We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice Condo and location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waipouli Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waipouli Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Condo and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed in Unit 404. It was a nice unit, and the resort looked exactly like the pictures. The location is great. It's walking distance to a shopping complex across the street, and many nice restaurants and other stores. You can drive to the north of the island or south in about 1/2 an hour or so. The beach was nice to walk along, but not good for swimming. The biggest downside about the resort was that the swimming pool was so cold, I could not swim in it. I heard virtually every other guest complain about how cold the water was as well. We stopped by the Westin for lunch and felt the water in their pool, and it was nice and warm. The other downside was that you had to memorize an 11 digit code to get into the poo, and a 6 digit code for your room. There is no pool side service, and the restaurant on site is not open for breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lamour2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEEnright, General Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Aloha,
The staff and I are thrilled you enjoyed you stay with us and we hope to see you back again soon! Happy Holidays. As for the pool, it is heated at 80 degrees although some days it may not feel as such due to the air temperture. I will discusss this with the AOAO GM.
Mahalo
Gregg Enright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    797
    349
    92
    50
    27
See reviews for
661
457
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
laakeland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

This was by far one of the nicest places I have stayed. The pool was a blast and the multiple sand bottom jacuzzi tubs were very neat I love how it's designed to look like lava rock around all of it. The 5 or 6 waterfalls in the pool are a nice touch. Also around the winding pool area having multiple gas grills made it a lot of fun to hang out and bbq. Very friendly and attentive staff, our air wasn't working and there was someone there within 5 minutes and was immediately rectified. If you have the extra time while there I recommend taking advantage of the spa and get a massage its a big help if you are going to be taking a flight from the east coast. Concierge service is very helpful and friendly as well. We had heard some people saying watch out for the room you get because the view could suck however we got a room facing the mountains nor the ocean and both my wife and I loved the beautiful mountains! GREAT RESORT STAY HERE ITS MORE THAN WORTH YOUR MONEY.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank theonetj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We rented a 2 bedroom/3 bathroom ocean front condo for 9 days in September. This (by far) was the most amazing condo we have ever stayed in. It was spotless, the appliances were all high end and the unit was very comfortable to stay in. I would highly recommend the Waipouli Beach Resort to anyone.

Room Tip: The ocean front room was well worth the extra money. Could sit on the lanai every morning drinking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJRODDICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEEnright, General Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Aloha,
The staff and I truly appreciate you taking time out to post such a wonderful review. We hope to see you back with us real soon!
Happy Holidays.
Gregg Enright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Outrigger at Waipouli Beach is a nicely outfitted group of condos with all-purpose swimming pools. However, and this is important, during our week-long stay, the air conditioning failed on 3 occasions, the repair staff failed to repair the AC on those 3 occasions, and the front-desk management was inattentive, and unresponsive to our requests for proper consideration. It's sad that this management negligence would stain our otherwise pleasant memories of the Outrigger.

Room Tip: Careful of A/C breakdowns!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MR1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEEnright, Owner at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Aloha,
I was disappointed to read your review and would like to apologize for the inconvenience and the poor interaction with our employee. This is a little unusual as we are used to hearing just the opposite when it comes to our front desk staff. You may have been informed we (Outrigger) do not control the A/C repaires, as these are the association responsibility. I am not making excusses for either situation, I just know the lack of control can be frustrating for our staff. I will also state that the association is usually excellent at responding to these situations. I certainly hope this has not turned you away from Kauai and/or Outrigger in the future, as our goal truly is to deleiver a memorable experience.
We all hope to have you visit us again, and if you do please contact me ahead of time to assist you with your stay.
Mahalo
Gregg Enright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed in the King Waupouli condo A107 for one week in October. The Condo was perfect for our family of 4. The condo interior is beautiful. The woodwork is rich and the appliances are top shelf. Our unit was a corner unit which gave us 2 shays lounges. We loved sitting in the lounges having an evening drink. Every night we slept with the sliding glass doors open so we could hear the ocean.
Much has been written about the pool and it is very nice (I could see how it could get a little crowded with kids if you visited during a school holiday)
The condo also included beach chairs and boggie boards which we took with us to the beaches.
The location of the Waupouli Resort is perfect. Half way between the beauty of the north shore and the predictably Sunny beaches of Poipu. I personally love the north shore but if you are only in Kauai for 7 days you have to guard against rainy days which are much more frequent in the north. Waupouli which is in Kapaa lets you go either way based on the days weather. There are also plenty of reasonably priced (for Hawaii) restaurants within a short drive.
We rented the condo through Kauai Exclusive. They we very easy to deal with. While in Kauai we worked most closely with Patrick. He really helped us out getting me into the condo ahead of check in time and then day of departure since our flight didn't leave until 8 PM making arrangements for us to park our bags and change in another room. They really made us feel they were there to help us out.

Room Tip: Use the Waupouli site map to locate the direct ocean front condos. They are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MUFan-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

I'm not quite sure why this condo complex is listed in the hotel section, when really it belongs in "other lodgings". We reserved our room through a travel agent for three nights and were unaware that it really isn't a hotel. We checked in at a reservations desk that is located in an area/office off of the lobby. (Which happened to be pleasantly air conditioned, whereas the rest of the public areas are not, making for a hot sweaty trek to and from our "room"). We were then told that we would NOT have our room serviced daily unless we wanted to pay something like $40 per day extra. And we HAD to pay a $40 'fee' to service/clean the room when we checked out! So, NO freshly made-up bed, NO fresh towels, (try using the same 4 towels for three days when there was no way to get them dry between showers), garbage cans were not emptied, no ice machine, no room service, nothing. We had 'a problem' with the first "hotel room" they give us, so trekked back to check-in area, only to be told that we had few options due the fact that they only had 6 "hotel rooms", total. TOTAL. Eh? AND they only had one other "room" available. We checked it out, and took it. If we could have, at this point checked out, we would have, but we were in the middle of our trip and decided to grin and bear it. Never again. We surmise that the "room" we had is privately owned and an investment property. The air conditioning is rigged to a motion detector that automatically shuts off the air when one leaves, meaning the room is hot and stuffy when one returns. And while one is asleep, shuts off due to lack of motion making for a very unpleasant nights sleep. Although the bed was so uncomfortable to begin with, it's amazing we got any sleep at all. The "room" contains a fairly large closet that contains the A/C unit and a full size water heater. The room was pleasantly decorated, but fairly small. Bathroom was quite large but had no tub, only a shower with a very small showerhead with very weak water pressure, and very poor lighting. The "key" system, as mentioned in previous reviews is a mess and rapidly grows tiresome. We didn't use the pool or eat/drink at Oasis as on checking them out we didn't care to subject ourselves to any of it. I would not recommend this property, it is NOT a hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kinnagoebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed at Waipouli Beach Resort for 7 days at the end of September. It was absolutely beautiful! The pictures for WBR are exactly as is. We did not want to leave. We rented through VRBO. Candace at Kauai Calls was very accommodating and she was wonderful to deal with. The condo is first rate. Appliances are tops. I don't know about the other units but this unit had a Fisher and Paykel Dishwasher - was truly impressed. The grounds at WBR were immaculate. Very well maintained. Always saw maintenance cleaning. Although we did not use the grills, every morning we saw maintenance cleaning the grates. After our morning walk, we lifted the cover on one of the grills and was amazed by how clean the grates were. Every speck of grease, food residue was gone. The grates looked shiny and brand new. WBR is in a nice location, central to everything on the island. We would not hesitate to come back here if we find ourselves visiting Kauai again. Wished there was a WBR on all the islands. Aloha

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank janh1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipouli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipouli Beach Resort

Property: Waipouli Beach Resort
Address: 4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1588
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waipouli Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Waipouli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort And Spa
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Waipouli Beach Resort Kauai, Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing