We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Muddy Fun”
Review of Kayak Kaua'i

Kayak Kaua'i
Book In Advance
More Info
US$88.59*
and up
Wailua River Kayak and Hike Adventure
More Info
US$98.99*
and up
Hanalei Bay Kayak and Snorkel Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rentals and Tours: Kayaking, hiking/trekking, surfing/stand up board lessons, snorkeling,bikes, and camping equipment support. Vacation Rentals.
Kilauea, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Muddy Fun”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Had a great time with our guide Jaime on the Wailua River Sacred Falls Tour (kayak two miles, hike a mile, lunch, then return - about 5 hours, leave either at 745am or 1215pm). He was very informative, gracious and managed a diverse group of people. The kayaking is relatively straightforward on a broad river, requiring some more deft manuevers among trees as you approach the end. Beach your kayak and prepare for the muddiest hike you can image (this was in February, the rainy season). Guide said it's the worst he's seen in 3 years, and another guide said it was the worst in 13 years.

Best to take a zen-like approach and "Become one with the mud." I wore keens and they were great; only had to get a rock out once or twice. Good support is helpful since there are a lot of roots, but my wife loved wearing her vibrams/five-finger shoes. I would want more toe protection in case my foot slipped into a rock.

120' falls are amazing. There were offerings at the base of the falls and some other guides had arranged the rocks into sacred pools. They provide lunch - simple deli sandwiches you pre-order along with chips, fruit and your choice of drink. They provide drinks before you leave, and give you everything you need - lifejacket (wearing is optional), paddle, kayak, instruction, back support, dry bag with straps to easily take on hike and put all your stuff in like a swimsuit/towel, sun protection, insect repellant - all recommended, esp. if you plan to take a dip in the falls. It's not encouraged to swim due to falling rocks, but I saw some people do it.

These guys pioneered this trip and continue to do a remarkable job - highly recommended for couples and families. The trail will dry out by May I imagine but unless they get some serious trail maintenance done, I imagine you will need to watch your footing!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bevo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Micco_Godinez, Owner at Kayak Kaua'i, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Aloha Bevo82,

Thanks for taking the time in sharing your insights...so others will know what to expect.

Jaime puts his heart and soul into guiding. A labor of love. Good to hear he is steering true.

If you look other TA reviews..."mud" has been the operative word during this season.

Believe it or not, we can have the opposite were the waterfall can be a trickle and of course, when that happens....less mud is enjoyed by all.

Thanks again for sharing and keep paddling and hiking.

A hui hou,
Micco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    61
    21
    22
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wailua River tour”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Recently signed up for the 5 hour tour of the Wailua River tour in Kauai. The tour was scheduled to start at 12:15 PM. Since the morning tour was running late, our tour did not start on time and we ended up leaving at 2:00 PM - an hour an a half late. When questioning the company about the lack of time, that we paid for and expected, we were given the following response "your tour time still fell within our definition of 5hrs give or take. We do understand the wait, but its
just like sitting in traffic, a flight being delayed, or the lady in front of you in the grocery check out. The list goes on and on."

Don't expect what you pay for!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank mike p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiccoJones, Owner at Kayak Kaua'i, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Aloha Mike,

Thanks for taking the time to help us improve.

We try to run like the trains of Europe. Sometimes
weather and group dynamics will make a tour come back later
than we all want.

Man proposes..God disposes.

Our tours can only progress as fast as the slowest member.

We again apologize that you were impacted by the slow progress of the tour that
proceeded you.

I did hear that our guide took a curve and made it a plus
and that the majority of your crew enjoyed the tour in-spite of the wait.

Hope you enjoyed the complimentary T-shirts. Again thanks for sharing and helping
us improve the product.

A hui hou,
Micco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A muddy great time”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent an enjoyable five hours with Kayak Kauai on their Wailua kayaking and hiking trip. There were supposed to be eight people in our group, but at the last minute, the other six, who had booked in advance, cancelled. A bonus for us, as we had our guide Lucas all to ourselves, but kind of a drag for KK as they prepared lunches for these no-shows and could not fill their spots. (A bit of advice for short-sighted tourists: if you make reservations, keep them. These are hard-working businesses that depend on your tourist dollars for their livelihood. Despite what you make think, the universe does not revolve around you. The missing six will probably be incensed when they find their credit cards were charged for canceling with less than 24 notice, but maybe it'll be a wake-up call. End of sermon.)

To continue: After a leisurely one-hour paddle upstream along the gorgeous Wailua, we debarked and hoofed it through the rainforest, fording streams, clambering over rocks and tree roots, and failing to fully escape the prodigious stretches of mud that made up the trail to our destination of Sacred (sometimes known as Secret) Falls, a cataract of some 200 feet which falls into a shoulder-deep round pool. The water is quite cool, breath-taking at first, but worth the plunge to be able to stand under the pelting cascade and mug for the camera. (The swim also helps remove the mud from your footwear. Warning: wear sturdy sneakers or hiking shoes, preferably a pair you won't be worried about possibly ruining or being mud-stained for life.)

The ever-friendly Lucas, who did the whole trek barefoot, kept us informed and entertained, and while we were taking advantage of the swimming hole, laid out a terrific lunch of sandwiches, cookies and fresh fruit, complete with table cloth and flowers on a nearby rock. Then it was back through the mud (by a different route) and into our kayaks for the return trip down river (against the wind), where we were overtaken by rowing teams in outrigger canoes (Kauai's version of crew, as the aft rower in each boat was shouting cadence).

Overall, a great way to spend an afternoon and burn off some of those Kauaian calories. Remember to tip your guide!

Helpful?
2 Thank Nat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great day with Sage the river, falls and mud!”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We were three adults and 2 kids age 11 and 14, all somewhat outdoorsy. This was a great way to spend our limited time in Kauai. The kayak down the river was a challenge because of wind, but we made it and the hike although muddy and slippery, (beware of wet Kauai!) we had a great time. Sage, our guide, was a local boy who knew a lot about the local plants and terrain, pulling off fruit for us to try, making hand made rope as he hiked (barefoot!). It was felt very real and unforced, unlike the red kayak guided groups we saw whose guides seemed to be trying a little too hard. The falls was worth the hike and we felt like we got a glimpse of a real Kauai.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank travellittleworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible......use another Kayak rental agency”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Recently called Kayak Kauai at 3-5971 Kuhio Highway, Kappa, several days ahead for a Kayak tour along the Wailua river. I couldn't commit to a reservation as my wife and I were sailing to Nawiliwili on a cruise ship but was told by a Kayak Kauai employee "no problem....we are flexible and will make things happen for you". Following a $30 cab fare from Nawiliwili Harbor to Kappa at 9am, we arrived and were told "sorry, no guides for the day". After several uncomfortable moments, the gal at the front desk started making phone calls and said maybe she could round up a guide but the quoted price would not include a lunch because it was too late to pick something up". Huh?

Ultimately, the place seemed unprofessionally run and the gal at the front desk felt to not know what she was doing. We made a few phone calls and made our was across the marina to Ali'i Kayak at 174 Wailua Road, Kapaa (877) 246-2544. I put their information in because they were friendly, professional and made us tourists feel welcome AND we enjoyed the Kayaking experience along the Wailua River and the hike to the Wailua Falls. Shame on Kayak Kaui for behaving unprofessionally and tailing to take better care of visitors.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank j f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kayak Kaua'i also viewed

 

Been to Kayak Kaua'i? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing