We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay while on Kauai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waipouli Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
East Horsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great place to stay while on Kauai”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed in this place for a week while we explored the island of Kauai.

The unit was stayed in was very spacious, easily accommodating our family of five. There is a modern kitchen so preparing your own meal is easy (especially with two supermarkets over the road).

The property is about fifteen minutes from the airport, so very handy from that point of view. In fact Kapaa seems to be well located for all activities on the island. We travelled far and wide and the longest journey we had was half an hour.

The swimming pool is something quite special and you have to see it to believe it. Towels are available at the pool and can be exchanged as and when required.

I wasn't too impressed with the on property restaurant, which we tried just once. After looking through the menu we were turned away as the kitchen closed at 9 and we arrived ten minutes after (although to be fair this seems typical of Hawaii)

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda D, Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for your time and review! Our staff is happy you enjoyed your stay on Beautiful Kauai and the Waipouli Beach Resort, our location, top of the line full service condos and amazing amenities makes for wonderful memories of your family vacation. Please come back and viist us soon!

Mahalo nui loa & A hui hou’
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    368
    96
    56
    29
See reviews for
703
472
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at waipouli beach resort for 1 week with our son who is 14 months. Everything was top notch! Unit was perfect (D202) - great view of the pool and ocean. Location was so convenient for visiting the north and south ends of the island. The beach just by the resort is a bit rocky, but lots of gorgeous beaches nearby and a section of the beach here that's got stone breakers so little ones can play. The kiddie pool/"beach" was well loved as were the waterslides. We really liked the "family spa" - a hot tub not too hot for little ones. Gym was well equipped, but not too many people in it, so we never had trouble getting the machines we wanted. Kari, the concierge, was available by email from the time we booked and helped us with much of our pre-trip planning. We would definitely recommend the Waipouli Beach Resort!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADPhello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda D, Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for your time and review! Our staff is happy you enjoyed your stay on Beautiful Kauai and the Waipouli Beach Resort, our location, top of the line full service condos and amazing amenities makes for wonderful memories of your family vacation. Please give us a call at 1-800-688-7444 to plan your next getaway!

Mahalo nui loa & A hui hou’
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at 2 bedroom condo with our twin 6 year olds and adult son. Everybody had a great time. Our boys especially loved the pool & kids only hot tub. The property is gorgeous. My husband and I enjoyed several trips to Oasis restaurant for happy hour - great food, drinks and service! All the appliances were top of the line. The location was great and Safeway was across the street.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda D, Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for your time and review! Our staff is happy you enjoyed your stay on Beautiful Kauai and the Waipouli Beach Resort, our location, top of the line full service condos and amazing amenities makes for wonderful memories of your family vacation. Please give us a call at 1-800-688-7444 to plan your next getaway!

Mahalo nui loa & A hui hou’
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I have been going there every six months for the last couple if years and I love everything about that place.

I'm going again in September and can't wait. I will be brining my best friend so she has the treat of a life time.








  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda D, Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Aloha,

The staff & I are thrilled you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to having you back with us soon!

Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our family of 6 vacationed here for a week and the condo was perfect! Location was great as it was central to attractions on the north and south side of the island. Great dining and grocery shopping nearby. Waipouli resort offered great views of the beach, a pool that appealed to all ages, nearby running trail along the coast, and a spacious unit for our family. Modern amenities in the kitchen, electronics and bathrooms. Nearby attractions include Smith Family Luau, Lydgate Park with great beach, Wailua Falls, SUP and kayak excursions, plenty of beaches and great views. Watched the sunrise on the beach every morning! Owner was EXTREMELY helpful in providing tips and resources ahead of time so that we were well prepared to explore the beautiful island of Kuaui!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda D, Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Aloha,

The staff & I are thrilled you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to having you back with us soon!

Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

positives: nice tidy hotel in a good location. good shops and restaurants within walking distance and the restaurant and bar on the beach is great.
negatives: the pool security is ridiculous. once you navigate the security gates with 10 digit codes you're then required to wear a fleuro wristband all day. then you have the pleasure of watching the uniformed security guard telling a father and his daughter to stop throwing a ball back and forth because balls are banned. seriously guys, get over it - it's not fort knox, it's a swimming pool. if you want to put staff at the pool why don't you make it a lifeguard instead.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noddy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belinda D, Manager at Waipouli Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Waipouli Beach Resort and Spa. Your comments are important to us! We are happy you enjoyed our amazing condo's, grounds and location!
I will forward your concerns about Pool security to our Owner Association who manages the public areas of our resort! Please give us a call if you wish to return @ 1-800-688-7444

Mahalo nui loa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed in a Penthouse, top floor. Overall, the room was excellent, we were very happy with the resort, and would definitely come back.
Pros: Very comfy beds, clean spacious bathrooms, A/C worked great, washer & dryer very nice to have in the room, kitchen was awesome, room was basically quiet - no one above you, view is amazing of pool and ocean beyond that, grounds and pool are totally wonderful, computer area quiet and nice, parking is easy, location is perfect (east side - easy to get to all areas of Kauai), Oasis restaurant was amazing and yummy. The closet full of beach goodies, chairs, noodles, toys, boogie boards were a bit broken though.
Cons: Drapery was falling apart (broken panels) and we couldn't make the rooms very dark, but we didn't really mind too much. The elevator is right next to D408 and it's somewhat noisy in the mornings. We sort of got used to it after a while, but because of that I might try and stay in another unit next time. Kauai Exclusive Management - everyone was VERY nice and super helpful in ALL areas! Wish I could come back soon!

Room Tip: Top floor is quiet, but this room was near an elevator, sort of noisy in the early mornings, if that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilene4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipouli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipouli Beach Resort

Property: Waipouli Beach Resort
Address: 4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1588
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waipouli Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waipouli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort And Spa
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Waipouli Beach Resort Kauai, Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing