pool.

There is seemed to be ample parking in the numerous parking areas, and we were never far from the entrance that we needed. We had rented bikes and cruised up the trail to the north of the resort. Bikes were locked up in the bike racks on the property and there were no issue with theft or vandalism.

Overall a really nice place to stay at and would definitely consider staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Booked room through VRBO. Owner was very helpful and prompt.
Had originally wanted a one bedroom ocean view, but due to booking issues, ended up getting two bedroom mountain view (view of Safeway across the street). We were a little concerned as the main road/highway is between hotel and Safeway, but there were no issues with noise.

The two bedroom unit was spacious, clean and well appointed. Very nice kitchen with excellent appliances (ie: Sub-zero fridge, and Wolf cook top). The two bedroom unit also has 2.5 bathrooms. Master Bedroom has ensuite bathroom, which only has a tub, the 1/2 bathroom that is just through a doorway from master bathroom has the shower and another toilet. A bit of an odd layout, but since it was only the two of us, it wasn't an issue. Unit had full size washer and dryer. The unit is also Air Conditioned, which helped to limit road noise inside unit. The lanai (aka: balcony) is fairly small, although a small table and 4 chairs have been stuffed onto it. 4 people on the lanai would be very cozy.

The only drawback to the unit is that it was close to the elevator, and the noise from the operation of the elevator could be clearly heard in unit. Other than that, there was minimal noise heard inside of unit.

The location is ideal for getting groceries and for quick trips to quite a few restaurants in the area. Trips to go north to Princeville and Hanalei are easy as well as to Lihue and Poipu.

Since this was a VRBO rental, there was no dealing with the Outrigger front desk, so I have no comments on their service. Basically I/we had no interaction with the hotel operations.

We did utilize the pool, and even though the pool is really cool with its meandering stream-like effect, the seating around the pool is a bit odd. Due to the buildings, trees/bushes and shape of pool, there are plenty of shaded areas and limited sunny areas. My only complaint about the pool area is that the Oasis bar and restaurant would only serve food until 3p. No appetizers or meals would be served until after 6p when the restaurant opened again, at which point I'm no longer going to be at the pool.

There seemed to be ample parking in the numerous parking areas, and we were never far from the entrance that we needed. We had rented bikes and cruised up the trail to the north of the resort. Bikes were locked up in the bike racks on the property and there were no issue with theft or vandalism.

Overall a really nice place to stay at and would definitely consider staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We were looking for a clean and comfortable place to relax, but not too far to drive to explore other parts of Kauai. This filled the bill for us, a couple traveling on our own. The condo was well-furnished, roomy, with an easy-to-use kitchen, and 2 big bathrooms for us to spread out. Also, 2 lanais, 3 TVs, and a big pool area with kids' pools, adult spa, as well as being right on the beach. Not a good swimming beach, but those are close by. Across the street is a big shopping center - Safeway, Longs, Starbucks. Less than an hour north to Princeville or Hanalei, or south to Poipu or Hanapepe, and 15 minutes to LIhue Airport. An easy walk to Kapaa, an old Hawaii town with lots of good eateries.

Room Tip: all rooms pretty similar, would suggest one not facing the highway; don't pay extra for an ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at the Outrigger in Waipouli Beach upon the recommendation of some friends. We were so pleasantly surprised by the amenities at this resort. The rooms are spacious with full modern kitchen, sub zero fridge/freezer, washer dryer ensuite and much more. There were three sliding doors that we could open up for cross ventilation and access to the ocean air. The resort is conveniently located across from a shopping center where you could stock your condo with groceries. In addition, it is just a few minutes south of the funky town of Kapaa which is home to many nice little shops, breakfast spots and some great restaurants for dinner. We used the Outrigger as home base for our adventures all over the island. The pool are is quite nice and the entire resort is family friendly. At night and in the morning, things are nice and quiet. Parking was included and we couldn't have been happier with our stay.

Room Tip: If you choose a garden unit, you may want to see if you can opt for inward (pool) facing rather than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nyctravelguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipouli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipouli Beach Resort

Property: Waipouli Beach Resort
Address: 4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1588
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waipouli Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Waipouli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort And Spa
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Waipouli Beach Resort Kauai, Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing