We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waipouli Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We booked a suite from a private owner that slept 8 people. The suite was okay. A bit tight compared to some of the homes that we had rented but that was obviously expected. Most of the amenities were provided. The resort is a bit dated. The kids loved being in the lazy river/pool, going under the waterfall and using their water slides. The beach is neat and clean. While we were there a Hawaiin monk seal came up to the hotel beach to sun itself which was cool. Kids loved the place.
It is extremely central. There is a Safeway right across the road. Lots of eating joints within .5 miles of the resort. We ate at the resort restaurant which is located by the pool and beach. The food and service pleasantly surprised us. Would definitely recommend it.
There is a great gym on the property.
I would recommend the property for it's location and pool but it would do much better if it got updated to look more new and modern.

Room Tip: Book early to get ocean facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chefig2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

626 - 632 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

Over New Year's, 2013, our family of 8 spent our time in Kauai out of the Waipouli Beach Resort, east side of island. The location is great, can go both directions in minutes. Accommodations were very comfortable, spacious two condo units, can cook breakfast, great pool, right next to beach, not the best for swimming but wading and sand fun, a sea lion regularly suns there. Our view really didn't matter that much, as we were steps away from "views". We recommend it.

Room Tip: At first I thought we were just looking out at a partial parking lot and palm trees, and the next do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joytogo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEEnright, General Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Aloha
The staff & I were thrilled to read your posting and expect to see you back with again some time soon! FYI - that was a Hawaiian Monk seal and we are lucky to have several in the vacinity that enjoy our beach from time-to -time.
Gregg Enright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The resort itself is very nice and well appointed, clean, and comfortable. Access to the ocean and beach is readily available, but may not be the best option fro snorkeling or swimming. Sunrise views, however, are very nice. The Oasis restaurant onsite offers a great ocean-front dining and the food is not only reasonably priced, but also very tasty. Customer service at the resort and the restaurant was great and everyone was very polite and helpful. The location in Kapaa is centralized for outings to the north and south sides of the island. Kapaa is, however, a busy town and traffic can be congested. If you don't mind walking, you will find dinning and shopping options that may be faster and easier than driving.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
7  Thank hikingnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My wife, 9 year old son, and I stated here for 5 nights on a package deal from Alaska Air. I have visited Kauai at least a half dozen times, and honeymooned here, so I'm fairly familiar with the island. I was hesitant to stay so close in to Kapaa, as it tends towards the high density end of the spectrum. But the resort looked good, and I didn't want to do a lot of shopping around.
We were astonished when we arrived. Not only are you a short drive from the airport, across the street from Foodland and Safeway, but the 1 BR condo was beautiful, comfortable, quiet, spacious, with a partial ocean view that didn't require a parcour course to glimpse the sea. High end finishes, 2 tv's, 2 generous bathrooms. Top floor end unit was a big plus. Great kid friendly pool which meanders and includes 2 slides. Pool/beach towel service was a nice plus, saving you the bother of buying mats or sneaking out your bath towels. Full kitchen, washer/dryer, good bed & linens also made the stay very comfortable. When the clouds roll in, it's a 30 minute drive to Poipu or Princeville.
The only place in Kauai I would make an effort to book again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
10  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEEnright, General Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Aloha,
The staff and I are thrilled you enjoyed you stay with us and we hope to see you back again soon!
Happy Holidays.
Gregg Enright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This resort was quite simply the nicest place on the island and Room H303 has the best view of the ocean, overlooking the cultural grounds and the ocean. It was very quiet, except for the noisy ocean, which we all just loved. Both couples on our trip slept with the bedroom lanai open to sleep to the sound of the ocean. A couple of the days on the island, we did not leave the resort because it was beautiful. It had 3 large hot tubs and 2 of them are for adults only. This is the first time I was in a hot tub with a sandy bottom, very nice on the feet. The winding river pool is a salt water pool, which is very easy on the eyes. It does not burn your eyes like a chlorine treated pool.

Room Tip: It depends on if you come to the resort to party or to relax. The rooms on the pool side can be ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 808Rich_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEEnright, General Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Aloha,
The staff and I are thrilled you enjoyed you stay with us and we hope to see you back again soon! Happy Holidays.
Gregg Enright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Our first visit to Kauai, we spent three nights in this resort. It was beautiful, done in dark woods, an awesome kitchen, several sliders, lanai and a washer and dryer. The staff was so accommodating and I can say this is the nicest condo we have ever rented. Markets are right across the street. The have a lazy pool. View was excellent. I cannot give this enough praise. Only one open restaurant was only drawback for us.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MauiBonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEEnright, General Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Aloha,
The staff and I are thrilled you enjoyed you stay with us and we hope to see you back again soon for a longer visit!
Happy Holidays.
Gregg Enright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This resort is the perfect place to call home while staying on the island of Kauai! The rooms were beautiful, roomy & the beds are super comfy! We loved the central location between the North & the South sides of the island as we love to be out exploring each day! We started our 12 night stay on the island with 2 nights at this resort because I couldn't get the cottage that I had wanted in Poipu for the day that we were arriving. But after moving to the south of the island in Poipu for 5 days and then to the north of the island in Princeville for 5 days I had wished that we had just stayed in Kapaa for our entire stay on the island! This resort was so nice and had everything I always look for, and I had wished that I hadn't even bothered with those other places and had just called this home for our entire stay on this island! And if we ever do return with our kids this would definitely be the place I would choose! Perfect place for just the two of you or as a family!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tanyabernice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEEnright, General Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Aloha,
The staff and I are thrilled you enjoyed you stay with us and we hope to see you back again soon! We continue to hear settling down in the middle of the island opens adventuring either north or south more adventageous, Not to mention the quality of the resort and the easy access to community prices vs. those "destination" prices!
Happy Holidays.
Gregg Enright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,384 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipouli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipouli Beach Resort

Address: 4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1588
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: £183 - £420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waipouli Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Waipouli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort And Spa
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Waipouli Beach Resort Kauai, Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing