We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Condo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waipouli Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous Condo”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed for one week in Apt. D206. We were thrilled when we arrived. The condo was exactly like the photos advertised. It was clean, large and modern. While we were a little further back from the beach, we still had a great view of the ocean.
The pool and lazy river, awesome. Grills available for use. The location is great. It was easy to navigate the island from our spot. Supermarkets right across the street. TIP: Get a discount card before you start shopping - groceries are very expensive on the island.
The rooms were large and well appointed. Our kids had their own room and en suite bath. The bed linens were ultra soft and beds high quality. The kitchen was ultra modern and we cooked 5 nights out of the 7. Oasis restaurant on property was great, pricey but gorgeous- right on the water. The truth is, all restaurants are pricey- at least at this one, we could order half plates - which helps a family of 5. There was a washer and dryer in unit, which helped tremendously.
The only issue we had was with the air conditioning. You have to make sure all doors are closed tightly for it to run.
Be forwarned, the beach area is not good for swimming. Sun bathing, yes. But no worries, there are dozens of fantastic beaches close by - seriously a 5 minute drive down the road.
We would stay here again in a heartbeat. Excellent condo at reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank joanerism1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda D, Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Aloha Joan,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us on Beautiful Kauai and the Beautiful Waipouli Beach Resort! Your great comments are much appreciated and an attesment to the standard in which we strive. Come back and visit us soon!

A hui hou' ("Until Next Time")
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    838
    370
    96
    56
    29
See reviews for
709
472
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had 2 weeks in June 2014. The Outrigger resort is all condo units which sits on the ocean side. The beach is great for sunbathing but not for swimming, too much coral, lots of beaches not far from the resort. Directly across the street is a supermarket, shops, tons of places to eat, all within walking distance from the condo. The pool is not heated even though the travel books say it is. It seems propane is expensive and they only heat the pool during the winter months. The sun is strong enought to warm the pool up in the day. Only one restaurant at the resort, way expensive. The condo is well maintained. If there is a problem, maintainance comes right away. FREE WIFI. Very clean, comfortable and convenient to supermarket, beaches and shopping.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor 3 or 4, you will get a nice breeze. We had the parking lot room, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JerseyBaggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda D, Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for your Review! Your great comments about our Resort location/Outrigger Managed rooms is much appreciated! Our fabulous pool is amazing during the Summer months (80°^)and we will heat it for you in the Winter! Come back to viist us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at this resort for a week.
Pros: Really nice pool complete with waterfalls built into it, along with a cave and lagoons that you can swim in, kid slides into pool. Very clean rooms, higher end kitchen facilities, high efficiency front loading washer and dryer inside apartment. Nice propane gas barbecues on grounds. Multiple hot tubs. Centrally located and very convenient, with two supermarkets nearby that you can walk to. A real concierge that isn't selling timeshare time-wasters. Plenty of free parking. Nice gym, beautiful gardens on grounds.

Cons: All the security of an institution - You may need date of birth and other identifying data to borrow a towel for the pool. Limit of one towel per person. And they're not fancy towels, but well-worn striped hotel towels. But lose one, and you'll be billed $25 by the towel nazi.
You need 11 digit pass code to open the gate to the pool; more than most high security safes and vaults containing gold ingots. And as some posts mention, you'd better have a colored wristband to identify yourself in the pool as a visitor or renter, as opposed to an owner. (You don't want to mistake these two classes of people). I thought this strict facility use was unique to the Kauai Hyatt in Poipu, but I guess not. Kauai must have a lot of pool crashers lurking in the foliage. I myself considered hopping the pool fence when I became frustrated by making a mistake entering the 11 digit pool fence code, and had to start over again and again.
Ask for a replacement roll of toilet paper; you will be required to give your unit number and building number. Maybe I'm just spoiled by being treated more like a valued customer at Hilton Grand Vacation Club properties.
Overall, a good property that could be great if they didn't treat all their guests with suspicion just because a very few people (I didn't see any) attempted to swim in the pool. What's the big deal?
Lots of spraying of (apparently) insecticide around the grounds, which may explain the lack of insects.

Room Tip: We were in unit H-301 (Building H). Although we requested ocean front, it was more of a side view wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBPCEAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda D, Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for your time and your Review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our lovely Condos! We will definately bring to the attention your concerns about the pool towel and security to the Owners Association who manages these areas! Once again Mahalo nui loa and we hope you return to Beautiful Kauai!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukilteo, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Having stayed on the first floor of the 'A' building, we had a terrific experience. However, there is one fatal flaw and that is the smoking area. People tend to congregate there who are NOT staying there. I expect some are restaurant employees, but some appear to be folks working on the condo next door. This can be a huge drawback if you want to spend time on the lanai. Since the smoking area is adjacent to the 'A' building on the ground floor, it can leave travelers feeling a little vulnerable, from a security standpoint. While we had no problems at all, still felt this was a negative. A call to security at one point was necessary to remove an intoxicated fellow traveler. Staff responded immediately. Kudos there.

Room Tip: If you stay in 'A', stay above the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt_in_the_muk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda D, Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Aloha Matt,

Mahalo nui loa for your review and letting us know about your concerns. The Hawaii State Law prohibits smoking next to any building structure within 20 feet. We will alert security to keep an eye out near building A and around our property in compliance with Hawaii State Law. All of our guest are asked to sign our policy on smoking upon registration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband and I went here for our honeymoon and were extremely pleased with this hotel. The rooms are incredible and offer first rate amenities like the beautiful kitchen. The pool was never crowded, and we used the grill several times for dinner. We dined at the restaurant which was a little pricey for the quality, but nonetheless very tasty. On the beach, you can't really swim, it's a little dangerous in spots but there were two monk seals hanging out on the beach that we were able to watch almost all day. I liked the hotels central location on the island as we could easily travel both north and south. As well, having the grocery stores across the street were very helpful!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gran7172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda D, Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Aloha,

Congratulations on recent wedding! You could not have picked a better location than Beautiful Kauai! We appreciate hearing about you experiences while at our amazing property and agree the location is quite perfect! Please come back and celebrate your Anniversary's as well!

A hui hou' "Until Next time"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Here are my pros and cons for this facility:

Pros:
1) Condos are very nice and spacious
2) Convenient location across the street from Safeway/Longs

Cons:
1) Oceanfront room on 1st floor - no view of ocean only scrubs. If you want an ocean front room here, get a unit on 2nd floor or above
2) Swimming pool area is much smaller in person then in pictures. No lazy river exists, only a section of pool that snakes around a little
3) Swimming pool security very strict - 15 digit code to get in, red wrist bands required, security will stop you if you are just cutting through
4) Restaurant very pricey and food was mediocre at best
5) Rocky beach - can't swim here
6) Overall ambiance here is lacking. No Hawaiian feel at all.

Conclusion - Go stay in a condo at Poipu or at a nice hotel (Grand Hyatt)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda D, Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Aloha Mark,

Thank you for your review. We do offer the best full service condo's conveniently located on the
East Side close to Shops and Restaurants. Your concerns with the Restaurant and Swimming pool Security will be forwarded to there respected management company. We understand that our coastline is not for everyone and respect your opions and preferences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barboursville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed in A304 and the view was nothing short of amazing. We were right on the beach and overlooking Oasis. We never heard any noise from the restaurant or other people in the rooms. The few complaints I have are the constant hassle by security at the pool about wearing a wristband, the small balconies and the beach area. At the pool, they said that they were cracking down on people who were not staying there were using the facility.

The balconies from the living room and the one bedroom were rather small. Compared to a place we had in Maui, they were tiny. the only one that was useful was off the master bedroom which had the table.

The beach area was not very useful for swimming. There was coral and rock at the waterline.

The room was great and the owners took pride in their unit. We had a cooler, boogie boards, chairs and an umbrella. In the kitchen there were spices and plenty of cooking supplies.

The property was clean and very well kept. The location was central to everything you could want but it seemed like we were always driving to Lihue.

We always had amazing sunrises and the full moon was unbelievable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipouli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipouli Beach Resort

Property: Waipouli Beach Resort
Address: 4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1588
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waipouli Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Waipouli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort And Spa
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Waipouli Beach Resort Kauai, Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing