We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waipouli Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Itasca, Texas
1 review
“Wonderful Time”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had a wonderful time. Our condo was great, clean and beautiful. I am not easy to please either when it comes to cleanliness! We booked our condo through Hawaiian Beach Rentals and they bent over backwards to make our stay perfect.
The beds and bedding were as comfortable as home so we slept great.
The beach is not a swimming beach but is a gorgeous one to sit or walk. The crashing waves coming in were very relaxing. The pool is so wonderful that we really did not miss getting in the beach. Moreover, we were able to spend ample time at beaches all over the island.
Safeway across the street is very nice and had everything we needed including fresh bagels from their bakery every morning.
Even our two teenagers enjoyed the pool and workout room. I had read how other people had trouble with the pool towel people. We all 5 found them to be nice and helpful.
Just a side note: I would recommend that you get a jeep if you plan on exploring the island. Our rental car was too low for some of the beach parking lots.
My only complaint is that we have to go home!

Room Tip: make sure you get a view room. It doesn't have to be a ocean view as the pool view is very prett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkscott513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    364
    96
    56
    28
See reviews for
696
469
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We rented a 2 bedroom 3 bath condo through a private owner via VRBO and were in building F on the 4th floor, facing Sleeping Giant. It did not have an ocean view (well, just a sliver if you looked to the left) and yes, the parking lot and Foodland is in your field of view when looking at the mountain, but I knew this going in and didn't care as it was a really nice condo for a great price and we didn't spend a lot of time in it during the day anyway. Just keep that in mind when booking this resort, if a view is important to you. This condo was immaculately clean and everything was very upscale. The owner had it stocked with all the things to make it a comfortable home away from home and we could not have been happier. She even had boogie boards, noodles, a nice beach umbrella, chairs, and a cooler in the closet for our use, so no need to go buy things for beach play. The resort itself is very nice and very conveniently located across the street from a grocery and drug store, and there's plenty of places to eat nearby. I personally liked being so central, it makes it easy if you plan on doing a lot of sightseeing around the island, it cuts down on driving time. The pool and hot tubs are really great, and the kids loved the water slides, though I don't understand the slides closing 4 hours before the pool? Also, the fun police need to relax just a little if you ask me, (but no one did, so....) The beach is lovely and not at all busy, because it is considered not suitable for swimming due to the rockiness and the currents, being exposed to the open ocean. I did see people snorkeling here, but didn't get in the water here myself so I can't comment on that. Bear in mind, it is not lifeguarded, so if you do get in, you do so at your own risk. All in all, I loved this resort and would not hesitate to stay here again in the future, but would definitely go through a private owner as opposed to the Outrigger, that way you know exactly which unit you will get, AND it's cheaper to boot.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TxMama414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda D, Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Waipouli Beach Resort and Spa. Your comments are important to us! We are happy you enjoyed our amazing condo's, grounds and location!
I will forward your concerns about Pool security to our Owner Association who manages the public areas of our resort! Please give us a call if you wish to return @ 1-800-688-7444

Mahalo nui loa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed for a week at the sensational location, the condos are absolutely brilliant. We had two adults and two kids so the two bedrooms were perfect when staying for a while, could not fault anything about the accommodation. The central location on the island was also excellent so you can travel either North or South to see the best of Kauai. The beach is not amazing but the pool is fantastic so that gives a great alternative. Like other reviews the pool access is a bit over the top but once you get the number combination it is fine, the BBQ's in the pool area are a real bonus.

The shops across the road are also a real bonus so supplies are easy to get and reasonably cheap. We did realise quickly once we arrived that we would need to have a car on the island or you do not get to see very much so I would recommend picking up a hire car at the airport on arrival.

Overall an awesome spot on a stunning island, loved it and would go back tomorrow!

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are excellent, particularly if you have kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda D, Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for your time and review! Our staff is happy you enjoyed your stay on Beautiful Kauai and the Waipouli Beach Resort, our location, top of the line full service condos and amazing amenities makes for wonderful memories of your family vacation. Please give us a call at 1-800-688-7444 to plan your next getaway!

Mahalo nui loa & A hui hou’
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapaa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our room was double booked when we arrived so we had to sleep in a garden view room when we paid for ocean view until our room was ready the following day. When we got to our room next day, noticed that some things were missing from the second room like toothbrush holders and a dresser in the bedroom. We opened the sofa bed and sheets were dirty. Luckily we got the front desk service by 8 pm before they go home for the evening at 8pm. We are exhausted and now waiting for fresh sheets. Overall hotel staff and facilities are average at best. Hotel service is no longer 24 hour service we are told. This is no longer a beach resort we are told. This is a vacation rental. No help with luggage, etc. paid way too much basically.

Room Tip: Double check and triple check your room reservation before you pay and before you arrive. Know tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Austinvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda D, Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for your time and your review. I want to once again apologize for the reservation error and the inconvience to you and your family. I will forward your imortant feedback to our houskeeping staff, thank you, as our goal is to have our rooms in ready condition for our guest at check-in!

Mahalo nui loa & A hui hou'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

After along time of trip planning, I found this hotel and we stayed here while on our trip.

Location Location Location. I know traffic can get a bit annoying in Kapaa but bring that is in the middle of the east shore, you can get to any part of the island within a short driving timeframe.

Room was excellent. Basically, for the same price as a regular room here, we got a two bedroom condo just because it was the same price with exception to a cleaning fee difference. Fully furnished with a view of the interior volcano's.

Resort grounds. Excellent again. Clearly the pool is the main attraction, and the grounds are well maintained. Even the grounds keepers were exceptionally friendly. Lastly, the lady at concierge was very helpful and arranged several tours for us which actually turned out better then the ones I was originally planning.

In conclusion, you will not find a better place unless your hell bent to spend ungodly amounts of money for an equal hotel in a bad location.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank bmoore4w21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda D, Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Aloha,

The staff & I are thrilled you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to having you back with us soon!

Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed in building G-404. We had a ocean view and loved having breakfast on the lanai every morning. It was difficult to get all the numbers to get the pool gate open, but it wasn't bad after a bit, and it felt safer. They had security walking around, and they seemed very friendly. We enjoyed having down time at the pool on days we didn't go to the beach. The beach walk just north of the hotel was nice to get a long walk/run in every morning. Having Safeway across the street was perfect. The only complaint about the room was that the pull out sofa mattress needs to be replaced! We ended up buying a foam mattress cover for it. (We left it there, so hopefully help the next folks.). The room doesn't have a cooler (we left our foam one we bought) but was told the room had a cooler and beach toys. It had neither. But other than that, we love this spot and would come back anytime.

Room Tip: Ocean side, building G is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladytrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda D, Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Aloha,

The staff & I are thrilled you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to having you back with us soon!

Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Beautiful accommodations at a nice resort. We had a two bedroom unit (partial mountain view) and loved it. The unit was well appointed and comfortable.
The pool area was nice and never super crowded. I wish there had been a few more chairs around the pool though.
Concierge desk was helpful and friendly.
Nice restaurant on property, but limited menu and pricey. No pool bar/snack bar :(
The gym was small but adequate.
Very close to grocery store (across the street), shopping plaza (Coconut marketplace) and many local eateries.
We had a very nice stay and would not hesitate to return.

One caution: don't try to check out before 8AM - no one was at the desk and there was no indication of front desk hours?!?!?!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Figee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda D, Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Aloha ,

Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay on beautiful Kauai and the Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort. Sorry, you had difficulty checking out. Our reception desk is open from 7am to 9pm daily. We will discuss proper signage for desk hours. Please give us a call at 1-800-688-7444 when you are ready to return!

Mahalo nui loa & A hui hou'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipouli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipouli Beach Resort

Property: Waipouli Beach Resort
Address: 4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1588
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waipouli Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waipouli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort And Spa
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Waipouli Beach Resort Kauai, Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing