We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay on the beach and only two blocks from down town Kapaa”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kapaa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moana Kai Beach Houses
Ranked #12 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Reviewed 29 May 2008

Unit B was the best choice we made our whole vacation. It was everthing that was advertised and the owner never hesitated to give us any and all info we asked for. We went to all the sites during the day as the home is centrally located on the island and the locals are friendly and polite both to deal with and in the traffic. Not your Honolulu but instead a pleasant unhectic vacation. The pool was delightful in the evening on the lania and the home has all the cooking, BBQ and amenities. There are lots of local restaurants and clubs as well as grocery stores if you like it your way. We ate at two of the local lua's but our favorite meal was just up the street at the Kountry Kitchen where the pancakes had a unique taste with cane sugar syrup and different flavors. So many uncrowded beaches that you can go from one to another all day.. Go see it and what a perfect place to call home each night. Moana Kai in the middle unit. (B) My whole family had a blast.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dacotahkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for Moana Kai Beach Houses
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2008

We enjoyed our stay at the Moana Kai Beach House (unit A), but why hasn't anyone mentioned the roosters? They are everywhere on Kauai, but seemed to camp outside our windows at night... crowing LOUDLY from 3 to 8 a.m.! And since the house has no air conditioning, you almost have to keep the windows open at night. It was nearly impossible to sleep, until we discovered the ear plugs in the kitchen drawer. There was also a lot of noise (day and night) from the boat ramp, which is about 50 yards away from the house. But nothing could compare to those roosters :(

On a positive note, the house was a great home base for two families with toddlers. There was plenty of room for us to spread out, and the close proximity to the "baby beach" was convenient. It was nice to have a pool on-site, but we had to be very careful not to get water on the lanai... it made the tiles very slippery!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mmwCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2008

The home is very nice! The owner spared no expense in the recent remodeling of the home. There is no air conditioning. The master bedroom has limited air flow, so it can get warm during the summer months. The accommodations are great. However, the immediate neighborhood is less than desireable. The view of the beach is breathtaking, but unfortunately the view is deminished by the existence of an old ruinned down house. The pool was very nice. The photogrphs on the website do not give it justice. The pool and the adjacent waterfall are constructed with native rock. It is a beautiful structure and it is an asset to the property. The landscaping is also well done! Overall, our experience was positive, but the lack of air conditioning was a concern.

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank ChristianTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2008

My parents, my husband & I, and our 3 year old daughter enjoyed our (too short!) stay in this property. The layout was perfect for each of our families to have some privacy, each morning we met on the lanai with our coffee & hot cocoa and one morning we even wandered down to the beach in our jammies for the sunrise. We got in late at night, had NO problem finding the place, couldn't stop exclaiming about the quality and condition of the unit and in the morning when we could see the exterior of the property and the beach, the breathless exclamations started all over again. I've been to Hawaii many, many times and have never enjoyed a property as much as we enjoyed this one! It felt like we were staying in someone's beloved home, not a commercial-rental. The pictures are good, but they don't do this place justice! Oh yeah, we'll be back! Thanks so much for sharing this incredible property with us paradise-seekers!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank suneagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2008

We LOVED the condo! It was exactly like the pictures on the web site! The decor was lovely. It was wonderful to have 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms and not have to share anything or wait until someone was done in the bathroom! Everything you would need was provided for you... a washer and dryer, scissors, binoculars, a rice steamer!!! The view from the family room and porch was fantastic for beautiful sunrises. We enjoyed watching the people who came to watch the kite surfers. The kite surfers were awesome! The wind was swift so there was always someone surfing their kite! We rented bikes and rode the 16 mile bike path that practically starts at the back door. It was a perfect place to just stroll also. At the end of a week away from home I'm always ready to return but NOT this time!!! I think the town of Kappa'a was the ideal location. It wasn't as "fancy" as Princeville. It wasn't as isolated as Bali Hai. It was just right for a nice place to eat, to grocery shop or to browse. Lots of things to do but mostly just to enjoy the island, the people, the beauty!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pace8891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2007

Just spent another week on Kauai. Kapa'a is a cute little town and Moana Kai Beach House Unit B is THE place to stay. Very comfortable (for those winter rainy days); the unit has everything ready for a memorable stay. The 3 bedrooms are very comfortable and the master bedroom has this little "touch" for the honeymooners... Up to you to find out!! The Lanai/garden is very nice and the view is quite spectacular; especially with the kite-surfers just in front of the house!! Little details are what make this place unique: Ipod docking station/radios in most of the rooms, flat screen TVs in each room, fully equipped kitchen, bathrooms and they even have a discount card for grocery shopping!!

You will also love the art displayed in the condo! I found out, from the local gallery and the condo owner that the artist lives on the island!!!

Plus, the owner has a very comprehensive file in the unit to explain everything the condo, the town and Kauai have to offer. You can tell that the owner's only concern is your comfort and well-being while staying at his unit.

This is definitely your new home away from home!

Enjoy.

N. Hattori-Paris
Tokyo, Japan

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank greyzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2007

Just spent a week in Moana Kai Beach House Unit B- what a real gem! The owners are very friendly and accomodating and the place is just immaculate! Great ocean view and just steps to a calm swimmable beach, private plunge pool and jacuzzi. Every beach accessary and toys are available for your use. The bedrooms are spacious, well furnished with very comyf beds, and cooled by ceiling fans and light ocean breezes. no need for a/c, the place is very airy and well ventilated. The decor is modern, artistic and very reflective of island life, yet the condo is equipped with every modern convenience and household appliance. Another plus is its central location on the island, walking distance to quaint downtown Kapaa's shops and restaurants, and only less than 30 min drive to either the north shore or Poipu. The owenrs provide alot of local information and resources for you, the TVs and sound system are state of the art, plus free wireless internet. This unit is an outstanding value for the money and we plan to return again next year!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FrankSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#3 of 11 in Kapaa
353 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
1.4 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waipouli Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Kai Beach Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Kai Beach Houses

Address: 4439 Kaloloku Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-2709
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range: £218 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moana Kai Beach Houses 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Front Luxury Homes at the Moana Kai Beach Houses in Kapaa. Steps from the beach, a short walk to the Kapaa Town Center, and dozens of restaurants. Amenities include a shared rock deep pool with cascading waterfalls along with expansive ocean views and beautiful over water sunrises. Luxurious 3 bedroom homes available directly from the owners. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moana Kai Beach Houses Kauai, Hawaii - Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing